We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There were more people on the Marie Celeste!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“There were more people on the Marie Celeste!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at 2pm on 19th May 2014 for our 4 night break and were surprised to see how few people there were on camp. Normally by this time the place is buzzing with families and kids running a mock. Not this year.
We went to the check in desk and there was no queue. We got our pack and went to Bar Rosso for a drink as we couldn't get into our room till 4pm. We thought maybe people would turn up later but by 3.30pm the check in desk was just one desk with a few envelopes left. It was going to be quiet. When looking at the families we noticed that there were a lot less school aged children than normal but just as many pre-school kids. Maybe the threats of a fine for taking kids out of school is beginning to frighten parents.
When we booked we had a double room with shower, with Premier Dining and B Line Fast Track Wrist Bands. We were surprised, and delighted, that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment within Oyster Bay. The room had recently been painted and new carpet. The other thing we found was that we were less than 100 yards from the dining room and we were within 200 yards of the Skyline Pavilion.
We've been regulars every year at Butlins for the last 5 years. We've done the same week every year. Things change, but most remains the same. Our biggest annoyance this year was that only Centre Stage was open and not Reds. Normally we get a choice of entertainment for the night but this year, for the first time ever, it was like it or lump it. Last tear at Minehead we had the B Line Passes and were so grateful for them. Getting in 15 minutes early and getting the best seats, so we saw them as a real god send as people queue for the best seats hours in anticipation of the doors opening, and with only 1 venue it could have been a nightmare. And we thought that even though it's quiet the B Line Passes would be worth it. How wrong. This year the queue for B Line was BIGGER than the normal queue. Even arriving at 7pm you could still get a good seat. £24 wasted. Refund? No!
So 2 shows a night. The first night was The Panto; Snow White. Oh dear, it's the same production, and jokes we had 2 years ago in Minehead. But the second show was better; Ray Lewis, who was one of the lead singers with The Drifters. Good sing along and well presented show. Tuesday we had The Redcoat Gameshow - another repeat. Followed by The Ragdolls, who did a tribute to Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons. They were fantastic. Wednesday brought us Blues On The Move. Yet another repeat from last year and Freddie - The Music of Queen. A great production and well staged. Our last night, Thursday, brought us Scooby Doo live on stage. This show was in 2 parts of 50 minutes each but could have so easily been made into a 1 hour show. The second half was slow and became pantomimish with Shaggy and Scooby making Hot Dogs and making an absolute mess. Totally unnecessary. This was followed by a Beatles tribute act. Started off well, but quickly descended into Karaoke and some of the songs were ludicrously fast.
The other thing that Butlins reneged on was that they had been pushing that premium diners could eat in The Deck restaurant or The Yacht Club with a wider choice of food available. That didn't happen. Not enough guests. So what was the point of paying extra for Premium Dining when, in essence, we only got a couple of more choices than standard and posher tables and chairs. I eat the food not the table and chairs.
Every year something changes. Every year it appears that we are losing out. Every year the price rises. In 5 years we've seen the price rise from £175 to £300. Maybe it's losing it's appeal. maybe it's time for a change of brand.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed set of comments. We were glad to hear you were pleased with the location of your accommodation.

As a family break brand we understand that parents do not want to take their children out of school which is why we encourage parents to bring under 5’s to our term time breaks, such as our ‘Just For Tots’ breaks.

Thank you for your feedback, if you would like to discuss anything in more detail with us please contact: tripadvisor@Butlins.com.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    1,039
    523
    284
    273
See reviews for
2,198
196
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Was slightly hesitant about going to Butlins, as I had not been in over 30 odd years, since I was a kiddie. With two youngsters of my own, it seemed a good place to try.
Firstly, I must say it was unrecognisable from my day.Everything has been updated and modernised, and perfectly pitched at the children of today.We had arranged a 4 night stay, and that seemed about right, as by the last night we felt as though we had experienced most of the shows and attractions, and much more would have started to get a bit repetitive.
For me, Butlins is best experienced by those with young children. They are superbly catered for, be it shows, things to do, rides, characters to meet, or smiling staff; our two couldn't have had a better time of it.
The schedule of events every day was very full, allowing you to cherry pick what you wanted to do; we had a day where we did mostly shows, a day where we did swimming and rides, etc. You can do as much or as little as you choose, although the kids may not give you that option!
We stayed at the Shoreline hotel, for which I will write a specific review, and that was ok. A little tired, but decent enough. We had a character breakfast the kids loved, but were less than impressed with the hotel buffet; food and atmosphere both poor. The Diner and Beachcomber Inn, where we also ate, were fantastic. Staff everywhere were great.
Most negatives I can think of are quite nit-picky things, and not really things Butlins themselves are responsible for (crowds can build up for things, people push in etc, noise in hotel ), so I wont dwell on those.
If you are looking for a nice break for the kids, you can't really go far wrong here. I thought it good value overall

Room Tip: You can ring in advance with any requests if you really want to; not advertised, but can be done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi FloridaDino,

Thank you for your review, we’re so pleased your family enjoyed their stay! Sounds like you had a fun filled trip; we try to provide something for everyone :).

Great to hear you were able to try out The Diner and the Beachcomber Inn! We’d love to have you back again soon; hopefully it won’t be in 30 years time though! ;)

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in The Wave hotel, the rooms were clean modern and the children's bunk bed room had an octopus theme with in built TVs. They loved it. The room was clean, modern and spacious. The resort was excellent for the children (age 2 and 3), puppet shows, cartoon character shows, fairground, play areas and a fantastic pool. The food also in the Deck restaurant was superb with a large variety of foods to choose from. Came here not knowing what to expect, it delivered in spades. Will definitely revisit. The fun pool was a great hit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlloyd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Susan,

Great to hear we exceeded all expectations and that you and your family had a lovely time at Butlins Bognor Regis! We’d love to have to back again soon, it’s so nice to have new guests stay with us and then revisit!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had never been to a Butlins before, we booked with 3 other families going and we stayed in a silver apartment in Atlantic bay. I can not recommend enough. The accommodation is roomy (although our apartment wasnt overly clean) The entertainment is top notch and all the staff are friendly and brilliant with the kids. I will say, although Butlins is advertised as everything included you will need more money than you think! I have a few issues but none that outweigh the overall quality and enjoyment of the holiday. The food court dining is better than anticipated, its not top restaurant quality but as the budget option is more than acceptable. The highest recommendation i can give is that 2 days back from our holiday and we have already rebooked

Room Tip: Atlantic bay is nicer than the oyster bay. Also may be worth paying the extra £15 for ground floor e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Natalie,

Thank you for your review for Bognor Regis. So pleased you’ve already booked to come back and see us again! We will give your feedback to the resort; look forward to seeing you and your family again soon for another top notch break!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am on the last day of our 3 day break we booked last minute as a treat for our little girl who has been quite sick recently. We arrived and had to hike all our stuff from other side of the camp due to a lack of trolleys ( hard with a toddler). We settled in to a dated room and decided to use the buffet restuarant for dinner. It cost us £40 odd for the 3 of us. The food was poor and the restuarant resembled feeding time at the zoo. So we had a drink and headed back to the room for an early night and plan for the next day. No such luck. The room opposite decided they wanted to party in their room rather than the many venues on offer with music blaring. After complaining to security the group quietened when security arrived and turned up the noise once they left again. We finally got to sleep around 3am. The next day more or less went to plan with my daughter enjoying everything we done apart from my wife's I-phone going missing during one of the shows. Don't want to say stolen in case she lost it and do want an honest review. We had dinner that night at Turners which was lovely and the staff great. The night went well and we headed back to the room around 10. We moved into the back room to avoid the noise of the party people and try to get some sleep. Instead we had kids banging on the door and running off over and over again. I banged on the window to tell them to .... Off and my hand went straight through the window. The bedroom resembled something from the saw movie. First aid arrived quickly to patch my hand up and the window was boarded up very quickly. I will say the staff at butlins are first class it's the guests. Parents forgetting they have kids and letting them run riot and getting as drunk as possible. I saw one mother barely able to walk despite having to get 2 young children back to the room. Well one more day and night to go. My daughter has loved it so not alls lost. Wonder what today holds. Would I come back No.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanop73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Deano,

Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased your daughter enjoyed her stay and you had a nice time at Turners. We hope you’re okay, and your hand has recovered. Sorry to hear about the other guests disrupting your stay with us, and you did totally the right thing by informing us as that is the only way we can ensure all guests have a pleasant stay.

We do suggest booking a dining plan with us in advance as this tends to work out as better value for your money.

If you would like to discuss these incidents with us further please contact tripadvisor@Butlins.com with your contact details.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great holiday, lovely clean ream with fantastic view. Staff brilliant, always polite, efficient and smiling, They were also great when my husband managed to injure himself (not Butlins fault).

One change I would make is to have the handle higher on the room door and less easy for a toddler to open. I worried she'd sneak out when we were asleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Shona,

Thanks for the great feedback! Our on resort team try to make guests stay as comfortable as possible :). We hope your husband is okay, we will definitely take into account your valuable suggestion.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from the big reunion weekend for a hen party. I stayed in a room with three other girls. Accommodation clean and all amenities were there that we needed. The acts that were on were great and we had loads of fun. The only negative is that service everywhere was really really slow! We ordered a pitcher of cocktails which literally took 15 minutes for the girl to put together. Other than that really fantastic weekend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Jeff,

Sounds like you had fun at our ‘Back Together’ Live Music Weekend! These weekends can get quite busy; we hope you still enjoyed the music and we will pass on your comments to the Bars team.

Come back and visit us again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing