We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked The Shoreline, hated the smelly Centre Stage”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Liked The Shoreline, hated the smelly Centre Stage”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend after getting a really good last minute deal. It was our first ever Butlins experience and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of out accomodation.

The rooms in the Shoreline are great for families and our kids loved their little bunk room. Everything was clean and modern and the fridge was a bonus as it allowed us to sort out our own breakfast and store stuff to make picnic lunches with.

The Splash Waterworld was great fun and the master blaster ride was just brilliant. We did it three times. We queued for 45 mins to do this on the first day but on Sunday mornings guests at The Shoreline get an exclusive hour in the pool and this enabled us to go on the slides without queuing for ages. I found the pool and the changing area to be clean at all times.

The fun fair was a little frustrating. Butlins take the health and safety to an whole new level.

We had a five year old and two six year olds in our group and they were not allowed on anything without an adult. Even the tamest of funfair rides had this daft rule.

As one of the adults in our group is pregnant and another suffers from motion sickness and couldn't go on the rides we always had one child who had to miss out or one poor adult who had to do all the rides twice to make sure all the kids got to have go.

The inconsistencies were annoying too. On day 1 the kids were allowed on the Helter Skelter alone. On day two each child needed an adult. On day 1 the 5 year old had three goes on the dodgems and the next day he wasn't allowed on at all!

We saw the attendant on the swing boats turn one tearful child away for being too tall only to see him allow a taller child go on two minutes later.

The thing that made us all decide that we wouldn't come back to Butlins was the Centre stage area. The disgusting smell of wet dog hits you as you walk up the stairs. It made me feel quite ill. The carpet stuck to my shoes. The tables are never cleared so you find yourself sitting at a table all night surrounded by the empty glasses of the previous guests. There were drips coming from the ceiling and when we looked up we noticed water damage and what looked like mould all over the ceiling tiles. We had to put beer mats over our glasses to make sure these drips didn't land in our drinks.

Butlins really do need to sort this out as it makes for a very unpleasant environment and stops you enjoying the entertainment. We endured it because the kids loved the disco and the shows but we couldn't wait to get back out I to the fresh air.

We ate in The Beachcomber twice and thought the food was good. We also ate at Turners but found the food very average and the service stuffy and unfriendly.

We did have a nice break and the kids certainly loved it but the silly fairground rules and the nasty centre stage area have put us off Butlins and we won't be returning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DMGIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi DMGIrl

Thanks for leaving a review with such honest and constructive comments.

We are glad to read you enjoyed staying in the Shoreline Hotel, and had fun in Splash Waterworld.

I hope you understand that we have to apply safety rules with regard to the Fairground, but clearly there were inconsistencies which does not make for a good guest experience. We will raise this with the resort team.

Similarly, your feedback regarding Centre Stage will also be passed on. We strive to maintain the highest levels of hygiene and cleanliness, and it seems we may have fallen below those, for which we apologise.

We do hope you will want to come back and visit us, so we can aim to delight you.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    1,039
    523
    284
    274
See reviews for
2,196
196
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited as Day Visitors and was such a good day! We got a voucher from the Butlins website with 25% and we had such a great day. We had other people staying down there so we all met up went on all the rides, and went swimming.

The swimming pool is good but so busy. It's only open from 12-5 so everyone rushes in and it becomes very crowded and from the sheer volume of people going in and out the changing rooms were quite disgusting.

We saw our friends hotel room and they are soooo nice and very spacious as well as clean! In the hotels wi-fi is free which is an added bonus.

We stayed for dinner and although it is pricey the food was fantastic and so much choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi NaomiEmma

We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your day visit to our Bognor Regis resort - hopefully you will come and stay with us soon.

Thanks for leaving a review.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My granson loves Butlins and its all for his benefit. Its a shame the clubs smell so bad ( they really do need sorting out) the food was edible in the self service restaurant. The only other concern was the swimming pool as that also seemed dirty and could do with some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Karen L

Thanks for leaving a review - we are so pleased your grandson enjoyed himself.

We will, of course, pass your comments on regarding our venues and Splash Waterworld, so the team can act upon them.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have just come home from a just for tots midweek break. None of us wanted to leave. We had a great time, rides, swimming pool, indoor soft play, entertainment alll brilliant. Would have been better if more restauarants were open later but I guess this is because of it being a just for tots week. Little tikes town and the football pitch were great. I dont quite know what these negative reviews are about as we couldnt really fault it. You cant blame the park if your child isnt tall enough if they are 1m they can go on most things otherwise it would be fangerous? Don't understand thr complaints in this region. Room was just wat we needed even had complimentary tea and coffee for arrival. We are hopefully going to book for next year. Dont listen to the negative reviews unless of course you find fault in everything and expect a five star hotel with a personal entertainer for your kids....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cbuss1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi cbuss1982

Thank you for such a kind and constructive review. We are delighted to read you all enjoyed your Just For Tots break with us in Bognor Regis.

We would be so happy to welcome you all again next year.

Thanks again

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Butlins Bognor Regis Wave hotel apartments!!!! OMG! We are never staying in a standard, silver or hold apartment again!

We LOVED this hotel. Brilliant in every way.

We had our 2 year old and 1 year old. They loved the lights, the space, their room, the balcony, Tv's everywhere!

Booking again next year.

Only bad bit was they lady in the hairdressers was rude!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHAR333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi KHAR333

Thank you for such a kind review.

We love The Wave hotel too, so it's lovely to read you had such a great time.

Hope to see you soon.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed over a long weekend over the last weekend on June 2014 and had a fantastic time. The apartments are very well appointed and comfortable. They looked as if they hadn’t long been refurbished.

Having said that i do think the price for the accomodation is extreamly steep and sadly this will put us off staying again.

There is lots to do with children from the brilliant fairground with helter-skelter and even a hook a duck stall to the Go carts, which my son loved to bits. Make sure you take lots of money for the arcade in The Skydome as we spent a fortune in there !

The staff on the whole were very friendly, although we did experience both poor and great customer service.
The worst came from the Ice cream parlour getting a truly miserable ad very unfriendly woman serving us. Its a great place for an ice cream but with so much choice it pays to have patience with customers.

We had fantastic service from Papa Johns. We ate on Friday night, I think our server was called Jamie, a very pleasant young man very good with our two kids , he even gave us recommendations of things to do both inside and outside the park. The food is very good and the buffet is great value for money

The Spar supermarket is also impressive with everything you need and not at inflated prices. We were served by Dusam (the spelling maybe off a bit) He was again very friendly and upbeat. Took an interest in what we were doing and was also great with our children.

Great service like these two should be commended.

If like us your not into the evening entertainment I can recommend the café/bars in the Hotels. They are nice and quiet and a great place to unwind with the family and talk in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_k_76_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi david_k_76_11

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We will make sure we pass on your commendation for our team members to the resort so they can see how their hard work has been appreciated.

Similarly, your feedback regarding your experience in Scoop will also be passed on, as we clearly failed to meet your expectations.

We're glad you had a fantastic time, and we would love to have the chance to welcome you again.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We bought our young daughter on a just for tots break, it was amazing fun, I would thoroughly recommend it for youngsters as it has plenty for them to do, swimming, activities, indoor and outdoor play areas.

We included the premium dining package and were really pleased we did as it was excellent value, we ate in the Deck as part of our package but you can opt to eat in a different restaurant if you like.

We really enjoyed getting a drink in bar rosso, as it has a quiet library area for children to read in while you have a drink.

We had a minor problem in our room but it was sorted really quickly, the service was really good by all staff.

The Wave hotel is wonderful and I would recommend it, the children's room was like a submarine, with bunk beds with blue lights which looked like an under the sea theme.

We will definitely be returning

Room Tip: Go for the wave hotel and premium dining package
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Social Media Team at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi Hastleon

We are so pleased you - and especially your daughter - enjoyed the Just For Tots break at our Bognor Regis resort.

We think the premium dining package offers great value, but it's so much nicer when a guest says so too!

Glad to read you will be returning - we look forward to welcoming you all.

Thanks

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing