We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food, worth a return.”

Curry N Grill House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Pub, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Indian restaurant and Indian takeaway in West Bromwich, Walsall Road - Curry N Grill House Group welcome families, friends, large or small groups.
Smethwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, worth a return.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I visited this restaurant end of February after hearing good reviews by a couple of colleagues at work. The format and decor was nice as well as the atmosphere. We were seated on the booth immediately which was nice considering how busy it was. I ordered chicken curry with naan and my husband had a chicken tikka wrap with chips. The food came out within 20 minutes and the portion size was decent. My husband liked the wrap as they used naan bread which worked out pretty filling. The service was okay considering there was a large party on the far end, however we were greeted out nicely and asked if we enjoyed our meals. Definitely returning with the children!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomTom262, Public Relations Manager at Curry N Grill House, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Hi there, it's great to know you visited us upon being recommended by your colleagues, and we're delighted to know that you enjoyed your overall experience at Curry N Grill House. We hope service has been better than okay on subsequent visits when it has not been so busy and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I can't believe how me & my family was treated tonight.. We walked in around 17:15 we didn't worry about making a booking/reserving a table as it's made very clear when u enter the restaurant that no booking is required. Restaurant was EMPTY!!! Reserved signs on half the tables!!!
We had 2 young children found a table,, our coats wasn't even off when this unpleasant female member of staff rudely told us that we must be gone by 7pm!!! As they had a big booking!!!
We did not stay for food as I did not want this so called "restaurant" to have our money..
Rude staff!! No customer service skills!! Will not be taking my family their again

Helpful?
4 Thank JAoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service skills”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Having been here on a few occasions and enjoying the food, I can't put the service in the same bracket!! The waitress has made us move tables every time we've visited this place, even when were the only people in the restaurant because of (reserved) tables!!! On the latest visit, our family with small children and a baby was shimmied around like a heard of cattle from cattle pen to pen, So we left and spent over money else where and will never eat there again!!! Prioritise your customers who are actually there and not your reserved table of 4!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Another one of many emerging curry pubs in West Brom, Curry and Grill house is what used to be the Stone Cross.

Food is excellent, and easily on par if not better than that of the Red Lion which is it's main competitor. Service is good, and the guy who takes your order is always willing to make things on special request if you want it (my missis has a chip wrap on it's own with no sauce)

The actual eating area is well furnished separate from the main pub area which is also a bonus if you're not interested in sitting amongst the drinkers.

Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank michaeljcox24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomTom262, Public Relations Manager at Curry N Grill House, responded to this review, 21 April 2015
Thanks for this great review and for recommending us. We're glad you like our restaurant arrangement and to know that we are keeping the missus happy by fulfilling her special food requests, too. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful service, food was not worth the wait”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A friend recommended the restaurant so it was mine and my husbands first visit. We were seated next to the bar, which was the first downfall. We waited over an hour for our three starters. We then waited another hour for our mains, half eaten we left before the waiters could pick up what we left. A family decided to express their disgust to the head waiter, on the service they received, having been there for two and a half hours they left the restaurant clearly stating they would never recommend the place. The head waiter then decides to walk around the tables telling them all about the family that complained.
Awful service, awful atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Superscrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curry N Grill House also viewed

West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 
West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 

Been to Curry N Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing