We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Carterton, oxfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

well if you are after cheap accommodation, which is extremely basic with hardly any heating this is the place .
Our apartment had dust in, our door would not shut properly and there was a draft from the windows so to relax I thought I would have a nice hot shower.... BIG MISTAKE the water was cold and the bathroom was filthy!
The bed was hard and the sheets smelt of damp.
we then ventured for some food at the fish and chip shop, oh my the fish tasted like it had been in the fryer for hours and the chips were hard and cold - they weren't cheap either!
Waiting for a drink was a nightmare too!

Room Tip: try the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzleroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Sazzleroberts

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed and honest review. Guest feedback is essential to us.

Clearly we fell short of your expectations and we regret that, and apologise to you. We will share the comments and points you have raised with the team on resort so they can act upon them.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    1,020
    517
    273
    270
See reviews for
2,144
191
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (781)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived on Monday 23rd and was disappointed in the state of our apartment we couldn't let any of the children or ourselves walk round with nothing on our feet as the carpets were filthy dirty, our toilet seat was broken when we arrived and reported it but its been broken all week, there was a sticky substance on one of the bedroom doors, bathroom was also dirty the curtains were filthy as well, shame really because we did enjoy our stay but wasn't impressed with out accommodation and was considering booking again for next year but maybe somewhere else. Sorry about this review just speaking as we found it........

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda_tallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi linda_tallant

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an honest review. It helps us massively to hear what our guests think.

We clearly fell short of our own high standards judging by your accommodation comments. We will share these with resort as they will want to act upon them.

Hopefully you will want to return so that we can have the chance to delight you.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Butlins, Bognor Regis for a 5 day midweek term-time break from 16th-20th June. We were very, very impressed with the resort itself. All of the public areas were spotlessly clean both inside and out. We stayed in a three bedroom silver apartment which was very spacious and well equipped. There were scuffs on the paintwork but I think that's only to be expected when they have such a high turnover of guests. Our son is 2 and really loved the indoor soft play area and tots fairground. He also really enjoyed the 'mike the knight' show and Billy and Bonnie Bear story time sessions. We didn't see any of the evening entertainment, nor did we go to centre stage so I can't comment on these.

The splash water world was fab! There was a lovely play area with a few slides for the younger ones and found the pool to be nice and warm, despite what I'd read in other reviews. The other four slides were all open and were good fun. My only criticism would be that the rapids weren't quite rapid enough!

The food in the diner was lovely. Every so often, the waiting staff would break into song, which our son thought was great! The beachcomber was also good for reasonably priced, well portioned meals. The only disappointment was Papa Johns - the meals were nice but over priced and the service left a lot to be desired.

Bognor itself was a very pretty town and very clean. The pebble beach was lovely and the sea was very clear. We've now stayed at Minehead and Bognor Regis resorts. And Bognor is definitely our favourite!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gem_lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi gem_lp

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review.

We are delighted to hear your little boy had so much fun - we will share your comments regarding Papa Johns with the team on resort.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed here on a Just for Tots break as we have a 20 month old child. We have stayed at the other Butlins sites but the kids activities on this break were excellent. There was plenty to keep our little one occupied, with lots of shows in the main pavilion, daily activities like arts and crafts and music sessions, and the splash waterworld which has a great section for smaller kids. When we visited the pool there were lots of floats and inflatables placed around for kids to play with. We didn't eat at the buffet restaurants, but had lovely meals at the Beachcomber pub and the American style diner (AMAZING milkshakes!). All of the staff were friendly, and the gold apartment we stayed in was clean, comfy and in excellent condition. I would recommend this type of break for anyone with toddlers- there's lots for them to do. There was less evening entertainment for adults, but as we were back at the apartment for 9pm to put our little one to bed this wasnt a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidsidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi sidsidney

Thank you for such a great review of your Just for Tots break at our Bognor Regis resort.

We have tried hard to make these breaks work for the tots and their parents too, and feedback like yours is so encouraging.

We agree - the shakes in The Diner are amazing!

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I went with 7 other girls to one of the Butlins Weekenders, and we had a great time. When we arrived we were upgraded to a Gold apartment free of charge, and this gave us 2 lovely apartments with 2 rooms in each, a kitchen/diner/living room and a bathroom, we had maid service each day, we were there from Friday to Monday, and even had a dishwasher in the kitchen!. There were plenty of places to eat on site, and Morrison's was just a short walk into the town centre. The entertainment was great, adults only for the weekend, and was definitely go to another one again. If you go with a group, get everyone to wear fancy dress, everyone there does, and they welcome stage and hen parties.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylordayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi taylordayne

We are so pleased to hear enjoyed your weekend at our Bognor Regis resort, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We hope you return for another weekend break soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We took our 3 children ages 3, 5 and 7 on a midweek break during term time and I would recommend it to anyone. There is so much included in the price that you only need to spend extra money if you want to.

The fairground staff really made the trip for my children. They were kind, polite and great with all the children. Butlins has obviously picked individuals who are really great with children to work on the fairground and this is in sharp contrast with the usual bored looking staff that we have observed operating rides at other parks. My only concern was that there were some irate and horrible parents who were quite hostile to the staff when they were told that their children were too short for some rides. I was concerned that the staff were not well supported in dealing with this and felt that guests should be told that there is a zero tolerance policy when it comes to guests being hostile to their staff. I witnessed a few instances of staff having to try to deal with very irate guests whilst also being expected to operate rides and engage with children and felt that they should have been advised to radio for security to deal with this.

I also witnessed the same sort of behaviour towards a lifeguard when he advised a father that his son was too short for a water slide. Again the lifeguard was having to deal with an abusive guest whilst also deal with other guests getting on and off a ride and although the lifeguard dealt with it well I felt that he should have been supported by other staff, management or security - I think it is especially important in a swimming pool that there is a zero tolerance policy in respect to guests being hostile towards staff.

-The pool was great for kids and the lifeguards are extremely well trained and hyper- vigilant. Again in comparison to other holiday parks in which the lifeguards look bored, the lifeguards at Butlins are totally on the ball and the pool is a very safe place.

The staff in the dinning room were lovely, as were all the staff in every department that we went to. The football coach in particular was amazing with the children and I wish that he could be bottled and sent to every school in the Country to teach football because he was excellent. The swimming coach was also lovely.

The redcoats were all wonderful and professional and there were many amazing shows in activities. The staff in the arts and crafts room were also fantastic and it is amazing that all these things are totally free!

My only other little niggle was that the no smoking policy was not enforced and that there was cigarette ends everywhere and people walking around smoking everywhere.

Well done to all the hardworking staff and thank-you to them for making my children's holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katmclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi katmclarke

We're delighted to read such a positive review - the team at our Bognor Regis resort will be thrilled to read your kind words.

We'll pass your comments on regarding what you saw in Splash Waterworld, and also in relation to smoking. We hope it didn't spoilt your break.

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts, we hope to see you again soon.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

2 adults, 3 children 13, 11 & 10.

We have just got back from staying at Butlins Bognor Regis, last year we visited the Minehead park and really enjoyed it and took a chance that this park would be as good, it was nowhere near.
When we booked we were surprised to find a 'deluxe' lodge still available as we had been told they needed to be booked a year in advance due to demand so we were expecting a nice place to stay considering 'deluxe' is in the title.
The lodges are placed right by the sea, fantastic aside from the unsightly fence that stands 8/9 feet high with no access to the beach the other side of it but still, we could see the ocean and that was a huge plus.
The lodge was clean, towels and bedding present but the bathroom is in dire need of replacement, the children didn't bathe as there were rust flakes coming through the lining of the bath where it had cracked so we stuck to showering, no big deal but it gave the bathroom an unclean feeling.
the beds are glorified camp beds which have left both adults and our 13 year old daughter with back ache, the bunk beds are fine for children but our 11 year old barely had any room.
What really spoiled things was the fact that these lodges are placed basically by the service entrance and overspill car park. This meant that from 6am onwards we were woken by delivery lorries, staff arriving on very loud motorbikes, buggies that sounded like they had lawnmower engines pulling the wheelie bins going past back and forth for at least 2 hours. Sitting out on the little deck you're given is useless as there's no privacy and no peace, imagine sitting there eating your breakfast only for wheelie bins or delivery trucks to keep zooming past...no thank you, as well as the other side of the fence being a public walkway with numerous people jogging or walking to work constantly from early morning until late at night. The view from the room our daughter slept in was nothing more than staff car park and bins, she had a great view of staff enjoying their cigarette breaks!! The housekeepers however were very friendly and happy to help with everything. If you're going to call these lodges deluxe then at least put them in an area of the park where you feel like it was worth paying extra for.
Moving on to the facilities. Why oh why does nothing open until 10am then close at 5pm? This is a holiday park, not a shopping centre! My son was desperate to have a go at Water Walkers, a ride he loved at Minehead but everytime we went to have a go it was closed or being cleaned, at least 3 rides were shut on the Fairground every single day due to repairs! The Ice cream store, another favourite at Minehead, was shut everytime we went there, the Bungee trampoline was rarely open so we never got a chance to use that so the pack of activities passes (which were 15 last year and this year are 9 for the same price!) were all used up on the last day on bowling as this was the only thing open! After 5pm unless you want to watch the entertainment (I use this term loosely) there was absolutely nothing to do except put money in the arcade machines which either ate your money or didn't pay out and there were never any staff to rectify this problem.
The saving grace was the pool however I think the lifeguards need training again in which rules to enforce and when. Depending on who is running the slides you'll get different rules. The first day we were allowed to use the slides wearing coverups over our swimsuits, the second day we weren't. The first day our youngest son (10) was allowed in the rapids river by one guard only to be dragged out by another to check his height, which was on the line, then told he couldn't get back in, this happened twice over 2 days along with being told not to sit in the shallow end while the wave machine was on despite numerous other people being sat there doing the same thing I can only assume that a few of the lifeguards enjoy ruining people's swims as much as they can as it was the same 3 guards doing it to us everyday, not impressed!!
Overall it was a blessing we took as much food with us as we did, that our children enjoyed the beach and we spent alot of time there and that the World Cup is on so we could sit and watch that in the evening otherwise this would've been a wasted few days.
When we arrived we were asked by a redcoat at the entrance if we'd visited Bognor before, we informed him we usually go to Minehead, he replied "welcome to the best one" - I can only assume he's never visited the other parks because Bognor is a total let-down.
We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi C P

Thanks for taking the time to leave such honest and detailed feedback. It helps us to hear what guests think, so we can make sure we don't fall below the high standards we set ourselves.

Clearly we fell short of your expectations, and we will share your comments with the team on resort and also our Entertainments team.

We'll also let the Splash Waterworld team know about the inconsistencies you experienced, so we can attempt to avoid that in future.

We really hope you come back to any of our resorts again soon - we will do our utmost to ensure you have a great break at any of them.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
22.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing