We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the kids, satisfactory accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for the kids, satisfactory accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Suite and had a Premium Dining package. My wife and I with our two boys (6 and 2) had a great time here. It was our first time going to Butlins and we were pleasantly surprised.
"Deluxe Suite" is probably a little bit of a grand title for the place we stayed in, but it was clean, a good size, a handy location and did the job. It's Butlins, not the Savoy, you're a fool if you expect to be spoilt with luxurious surroundings. I would class the accommodation as satisfactory.
The food package was better than expected, we were there over Easter so it was pretty busy and the food in the buffets was always hot and fresh. There was a good selection and the plenty for the kids to have. We had a take away from Papa Johns on one evening which was also good.
The park itself was very good, the fairground rides were excellent and the operators all very good with the kids and quite chatty. My only criticism here is that they rides could have been open longer - I don't see why they can't open from 9am until 8pm.
The pool was good although the big family slide was out of action (which we knew prior to going) and a few of the life guards seemed to think they were from Baywatch as opposed to Bognor, no real complaints here though.
The one thing that really stands out though is the excellent service we received whilst there. From the security guard who greeted us at the front gate to the guy doing the cleaning to the bar staff at the Beachcomber Inn, they were all fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.
To conclude, this is a great place to spend a few days as a family and just enjoy mucking about with the kids. It's not 5 star accommodation, but is good enough to not be a problem. If you go with the right frame of mind, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    1,020
    517
    273
    270
See reviews for
2,146
191
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked a Silver 2 Bed Apartment for 2 adults (mum & nanny) & 3 yr old. Paid £187 (with discounts) for 4 nights self catering. On arrival we found to our surprise we had been selected for an upgrade to a Gold Apartment in Atlantic Bay the main bonus for us was the extra bedroom as no-one then had to share with our very loud snoring 3 yr old :) On entering the apartment the double bedroom had the towels shaped into an elephant which our little one thought was great :)
The bathroom or rather shower room is very very small. you need to squeeze yourself round the door before being able to shut it so most of the time we didn't bother even trying to shut the door. apartment generally clean & tidy though a lot of dust on window ledges & on top of wall lights etc & shower had a few hairs in it.
We had a few minor complaints but on telling Gold Reception these were rectified within a few hours. Complaints were couple of wall lights were not working, 1 coat hook only held on by 1 screw so when u hung a coat the hook swung round, the oven hadn't been cleaned & was smoking when you used it & the freezer section of the fridge needed a good defrosting.
However Butlins idea of a well equipped kitchen is definately not mine !! No scissors or small sharp knives (only huge ones), no baking trays, frying pan completely useless (my advice bring your own), the grater (if you can call it that) was also useless.
We catered for ourselves as on a tight budget but did use the onsite Burger King on one occasion which was clean & served quickly.
Plenty of activities through out the day & evening :) bit disappointing that there were some things you had to pay extra for, would have loved to take tot to the Dino Babes 3D but at £5 per person felt this was to expensive !! Character photo calls £7 per photo. Worst thing in Sky Pavilion is the huge amount of arcade type machines if tot had been much older it would have been a nightmare.
Staff all really friendly & helpful. The pool & fairground could do with being open longer 12-4 isn't long with other activities going on at same times. One lad on the fairground was brill with the kids but we noticed he had a large plaster on his neck asked him why & its because he had a tattoo & they have to cover them up which is fine but cover it up properly you could clearly see the rest of it which obviously continued onto his back (I personally do not have a problem with tattoos but I know it offends some people)
Town centre approx 10-15 minute walk with a Morrisons & there is a large Tesco & Sainsburys approx 5 mins drive away from the site. Overall a good experience will definately be taking little one back next year but might try one of the other sites as Bognor Regis is quite small compared to Minehead. Biggest downside is the seagulls what a racket they make from early hours of the morning till quite late in the evening. The whole of Atlantic Bay needs a complete paint job on the outside just to smarten it up a bit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelHW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booking details:
28 April - 2 May 2014. Family of two adults and a 21 month toddler. We paid £236 (with discount) for 4 nights accommodation and breakfast. We went during Tots Week (off peak) which was being brought out for the first time in 2014 just for toddlers

Accommodation:
We stayed at the Shoreline Hotel in room 419. Photos below. The room had all your basics - mini fridge, tea making facilities, TV, iron, hairdryer etc. There is a small den area with two bunk beds for any children and even their own TV. Our son was too small to sleep in the bed though and ended up sleeping in our bed (which was a double made up of two singles beds pushed together). The room was clean save for some pigeon poo on the window. We had a direct view of the car park but a side view of the sea. The room was surprisingly noisy. You can hear doors being shut and people in the corridor as well as cars and seagulls from the outside. Check in time is after 3pm although they allow you to use the facilities from 12pm. I would advise you to arrive early as there was a massive queue when we got there just after 3pm. A cash machine is located in the ground floor which does not charge you. Cash machines around site will charge you so make the most of this one. The Hotel itself has a restaurant which serves breakfast lunch and dinner.

Dining:
You can get an all inclusive package for dinning but we only opted for the breakfast to be included. Breakfast was served on site and buffet style. You can book for a character breakfast which starts at 7.15 (instead of the standard time of 8.15) and a number of dressed up characters go around taking photos with the children. This was popular so you should book on arrival. We recommend this if not for the characters then because you get a reserved table rather than queuing up later for breakfast with the masses.
There is an on site burger king, a cafe, a bar, a Papa Johns, a pub/inn and one or two other restaurants. There is also Turners, a nicer restaurant which you will need to book. Food was very standard fare and nothing exciting save for Turners. Most of them run a buffet style menu to try and cater for the masses. As it was Tots week some of the restaurants were not opened and those that were closed around 7pm. They will generally heat your food for your little one which is what I did on a few occasions as our son didn't always fancy the food at the restaurants. If you can bare to leave the site then we found a little gem of a restaurant in the town centre (about 10-15 mins walk away) tucked away in a side street called Bangkok Lounge. It served authentic and delicious Thai food which I would definitely recommend. They do not have a website but are on facebook and deliver.

Entertainment:
Arcade, outdoor play areas, indoors soft play areas, funfair with all the rides, little tykes world (coupe cars etc to play with), dodgems, a stage, and splashworld (the indoor pool). They run a timetable of various shows and activities (repeated during the day) but our son was too young to fully appreciate them. His favorite was the pool which had shallow areas, slides and inflatables. They also run early swim sessions from 9am and close around 4pm. You can book lessons on specified days. In fact you will find most of the entertainment closed around 4pm save for the staged shows.

Facilities:
There is a Spar supermarket on site but I found it very lacking so best to bring what you need beforehand or pop out to the supermarkets in town centre. There is a spa and salon but we didn't really have the time for it. A few shops selling sweets, souvenirs, clothing and toys.

Local:
The beach was just a stones throw away - pebbled rather than sand. Town centre was a 10-15 minute walk. You will need to get a pass from your hotel reception to allow re-entry. Not much in the town centre, although there is a morrisons and Iceland. There is a promenade but it was closed when we walked pass. The best thing around is Hotham Park which is a 5 minute walk away. Really lovely and scenic park which has a boating lake, children's play area and a mini train (only opened at weekends or holiday time).

Overall you get what you pay for and it was a nice cheap break away (only two hours drive from London) and our son enjoyed it (although may not remember it). Probably best suited for toddlers around 3-5 years old to make the most of the entertainment and facilities. Never seen so many toddlers under one roof and everything was well geared for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chuntruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the gold apartment as my mother in law is disabled and thought this was the best accommodation for disabled persons when we called and inquired. We arrived to our apartment up a steep ramp ( had to literally push my mother in law up it as she can't walk ). We got into the apartment it was very dated and not clean. We discovered a few ants ( thought this was due to patio door open) then tuesday night we found ants in the kids bed and my mother in laws bed/wardrobe and bag lots of them , then they appeared in bathroom / kitchen and living area. We complained first thing Wednesday to be told there is a problem With ants and if we stay put of the room they'd spray and ants would go away also had to request that housekeeping actually clean the apartment after 3 complaints we were finally moved to the ocean hotel by this time it was Thursday night a waste of our last full day moving. We paid more for gold than the hotel. The standards are shocking my mother in law has open wounds which require bandaging each day the ants got all over these to. Guest services fobbed us of. The swimming pool, play areas were all in need of a good clean .
Will never return to this butlins again.
Also if using apartments you pay for WiFi up to 7pound a day and doesn't even work! Came home feeling dirty having to wash all clothes because of ants have plenty of pictures to.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kimberley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Plenty of activities on offer through out the day and evening. All staff extremely Happy and helpful. Plenty of places to eat, nice food and good value. loads of shops and lots in the swimming pool for younger children aswell as older. The complex was nice and clean our room was quite clean but was a bit dusty and the floor did not appear to be hoovered. Would definitely go again so much for my two year old to do she had an amazing time and was good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kayleigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Me and my partner booked to go on Butlins new toddler weeks that they've started this year. We had booked a silver accommodation, but upon arrival when checking in we were told we had been selected for a free upgrade to their gold apartments. We were extremely pleased with this.

The room.
We were upgraded to a 3 bed for some reason in Atlantic Bay. The rooms were spacious enough for our needs and tidy and well presented. The bathroom was a little awkward when there's more than one of you in the bathroom (life with a toddler). A few bulbs weren't working, the toilet seat broke but as soon as we notified reception they sent someone over to sort this who were all really friendly. The cleaners were thorough and one day had even set up my sons thomas train set, and his teddy with a book on his bed - my son loved it!

Entertainment & activites
There were lots to do that were included with what you paid. You had the different shows in the day and night keeping all the kids entertained and adults too. The fun fair rides and soft play inside were great for letting them have a burn out! My son spent most of his time in the soft play in the unsupervised part and loved the guys in there thank you!! There was the little playground outside and little driving track to keep them entertained which again was great. The cars were all new and there was plenty for all the little ones.

Overall we had a brilliant time. There was lots to keep my son entertained without paying out extra for it. Of course there were additional activities on for a charge but we didn't do any of these, my son wanted to charge around like a loon! The staff were really friendly and made out stay a better experience. We brought our own food with us to keep the cost down for eating out all the time, especially easier for me due to food allergies. I would love to come back again as we had so much fun.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyMC1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We have come quite a few times in the past so know what it used to be like but this time We stayed for a few days at the end of april upon arrival we was informed that the family breaks had been replaced with tots week to which everything shut at 9pm.
Our apartment had ant infestations we had 4 occasions during a 4 night stay to which the apartment for fumigated & we still had ants after in the bed, bedrooms & living room.

Was nothing to do fairground now is only from 12-4 daily to which most of it has been removed & had a plant stuck in the middle.

Found hair in our bed from someone else under the pillows a sanitary towell left in the bin in the bathroom.

Would not stay at this butlins again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrachelxlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing