We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 in the Ocean hotel and have to say once again it was hard to fault. Clean spacious rooms and great service. Breakfast was excellent too.

We loved Dick v Dom on centre stage - weren't especially looking forward to it but it was brilliant.

Only odd addition from last year was 'The Diner' restaurant. Food reasonably priced albeit portions very small but service led a lot to be desired. It wasn't very busy when we visited - my son managed to fall asleep at the table as they spent 45 mins bringing us some simple food. Annoyingly some of the waitresses burst into 50s style rock and roll dance every so often. I'm sure everyone kept thinking why don't you just bring our food rather than wasting time on this? The food was as uninspiring as the dancing. Avoid.

Apart from this - great holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Davie,

We’re glad you had a great stay at our Ocean hotel in Bognor Regis, and enjoyed the food and entertainment! Dick v Dom is great fun for all the family especially as you can go up on stage and join in with them!

We’re disappointed to read you did not enjoy your first experience of The Diner. We have tried to make it fun and interactive – however, we do not want that to be at the expense of good service, so we will be sure to feedback your comments regarding the time it took for your food to arrive so that we can improve upon that.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    1,047
    529
    284
    275
See reviews for
2,225
197
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

came back yesterday from a 4 night stay in a silver room with my 2 children (5&11) I was anxious to say the least after reading so many negative reviews, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised.
the room itself was a 3 bedroom room only apartment in the Oyster Bay area, very spacious and totally unexpected as we had only booked the Friday before our Monday start date. we were expected one room with 3 beds in it! the bathroom was dark and could have done with some tlc but everything worked! the windows were not double glazed so you could here all passers by and they could see you - being on the ground floor without net curtains! we paid extra for housekeeping and towels. well worth it.
we pre-paid to have the food court dining half board. this proved to be such good value for money. the food was lovely, always piping hot with a good selection to choose from. we were all very happy, particularly because there were never any queues, so when you're hungry this is perfect!
the staff in the Coral Beach worked tirelessly and always had smiles on their faces and were polite and helpful. even when accidents happened with spilt ice-creams or drink, they would just get on with it.
the entertainment was mainly geared for younger children which my 5 yr old loved but my 11 yr old couldn't bear! we did other activities which you pay extra for but are well worth it - archery, go-karting, water zorbing, 3D cinema etc - all really good and well worth the £5 pp extra. there were some great free activities for little ones e.g fencing and arts and crafts but don't bother with the free art and craft sessions for ages 9 plus though. this was very dull and we didn't hang around after we found out it would be 'make a cardboard box desk tidy'.
the free funfair rides were great - helter skelter, dodgems, merry go round etc. we went on them all to death!
we avoided the arcades - too much else to do.
the evening shows were good but Scooby Doo went on far too long and I agree with others about the strange pong in the centre stage area! a cross between smelly feet and deodorant!
we loved Rosso's bar/lounge. perfect for families. my son loved making his own 'mocktails'.
the pool was 'ok'. we went once. curtailed abruptly as the big dingy flume ride kept breaking down (lifeguards said because of someone getting stuck!!?? - glad that someone wasn't me - we gave up after queuing for over 30 mins with no end in sight) and my 5yr old daughter freaked out at the thought of having to go down the orange flume on her own lying down (these were the rules!) even though it would have been great to go with her sitting up, this wasn't allowed!
undecided whether we'll return. this time was great as we met up with friends while we were there. I am however, totally shattered as we were on the 'go' from dawn till dusk and despite being anal with the antibacterial gel which is everywhere, I still came home with a rotten cold!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Mummymayhem73,

It’s always pleasing to read that we have exceeded expectations, and we are thrilled that you had a great time with us! We’re glad our team were able to give you such an attentive experience and that you enjoyed the food court dining option :). Thank you for your detailed review, we will definitely take into account your comments, we are always looking to improve our resorts.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazzalink
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

It's a brilliant place to go, facilities, restaurants, entertainment, staff and the pool is fantastic. Just don't expect to much from your accommodation if your staying in the hotels. Feels as though they have put all the effort into those and the 'silver' accommodation feels like second class and that they really can't be bothered to look after it. Shame as it really lets them down

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzalink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Mazzalink,

We think Butlins is a brilliant place to go too! We continually look to maintain all of our accommodation to the highest standards, and we’ll make sure your comments regarding this are shared with the team at Bognor Regis. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon! :)

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We're just home from 5 days at Bognor Butlins where we stayed with a few other close family and friends. My only 'complaint' is we couldn't fit everything in we wanted to do! (And I overheard a few other guests make the same comment too!). Every member of staff was extremely polite and went out of their way to help us if we needed it (from all of the waiting staff in our hotel, to Kevin who arranged our zip wire session, to Richie coaching our boys (and me!), to the Red Coats for their bubbliness). The shows were all West End quality, and the range of kids-only shows and entertainment was stunning. We ate in 5 different restaurants - we loved the new 'diner'; being serenaded and sung to whilst dining was an experience! My boys loved the new 'scoops' ice cream parlour, especially the pink and white cows grazing next to the unique 'pedal bike tables'.
Thank you Butlins - can't wait til next May!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi FlashJ,

Great to hear you had a fantastic half term break with us! Sounds like you tried to fit in as much as you could! Marvellous! We can’t wait to have you back next May; hopefully you’ll get to try out all the other activities and shows we have to offer, then! We love Scoop too; we hope you got lots of great snaps of the family with the cows! :)

See you soon!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited friends for the day and I'm glad we only paid a £5 to get in other than the £25 they charge if you don't know anyone staying, overall the place was clean and tidy and there was actually some free stuff fir the kids to go on and Titan the robot was fantastic but when it comes yo eating the food selection isn't great especially in their 'premier' buffet restaurant which we had to eat in as our friends were eating there, we asked for our money back which was £18 per person they were serving dried hard tough beef, cold hard chips soggy fish in batter and that was about it!!! Evening entertainment was good though.

We are used to centre parcs so was really disappointed with the swim area, it could do with a clean but the life guards were in the ball at all times.

Room Tip: Friends stayed in a stateroom in shoreline hotel, lovely big ballon over looking the sea but room qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Carly,

We hope your friends enjoyed their break; we like our guests to feel at home when they stay and encourage friends to visit. We will certainly feedback your comments to the resort about food: we do have many restaurants on resort and hope you will be able to come back and try them!

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We (2 adults 2 children 5&8) stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. I was not really looking forward to the stay as I had read reviews and had memories of staying 40 years ago. I was pleased with the whole weekend the set up for young children is great, the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at the Beachcomber, Papa Johns and the Diner all of which were lovely with again great staff. We visited Arundel and Ford Market which were very close by and were wonderful.
The only Downside was the accomadation, we stayed at the Oyster Bay complex. It was shoddy, dirty and run down. The water was so hot it was dangerous for the kids !! There is no need for this sort of accomadation when the visitors are paying alot for the stay and Butlins are making a fortune from the numerous slot machines. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay and the entertainment was very good.

Room Tip: Take towels as they are not supplied
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poneke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Poneke2,

Great to hear you enjoyed the whole weekend you spent with us in Bognor! We’re so pleased you were able to try out our new Diner restaurant; we hope you come back and visit us again!

We’ll advise the resort about the comments you have made regarding the hot water. We do offer a range of options for accommodation if you would prefer to stay somewhere different when you visit us again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived at 2pm on 19th May 2014 for our 4 night break and were surprised to see how few people there were on camp. Normally by this time the place is buzzing with families and kids running a mock. Not this year.
We went to the check in desk and there was no queue. We got our pack and went to Bar Rosso for a drink as we couldn't get into our room till 4pm. We thought maybe people would turn up later but by 3.30pm the check in desk was just one desk with a few envelopes left. It was going to be quiet. When looking at the families we noticed that there were a lot less school aged children than normal but just as many pre-school kids. Maybe the threats of a fine for taking kids out of school is beginning to frighten parents.
When we booked we had a double room with shower, with Premier Dining and B Line Fast Track Wrist Bands. We were surprised, and delighted, that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment within Oyster Bay. The room had recently been painted and new carpet. The other thing we found was that we were less than 100 yards from the dining room and we were within 200 yards of the Skyline Pavilion.
We've been regulars every year at Butlins for the last 5 years. We've done the same week every year. Things change, but most remains the same. Our biggest annoyance this year was that only Centre Stage was open and not Reds. Normally we get a choice of entertainment for the night but this year, for the first time ever, it was like it or lump it. Last tear at Minehead we had the B Line Passes and were so grateful for them. Getting in 15 minutes early and getting the best seats, so we saw them as a real god send as people queue for the best seats hours in anticipation of the doors opening, and with only 1 venue it could have been a nightmare. And we thought that even though it's quiet the B Line Passes would be worth it. How wrong. This year the queue for B Line was BIGGER than the normal queue. Even arriving at 7pm you could still get a good seat. £24 wasted. Refund? No!
So 2 shows a night. The first night was The Panto; Snow White. Oh dear, it's the same production, and jokes we had 2 years ago in Minehead. But the second show was better; Ray Lewis, who was one of the lead singers with The Drifters. Good sing along and well presented show. Tuesday we had The Redcoat Gameshow - another repeat. Followed by The Ragdolls, who did a tribute to Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons. They were fantastic. Wednesday brought us Blues On The Move. Yet another repeat from last year and Freddie - The Music of Queen. A great production and well staged. Our last night, Thursday, brought us Scooby Doo live on stage. This show was in 2 parts of 50 minutes each but could have so easily been made into a 1 hour show. The second half was slow and became pantomimish with Shaggy and Scooby making Hot Dogs and making an absolute mess. Totally unnecessary. This was followed by a Beatles tribute act. Started off well, but quickly descended into Karaoke and some of the songs were ludicrously fast.
The other thing that Butlins reneged on was that they had been pushing that premium diners could eat in The Deck restaurant or The Yacht Club with a wider choice of food available. That didn't happen. Not enough guests. So what was the point of paying extra for Premium Dining when, in essence, we only got a couple of more choices than standard and posher tables and chairs. I eat the food not the table and chairs.
Every year something changes. Every year it appears that we are losing out. Every year the price rises. In 5 years we've seen the price rise from £175 to £300. Maybe it's losing it's appeal. maybe it's time for a change of brand.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed set of comments. We were glad to hear you were pleased with the location of your accommodation.

As a family break brand we understand that parents do not want to take their children out of school which is why we encourage parents to bring under 5’s to our term time breaks, such as our ‘Just For Tots’ breaks.

Thank you for your feedback, if you would like to discuss anything in more detail with us please contact: tripadvisor@Butlins.com.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
3.1 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing