We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Edmunds Sunday Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madlows Restaurant - CLOSED

Madlows Restaurant
Price range: US$3 - US$28
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Edmunds Sunday Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Family treat for 4. Unusual starter of baked figs were yummy! 3 roast meals - traditional and flavoursome. Salmon not on special's board but good value, cooked to perfection and very tasty. Good selection of desserts including bread and butter pudding, real comfort food, with home made ice cream. Very busy for a small restaurant, waitress's and chef very attentive to customer's needs. Beautiful flowers welcome you through the front door of Madlows. Look forward to another visit during the week, I hear the chef makes a wicked coffee cake!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just got back from Madlows and yet again had an amazing meal. Freshly cooked home made food, excellent service and value for money. Been here with hubby, friends and family, including children on occasions and they never disappoint. Already booked up for my birthday night out - the best restaurant locally!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Partyoffourplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely family-run restaurant with fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Had lunch at Madlows on Sunday last - my mother-in-law lives in Bognor and we were visiting from Hertfordshire. She had heard good reviews about Madlows so we were looking forward to trying it out. I have to say we were extremely happy with the experience. My partner had the scallops as starter and he thought they were beautifully cooked (and he is fussy!). The roast dinners were very tasty and well-presented. Staff were very attentive and helpful so we definitely plan to return next time we're in the area. My mother-in-law is planning to visit again shortly as she lives directly across the road! They even have a "locals" night which looks great value, I would definitely recommend this restaurant as being a cut above the usual seaside fare you find. I really hope that visitors to Bognor make an effort to find it as it is only a 5 minute walk from the Esplanade and well worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carlow2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WEEKEND AWAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

On a weekend break, phoned Friday evening for booking and mentioned in passing that we liked seafood and was there any fresh crab on the menu, the lady who took our call asked the chef who siad he would get us some fresh crab for Saturday evening, dont know many restaurants that would ldo that, we both chose scallops for starter some of the best we have ever tasted, the fesh Crab was a delight to eat service was brilliant, food was so good we eat Sunday lunch before we come home again another brilliant meal, i had Chicken and my husband had Lamb both home cooked services with fresh vegtables if you are in Borgnor Regis this is the restaurant to try, Excellent would visit Bognor just for the restaurant can't praise that restaurant enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Love coming here for the Sunday roast as its a chicken breast not a half or whole chicken that you have to pick through at other restaurants. I have also eaten here during the week and evenings as always nice to try something different and cooked to order, food is always spot on and staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madlows Restaurant also viewed

Felpham, Bognor Regis
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 
Felpham, Bognor Regis
 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing