We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from comedy weekend, not impressed paid extra for gold room with housekeeping and according to butlins"fully equipped kitchen everything you need to cook up a storm" tin opener broken rack in oven didn't fit so kept collapsing onto food underneath. Dirty plates and cutlery still covered with water. Only 3 forks and the hob and oven had a thick layer of grease. Housekeeping came once didn't replace anything, the brochure says come early and have a look around go swimming it's always quiet on changeover days. We did that pool was shut along with everything else except bars. Everything was dirty just a bit annoyed I paid extra thinking it would be worth it and it wasn't worth the money. The Comedy acts were great just the room I had was filthy dirty

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank juliejulieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi juliejulieUk

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - it really helps us to know what our guests think.

We're glad you enjoyed the acts on our Festival of Comedy, but clearly your accommodation did not meet your expectations, and we regret that. Rest assured we will pass your comments back to resort, but if you'd like to discuss your experiences further, feel free to contact us on tripadvisor@Butlins.com

We hope you'll come back for another break with us soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,903 - 1,909 of 3,657 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Butlin's, never been before, probably would go again, had a great comedy weekend, headline acts were very funny,(Al Murray-Pub landlord) accommodation basic but good enough, take your own towels or you have to rent,food was much better than I expected, having said that don't bother with "The Diner" 50's themed restaurant staff were nice enough ( Polish?) but don't expect great food it isn't. Beer is four pounds per pint,
overall if there is a weekend event then I would recommend a visit, probably worth upgrading , if you are a family its all there to enjoy, and the beach is 5 min's away..Enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Manny S

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the Festival of Comedy, and for taking the time to leave a review. Particular thanks for recommending a visit: it's so much more powerful when guests say that!

We'll pass your comments to resort with regard to The Diner, as what you experienced clearly fell short of your expectations.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I stayed from 6th-9th June for the festival of comedy weekender, and having previously stayed at minehead for the madness weekends we knew the experience we would be expecting.
The resort is a lot smaller than other butlins which is a godsend for your aching feet! There didn't seem to be a lot of parking for the amount of people that would be staying though and had we not arrived earlier I'm not sure we would have found a space.
Our room impressed us the most, we stayed in oyster bay and had a two bedroomed, two bathroom room, which is great as we only payed for a double with shower! It seems they've combined two rooms into big apartments now, the room was spacious and clean, however be aware you don't get towels.
As you would expect with adult weekends the sleep quality wasn't great, multiple times we were woken up at 4am with some drunks shouting around the resort.
The food was plentiful and good standard, however the restaurant was small so make sure to get there early to guarantee a good table, the food serving areas get very crowded though with people rudely shoving people out the way so maybe butlins need to introduce a queuing system for this.
Food was usual stuff like fish and chips, lasagne and pies, all very nice and drinks were juices and squashes and tea and coffees.

The weekend itself wasn't very well managed, thy clashed a lot of big name comedians meaning you have to make tough choices who you'd like to see, on one night there were long queues to get into centre stage even though the security had no intention of letting anyone in despite the 'one in, one out' system they apparently were meant to use. So basically people were queuing for nothing and a lot of arguments then seemed to occur with other guests getting very irate.

Apart from that a lovely weekend, the resort is lovely, the funfair especially nice in the sunshine, we recommend the Bognor Regis museum down by the pier for an early morning walk. Would go back to the resort, just not sure for the comedy weekends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xkatyleannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi xkatyleannex

Thank you for such a detailed review - it really helps us to know what our guests think, and naturally we're delighted to read that you would come back to our Bognor Regis resort.

The detailed comments you have left are so useful, and we will share those with resort so that we can continue to main the high standards we set ourselves.

Thanks again

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We enjoyed our first butlins experience. The kids were very impressed,the pool was great with lots of slides etc. The grounds are clean and staff were lovely. The evenings seemed a bit boring though and the kids disco was a real let down. I think that this needs to be changed as my kids love a boogy!! We enjoyed the food especially the breakfast. It was great value for money as our kids are always changing their minds about what to have. I'm not sure if we would go back but overall it was a nice family get away.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new hotel on the top floor. It was quiet and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi LeilaBaker

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We think the food on resort offers value for money too, so it's great to read your comments.

We will pass your thoughts on with regard to evening entertainment, and really do hope you will come back to us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just finishing a long weekend here at the Comedy Festival Weekend. The shows we saw were very good, although the chairs were not the most comfy. We stayed at the Shoreline hotel which was excellent. The reception, restaurant & housekeeping staff couldn't do enough for us, & were very professional . Security around the camp were also very good . There was one small incident during a show and security nipped it in the bud within seconds. All in all a nice weekend with perfect weather. Good old Billy Butlins

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigronlittlenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Bigronlittlenic,

We’re glad you had a fabulous weekend at the Festival of Comedy, great to hear you enjoyed the shows. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback - we will make sure we pass on your comments to resort, and hope you visit us again soon!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We’re just back from a ‘just for tots’ week at Butlins designed specifically for under-fours. I haven’t been to Butlins since I was a child and never to Bognor so didn’t really know what to expect given the excellent price we paid.
Upon arrival I was informed we’d been upgraded from a silver to gold apartment in Atlantic Bay, which was a nice surprise. This meant we got complementary towels, cleaning and some other bits and bobs.
Our daughter had an ear-infection which meant we couldn’t use the pool facilities so we were apprehensive as to whether there’d be enough to keep her entertained for the week. We needn’t have worried as she was constantly entertained with lots and lots to do.

We were self-catering as we thought this would give us flexibility to eat as and when we liked in the room and also keep costs down. There is an excellent Spar on site which sells a great variety of goods at very reasonable prices – I’d feared it would be very pricey being on-site but that wasn’t the case. We also at out a few times, once at the Beachcomber Inn The Diner and Papa Johns respectively. Each served very good food if the former two were slightly pricey for what they offered. Papa John’s, however, do an all-you-can-eat buffet for £9.25 for adults and £4.50 for children which we found very good value with a lovely salad cart and lots of freshly cooked Pizza.
Our room was spotlessly clean and the beds were more than adequate. The bedding and towels were perfectly clean as were the walls, carpets and kitchen areas. The bathroom was also very clean and other than some minor niggles which I’m loathe to even mention, there’s absolutely nothing I could fault with the room. Two bedrooms (TV in the main bedroom), plenty of space, two sofa’s. Superb really.
The staff on site are superb – really engage with the children and make the stay special. Our little one loved activity play and messy play (especially the latter getting rotten dirty all in the name of fun!!) and enjoyed the shows too. The indoor soft play and play areas were a hit as were the sand beach/playground and the main playground.
My only gripe with the whole thing really was that the fair was only open for 2x TWO HOUR SLOTS PER DAY. This was a real let down as if you weren’t there between 10:00-12:00 and 14:00-16:00 everything was shut down. Our daughter really wanted to play back on the trampolines (which she absolutely loved) but at five-to-four they shut it down and she looked on as it just sat there locked up – on a beautiful sunny afternoon in June. I have no idea why they do this but when the sun is out and its hot until 7 or 8pm, why are they closing the fair at that time?

Other than that though it was an excellent break with lots to do and superb value for money. I really wouldn’t hesitate to go back and we’ll be hitting one or more Butlins again next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeeDJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi LeeDJones

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have had great feedback about our Just For Tots breaks, and we were pleased to read the many positives you listed.

We will pass your comments regarding the Fairground to our Entertainments team: we are constantly reviewing what we offer on each break, and your thoughts will help us do our best to match our guests' expectations.

It would be great to welcome you and your family back to Butlins soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

First time in Butlins but wow, very impressed. Stayed in the wave hotel and we had a great time from the moment we got there till the minute we left. Staff and fellow residents very friendly. Not enough time to do everything's if you haven't been then do it. It's great.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Scott,

We’re so glad your first time at Butlins was amazing, thanks for the great review!
We hope to see you again really soon!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
0.6 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,152 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlin's Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing