We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butlins Bognor Regis Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Dartford, England
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just came back from a week here and loved it we didnt want to go home! Ocean hotel was amazing. Very clean and all staff friendly. Go karts didnt look that safe as we saw a 'accident' where one girl nearly snapped her neck. Swimming pool was amazing but baby bit was too cold. The carahsal wasnt open at all on our stay! Which wasn't on as nothing out side was suitable for my baby. Its full of chavs and every other word is a swear word! But behind that we had an amazing time and even asked for the same room next time we come back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honesttracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    998
    512
    270
    269
See reviews for
2,108
184
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We took our 4 year old daughter and she was blown away. The staff were professional and super friendly. The weather was variable, but this did not matter as we had the splash world and gigantic indoor play to keep our daughter busy indoors and then the outside fairground and play areas when the sun was shining.
The only downside was that our daughter was exhausted by day 3 so next time we'd just do two nights!

Room Tip: Go for gold apartments but if you can afford it go for Wave apartments as they're brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcoreillyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Butlins Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay at our Bognor Regis resort.

I’m pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time staying with us – we think our Splash Waterwold is great, but it’s so much better when a guest says so!

It would be lovely to welcome you back to Butlins in the future for another break.

Kind Regards,

Danny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My 4th visit to Butlins Bognor Regis for an 80's themed adult weekend. The primary purpose of the visit it to get drunk and relive my youth, so I don't have high expectations apart from reasonably positioned, clean and adequately furnished apartment. In the past we have stayed in the Gold apartments which are OK, although we've never arrived to find them clean! This time we decided to go Silver to keep the cost down to expensive rather than extortionate. We specified a ground floor and arrived, after the very long walk from the car park to find that we had a first floor, we went to 'Accommodation Services' to find that they can't actually do anything about accommodation issues and we really need to see 'Guest services' which is quite some distance away. We decided not to bother trekking across the site again with our suitcases. The next obstacle we encountered were the stairs nearest our room really should be condemned as they look and felt ready to collapse at a moment's notice. Our room was relatively clean, although I'm pretty sure there isn't a vacuum anywhere in Butlins the state of the carpet. We had a 7 person room, thank goodness there was only 4 of us (2 had pulled out). The double bedroom was adequate, as was the twin room. The room with bunk beds in was completely inadequate with barely enough room to get through the door, one of the smallest wardrobes possible and not a single plug socket. The lighting is insufficient to apply make-up in any room apart from the double bedroom. Just to finish off with the room the TV didn't work!

The drinks on site are very expensive. A Vodka, Lemonade and Lime = £4.80 (£3.20 shot of Vodka, 70p lemonade and 90p to colour the drink with a dash of lime cordial)!

The two good things are that the beds are extremely comfortable and there is plenty to do on site, which means you can spend as little time in your accommodation as possible.

Butlins is not cheap but it certainly feels it nowadays!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGRandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My family and I have just returned from a stay at Butlins in Bognor Regis 24th Feb 2014.

Having previously stayed in both chalets and self-catering I called the Butlins Booking Line, to enquire whether the hotel apartments were secure. They advised that all the accommodation had secure doors and that our children would be safe. This was important because our disabled 4 year-old son has no awareness of safety.

Unfortunately when we checked into the accommodation on Friday, our apartment door did not have a chain to secure it.
A card reader was fitted to enable you to open the door, however there was no way of locking the door from the inside to prevent my children wandering.

I immediately raised this with the hotel reception to ensure that our accommodation was secured. The receptionist advised that there were no locks on the doors and this was due to health and safety. When I said that we needed to secure the door because my son has no awareness of safety; they arranged for guest services to bring a chair to our apartment and attempt to jam-it under the door handle. I was unsure how jamming a chair under the door handle would have been safer than if the door was fitted with a chain and bolt. However, upon arrival, the staff member was unable to jam the chair under the door handle which was several inches higher than the back of the chair and so gave-up.

Since guest services failed to secure our apartment, I went to our hotel reception again to ask them to secure the apartment. I re-iterated that our 4 year old son has no safety awareness and again asked why there was no chain to secure it. Again the receptionist said that no chain and bolt was fitted, due to health and safety. I said that since both chalets and self-catering accommodation have chains fitted to secure the doors; this cannot be due to health and safety.


The receptionist then got a stair gate and fitted this to secure the entrance to the children’s bedroom.

When our son went to bed that evening, he was able to open the stair gate without issue. My wife and I therefore had to take it in turns to stay up at night and ensure that he didn’t get up and leave our accommodation. The lack of sleep spoilt our enjoyment of the holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_Reilly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dover
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

booked via the suns £9.50 holiday deals and what can i say absolutely stunning throughly enjoyed every minute however do NOT recommend half board very same mass produced school dinner style meals recommend the spa if you can get a few hours child free (with all the entertainment shouldnt be too hard)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidemarie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a great weekend, 60's , on arrival was upgraded to silver apartment, which we were really impressed with, so clean and accomodating, the staff were great on arrival too, this was our first experience on one of these themed weekends. We were on Food Court Dining, the food was excellent and such a choice, the staff were really great too. Thought the whole resort was very clean, toilets, entertainment venues too. On the downside, which can be put right, no mattress protectors on beds. Also the security lady on the Fri and Sunday evening, Centre Stage needs to go back to charm school, the way she was asking to look in our handbags was so unprofessional. Screaming out like someone possessed, I found this very offensive, Im 64 not 16. That was my only gripe, everything else made a perfect weekend. THANKYOU BUTLINS,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I went to Butlins with my daughter on 28th Feb 2014 for the weekend. I purchased deluxe accommodation instead of standard for 2 reasons - I stayed in standard 2 years ago and it was a bit worn looking and I didn't sleep well as you could hear everything outside the window tip late at night and early in the morning. First impressions were good - we had our own parking space (although someone was parked in our number so we had to use a different one). Then we went to bed - I pulled the bed covers back to find a stain on the sheets, and then some holes in the bed linen - bare in mind this was deluxe accommodation, in the bathroom there were holes in the bath panel and the taps in the bath were covered in lime scale - they were very dull (but i don't think that it would have been cleaned off - it needed replacing). In the morning it became apparent that there were holes in the curtains. It was annoying but we got on with our holiday. Things have changed in 2 years, many activities that were free before you had to pay for, a couple of the rides were closed (the dodgers being one) and one of the arcades was closed. In Centre stage that evening - all of the seats were taken so i sat on the floor with my daughter - it was dirty and sticky - not pleasant. On my return home I decided that having holes and stains on the sheets was not acceptable for "Deluxe Accommodation" and decided to complain - today i received a letter stating as I had not complained whilst there they were not taking any further action - they haven't even looked into the issues i raised (I submitted photos) - my argument is why should I waste MY time whilst I paid to be away to find and complain to them - the least they could have done is to ensure their sheets are not full of holes and that there are no stains on the sheets for future guests!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go unless you can put up with drab, worn interiors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
2.4 mi away
The Elmer Pub and Hotel
The Elmer Pub and Hotel
#4 of 28 in Bognor Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlins Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlins Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing