We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fire alarm drama and noisy neighbours spoilt the stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Bromwich
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Fire alarm drama and noisy neighbours spoilt the stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The 3 star rating is perhaps a tad unfair as up until 10.20pm on Saturday 7th December my Wife and I had been enjoying a lovely stay at the Premier Inn West Bromwich. We were checked in early by Dwayne (lovely guy) who was very welcoming and helped us with directions to the Black Lake tram stop as my Wife was going to see Norwich play WBA and I was heading into Birmingham. Our room 48 is typical Premier Inn, a little rough around the edges maybe but nothing really to complain about. The shower was slightly under powered but still reasonable and the bed was comfortable as ever. The location with plenty of free parking is less than 5 minutes walk to the tram via roads or even quicker along by the river although not recommended in the dark as there is no lighting. Very safe. From here it is 6 minutes to West Bromwich centre and 20 odd to Snow Hill in Birmingham, the trams are excellent, very comfortable and efficient.

On our return after a quick evening visit to the Frankfurt Market in Birmingham we settled down to sleep at 9.30pm after a very long day of travel and rushing around only to be rudely awoken at 10.20pm by the fire alarm, the smell of something dodgy lingering around the ground floor gave a good indication of what the cause was. Dwayne dealt with the situation very well but at that point I think the Good Night guarantee offered by Premier Inn was under threat from a lot of guests and we did request and were given a refund for our stay the next day. What was probably even more disappointing and somewhat out of control of the hotel was the total disregard for fellow guests from some of the people staying there. From 1am until 3am a constant stream of noise was heard as party goers returned from wherever they had been, running up the corridor and generally speaking as loudly as possible. I appreciate it is the party season and everybody is out for a good time but after midnight you have to show some respect and clearly these people were intent on disturbing as many people as possible. If the fire alarm hadn't gone off I would have asked for a refund based on the actions in the early hours.

Credit to the Sunday morning receptionist there was no quibble and the refund was processed within half an hour of checking out. We had paid £62 a week earlier which was probably a tad overpriced but location is good because of the tram system.
We skipped breakfast at the adjoining Table Table and headed to a Toby Carvery in Walsall about 20mins away where we had an awesome buffet for just £3.99 each.

Sadly, the fire alarm and noise from other guests spoilt this visit to the Premier Inn in West Bromwich but I would have no hesitation staying there again in the future thanks to the awesome staff and transport links.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    108
    40
    10
    12
See reviews for
107
78
10
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night to go and see a band at a nearby venue. The check in was efficient and the receptionist was efficient and chatty. The room was clean and had everything we required. When checking out the receptionist enquired as to how our evening had gone.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_AJ963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel as it was convenient for a business meeting the next day.
As with most premier inns you know what you are getting. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming

There was a restaurant next door which was fine and had good friendly staff. Only minor complaint was the did not know the difference between tomato soup and served carrot soup which they initially insisted was tomato

Would stay again if in the same area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel was convenient to reach areas I wanted to go. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. Very good standards and comfortable. There was no noise during my stay. My six year old enjoyed her own bed and location ground floor was good.





















  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yet another positive Premier Inn stay.
Great value with superb service.
You know what you are getting with Premier Inn. Staff were very helpful, as always. You seem to get 5* service from the staff
We requested a fan (yes it was cold but still ... it was brought to the room within 10 mintes

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

stayed at this hotel with a group of special needs adults for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and lovely and warm and the beds were very comfy, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, also in the table table restaurant staff and food was good. They made our stay great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel to watch the athletics in Birmingham for my Birthday,
the location is excellent with good parking facilities, CCTV to ensure extra protection. Room was tidy and clean, the maids were lovely and always trying to help.
The members of staff were kind and polite. The only issue I have is that the rooms require Air Con as it was 20+ degrees Centigrade while we were there. We had to have the window open that allowed in alot of noise from the dual carriage way and helicopters. Which I know isn't the hotel's fault, however this was a minor problem.
The restaurant opposite, isn't great. The service was pretty poor and the food okay-ish quality. We ended up shopping in Sainsbury's and taking it to the hotel! Other than that, ideal location, clean comfortable rooms, great price Room per night and brilliant staff :)

Room Tip: Face away from the road as you can hear the road opposite with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bromwich
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn West Bromwich Central Hotel
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
2.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham Walsall
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel

Property: Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel
Address: New Gas Street, West Bromwich B70 0NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > West Bromwich
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in West Bromwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture into the heart of the Black Country, just a Metro ride from Birmingham or Wolverhampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing