We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great entertainment!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great entertainment!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Great entertainment for children and loads to do. Apartment run down and for price would expect better.
Need to update rooms in order to justify price especially bath room.
Half board food really good value and quality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    1,030
    519
    280
    274
See reviews for
2,177
193
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (789)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We come to Butlins every year have stated in both the holidays and basic rooms. This year we went back to a standard room and I have to say you really can't beat it for value for money, the hotels
Are lovely but probably aren't really worth all the extra as you don't spend much time in your room! There is so much to do it's hard to fit in over a long weekend. Pre warning though there seems to be more and more other activities that they charge more for so you can end up spending a lot if your not careful, but there are so many free activities included. It can get busy though and queuing time for the swimming pool can be a joke as can be the dining areas,
I would recommend getting to places early. Cleanliness can be hit and miss really seems to vary in my experience. All in all you really can't beat Butlins for the kids. Would it w my first choice? Probably not but my daughter loves and it's a nice easy holiday for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adventureeagle86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have just returned from a 7 night break at Butlins, Bognor. Stayed in Room 521 at the Wave Hotel. The Hotel was just as impressive as the brochure and our Dolphin Room had a fabulous seaview. Its just a shame that Butlins don't ensure that their flagship Hotel is maintained to the highest standard. Our air conditioning didn't work at all during our stay and as the weather was so hot,(remarkable for the UK!) we found the room extremely uncomfortable. Despite daily trips to the reception desk to ask about when it would be fixed, we were only offered desk top fans. We could have had as many of those as we wanted but they were so noisy that I struggled to sleep well and they didn't reach through to the bunk room (no socket in there). For the last two nights my 17 year old dragged his mattress through to the main bedroom and slept next to the open balcony door! My son actually dislocated his shoulder during a VIP Club activity at the beginning of his stay so it goes without saying that he wasn't happy at sleeping on the floor. If you get offered this room or another where the air conditioning doesn't work, demand a room change straight away. I believe there is a major problem with the air conditioning on the 5th floor. The corridors and reception area were a beautiful temperature. Our bedllnen also had a coffee stain on it throughout our stay.
This said, we had a brilliant week. The weather was gorgeous, the entertainment very good and surprising (Madame Pavlova show at fairground was very funny - well done Ashley and Madame Pavlova and the guest named Paul on Saturday 3rd August - your quick witt is still bringing a smile to our faces!), the staff are very hardworking, welcoming, experienced and entertaining, the clubs and activities plentiful with optional extras available if you can squeeze them in, the queues weren't too bad for the evening shows and we always had good seats (tables were harder to find but we didn't have lots of drinks to fill one so chose the rows of seats instead), premium dining at the Deck was welcoming and food varied and plentiful.
Overall we couldn't fault anything except our air conditioning. I guess this is a small compromise for some fabulous weather. We even managed to sit out on the deckchairs available for a couple of afternoons while the kids were being entertained. Absolute bliss!! Would definitely recommend Butlins to friends and will be back soon.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the expensive B-Line passes. We queued for a short while with the majority of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Butlins Customer Care Advisor at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Wave Hotel, Bognor Regis.

I was really pleased to hear your break surpassed your family’s expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of your break. Thank you for your feedback for our team, I've shown them all your comments as I'm sure they’ll love to read them.

We experienced a technical issue with our air conditioning during your break, so I'm really sorry this affected your stay. The issue has since been fixed, so I'm really sorry it took so long for the problem to be resolved on your holiday. I have passed your comments and feedback onto our team in Bognor Regis to look at ways problems like this can be better managed in future.

Glad you had a fantastic time and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,

Serene
Butlins Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Wave Hotel 5th - 9th August. The accommodation was lovely! It was clean, modern and suitable for myself and my family. Although many things like the swimming pool, funfair etc is included in the price, the circus, Discovery Studio, go-karts and other things you have to pay extra for which is quite disappointing.
All the staff on resort are friendly and very welcoming. The entertainment seemed to have something for everyone which we all thoroughly enjoyed. We all have fun at Splash Waterworld; we love it every time we visit! The resort was generally very clean. Overall we all enjoyed our break here and we will be coming back here next year :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having never stayed at Butlins before, we didn't really know what to expect. But as we are getting to the stage where any holiday which keeps the kids happy and us less stressed is worth a visit, so we were game for anything.

Accommodation

We opted to stay at the contemporary looking Wave Hotel in an 'Octopus' room which had a double bed and separate bunk bed room for the kids. It wasn't exactly cheap, but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise and as funky as the brochure had shown. Cleanliness was good and everything seemed to be quite new, so no complaints. The aircon was good, and had a good sized empty fridge with tea making facility above - and all built into one of the wardrobes.

On the ground floor there was a large 'Games Zone' for kids of all ages to play on everything from a DS to big screen Wii games, there was also a couple of Apple computers hooked up to the free internet for the adults to use when your little uns are otherwise occupied. There is generally a staff member around to deal with any technical issues or troublesome teens, but overall quite a nice facility.


Food

We opted for the all inclusive dinner plan which oddly was served in a building outside the hotel, which although fine for us in the summer might be an issue when the weather isn't so good. As we were there during the school holidays it was quite busy and offers a buffet style set up for breakfast and dinner (no lunch included in the plan). The food itself was ok, offering the usual fare that you would expect from an all inclusive plan, i.e. plenty of carbs and comfort food, and plenty for the kids to eat. So although there is plenty of temptation for eating unhealthily, you can actually get better if you are prepared to wait at the deli/a la carte counter where they prepare grilled chicken or a fresh burger for you on the spot (or omelletes in the morning). Again, because the kids were happy and they chose their own dishes, they actually ate much better than usual - even if there was a bit of waste!

Top tip for food - eat breakfast early i.e. before 8.30 or at wait til 10am to avoid the queues (stays open til 11am), or eat dinner at 4.30 or 6pm.

Entertainment

There was plenty to do throughout our 5 day stay, with something to aim for show wise every couple of hours. You also have the main pool area with its flumes, wave pool and kids areas to fall back on if there was nothing else on that you wanted to see, but oddly, it shut at 5pm which seemed odd in the middle of the summer and holidays. So make sure you get in early as it gets quite busy. The main flume ride had a wait of up to 45 minutes, but was fun all the same.

In the main tent there are loads of amusement arcades and games, along with a Burger King and various cafes and restaurants, all of which were of an acceptable standard. If the kids are determined to spend money at the arcade, get them to use the 2p games, as our two managed to spend an hour of fun having only spent £2!

The courtyard shows were ok, and geared toward the younger kids, but 'Titan the Robot' was well worth a look and very entertaining. The other bigger shows needed you to get in line much earlier than they start to ensure a reasonable spot in the theatres, but overall, they were fine. They had a Michael Jackson tribute and a Shaolin Monk show when we were there and both were very enjoyable. Not quite Vegas or a cruise ship standard, but better than we had expected.

Drinks etc.

There is a Spar supermarket on site if you wanted to buy on a budget, but to be honest, we didn't find the drinks that bad in the venues bars. A Pint was £3.20 and kids drinks £1.40 - which is similar to some vending machines for soft drinks, so 4 drinks for 2 adults and 2 kids for under a tenner seemed fair value. We also stayed for a wrestling contest in one of the big arenas, which although quite contrived and amateurish, was surprisingly fun!

Parking

If you drive there you will find plenty of parking, and if its at one of the hotels or suites then its free. You will have to have your booking reference handy to get in, but otherwise quite hassle free and secure.

Funfare

There is also a funfare on site which again is quite old fashioned, but typical of what you would expect to find. Be aware that not all rides are free - but if you look around many are, so it needn't end in tears if the kids want on something. There was also a separate area for things like Karting, 'Orbing', adventure park and football coaching - all for a fee of course, but plenty to do for any age. We also pted to pay an extra £5 per head for teh circus - which was in quite a small tent next to the fair. It wasn't quite the spectacle we were expecting - with no circus animals, but stil fun all the same for an hour.

Overall

Some of the communal areas are clearly looking a bit dated and in need of some regular TLC, and there was an annoying lack of attention to detail in the restaurants which prevented us from giving a higher rating (e.g. they repeatedly ran out of plates and cutlery in the restuarants meaning you had to stand about like an idiot having your food get cold whilst someone went to wash some, or the automatic drinks machines simply threw out indigestible concoctions because no-one appeared to know how to top up the coffee beans or mix what was obviously diluted juices). So a shame really, as that was an easy fix and would have prevented many irate diners.

The staff on the whole were pleasant and helpful, so we can't say it was terrible, but when you are comparing this to resorts in Europe or the States, places like Disneyland get 4+ stars. One quote that someone mentioned seems to fit well for Butlins - namely that if it was a car it would be a Ford Cortina as opposed to a Mercedes - both will acheive the same objective, but just in a different style. So if you aren't too bothered about a different class of resort which definitely keeps the kids happy, then it ticks all the boxes - just don't expect the Ritz...

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Lots of facilities for the children, swimming pool is great but very busy, if you have under 5's go during their quieter early morning session, it is much more relaxed. The circus was brilliant and worth the extra charge. Room was clean and well located. The fireman Sam show was a bit tired and not very lively, could do with a rewrite and a bit more energy and audience interaction. Be warned lots of games machines in the skyline, my 3 year old wanted to ride on them more than the tots funfair but luckily he was happy to use his imagination so we didn't put money in any of them, but I imagine that wouldn't be as easy with an older child!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khitch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I recently came here with family 3 children rooms were really nice decorated well and really bright and cheery colours in the kids room. Had loads of space and a big double bed for adults. Had some nice lighting in with led changing lights in bathroom, kids room and main room, thought this added a nice touch to the room. Food was decent aswel in the ocean hotel we ate there every day breakfast and dinner - had the meal plan so food was included note that drinks were not which was quite naughty and drinks were expensive aswel. Overall great stay activities got slightly boring sort of the same thing same rides and they all go round and round lol. Kids had fun. Good short break.

Room Tip: The lifts take forever so be prepare to wait we were only on second floor but going up and down with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing