We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite poor for the money and dirty”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived for the first of our 2 week stay at butlins after a long drive from York.
We stayed in silver accomodation for the first week which was actually very clean and nice. The second week we stayed in a standard apartment which was truly terrible. Very dirty bath and fridge, no freezer, horrible smell, I could go on. Also a lot of the balconys outside or crumbling and have big holes in them. Very poor for the money people spend and I am amazed they have not spent money sorting this considering the reviews and complaints.
The site has plenty to do through the day such as the funfair mostly free apart from the rip off price of a go kart for about 2 mins. There are courts to play sports on free, play areas, bowling etc. Most activities will cost and there is the circus which is worth a visit for a fiver but not so much for people with disabilities which I was upset about. Think this needs sorting.
The prices were not as bad as I expected although some things are a bit steep. Paid more at haven though. Think when your paying over a grand most things should be free and they should address this.
Entertainment wise there is so much to do for everyone really, day and night, but expect long queues. Probably wise to get b line pass for shows, although this can be pricey for a large family. Shows were very good. Mister maker, African fusion, Dick and Dom all worth a watch.
Swimming was good, plenty of slides etc. Don't know why they have left a slide which is not in use anymore with a brick wall covering it. Agree with other reviews though the changing rooms are dirty as are some parts of the pool and could do with updating.
We went self catering as the meal plan is quite expensive for a large family. Tried eating out for breakfast a couple of days and got turned away by 4 restaurants as they were to busy when clearly they was not. Seems like they would only let people with a meal plan eat in them. This seems like a money making scheme by butlins to get people to pay more for a meal plan instead of turning up now and then and saving money by paying then and there. Also spar is a rip off so go to tesco or morrisons near site.
All in all was an okay holiday, but very overpriced, kids enjoyed it though. Just a bit of a dirty site and this needs sorting as does the pricing as people are just getting fleeced. Prefer the other 2 butlins sites and probably wont come back here again. Not until it has been updated and cleaned.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank abigail e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Abigale,

Thanks for letting us know how your stay went. Great to hear you were pleased with our Silver accommodation, we're disappointed that you did not receive the same standard of cleanliness in Standard and we will make sure our housekeeping team are made aware of this. We are working hard to maintain a high standard throughout all our accommodation, and really appreciate your feedback so we can continue to do so.

We're pleased you enjoyed our entertainment and found that there was something for everyone. We try our best to cater to all and are sorry to read that you felt our Big Top Circus was not suitable for the disabled. We do provide an area around the front for all disabled guests so that they have a front row seat and easy access. If you would like to discuss why you felt it was not suitable further, please email tripadvisor@Butlins.com so our guest correspondence team can look into it for you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,776 - 1,782 of 3,643 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Be prepared to queue for everything. B line passes get you into shows early but are very pricey for a big family like ours. Very little to do for disabled, like our son. Which I was annoyed about and think this needs changing. Most staff were very helpful and try their best to make sure you have a good time. Site prices fairly reasonable, although some things you will get ripped off on. Plenty to do on site for all family. Accomodation needs updating, stayed in silver then standard, both were quite shocking and dirty. Bath was not cleaned out. Needed to turn cooker on to get plug socket working. No freezer and fridge stank. Absolutely shocking they need to get it sorted. On top of that most entertainment was good apart from gareth gates cancelling at last minute from a poorly voice the wuss. And mister maker telling staff to cut the queue as it was long so my disabled son had 30 seconds to get in it which we did not. Rude ignorant so and so. Overall just ok not worth the amount it cost and will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cna-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Cna-3,

Thank you for your review. We pleased to read that our team were very helpful and did their best to make sure you had a good time. We try our best to cater to all at Butlins, and we are sorry to hear that there wasn't much for your son to do during your break. If you would like to email us at tripadvisor@Butlins.com with details of your sons age we may be able to suggest some activities/shows he may find suitable. Also if you have any more feedback regarding how we could make our resort more suitable to your sons needs, we'd love to hear from you.

We will pass on your comments regarding the cleanliness of our accommodation to our housekeeping team, we are disappointed to hear that your apartment was not up to our usual high standards and appreciate you letting us know about this.

We hope you will consider visiting us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed in Silver rooms with my 2yr old daughter. It was the cheapest option of just a room with a bathroom but was still a bit expensive even in the "50% sale". It was a last minute trip and I didn't want to over spend. To add food worked out to like £17.50 a day which I didn't think was worth it and to add housekeeping was an extra £15 a day so they definitely make money off the added extras which I didn't add. The cleanliness of the rooms were to be desired there were no mattress/pillow protectors on the bed (so I ordered extra sheets, which they were happy to supply), the kettle had brown stuff in it and the tea station, cutlery and cups etc were not very clean.
Also, there are no net curtains so if you have the curtains open everyone can see into your room so you jave to keep them closed.
The resort is good. I think it would appeal to older and younger kids as they have indoor and outdoor activities including rides and soft play. They do shows on stage with kids tv characters such as fireman sam and Thomas the tank engine which my daughter loved. I didn't check out the evening entertainment but they do put that on also.
They have their own swimming baths with slides etc so I think you're more paying for the entertainment/ redcoats then the accommodation. I would definitely go again but maybe different accommodation, this basic accommodation did what it said on the tin (just a place to sleep and touch base) and I would know what to expect next time.
It made a nice change but I just feel they could have made it feel more like a home away from home then what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sophiafamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Sophiafamous,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're pleased your children had a good break at Butlins and that your daughter loved our TV characters. We will make sure your comments are passed onto resort and our housekeeping team and hope that you will join us again at Butlins soon. :)

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the Shoreline Hotel for the weekend. Had a good time and kids were well entertained the whole time and rooms comfortable and clean. However after eating at the Shoreline hotel restaurant on Sunday night I came down with the most terrible food poisoning. With sickness and diarrhoea for 8 hours during the night. Thankfully the kids weren't affected but it did ruin the holiday for the family. Cleanliness in the restaurant isn't up to much. We had a long drive back home which we planned to do on Monday night after spending some time enjoying the facilities before we left, which we couldn't do. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bb1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Bb1900,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We're glad that you had a good time with your family at Butlins. Sorry to hear that you became ill during your stay and had to leave early, we hope you have fully recovered. If you would like to send us an email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com with your full name, details of where you stayed and when, as well as what food you ate and the time so our guest correspondence team can look into this for you.

We hope you will come and visit us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a 4 day stay. Enjoyed by all loads to do for all ages. Pool was very crowded and there were long waits for slides etc.
The Chalets were OK, basically clean but in need of repainting. The food package was excellent value in both choice and quality, better than expected. All staff were pleased to help. Plenty of entertainment but in the evenings can be noisy and crowded.

Room Tip: A Very great choice from basic chalets to good quality hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi WorldTLondon,

Great to read that you had plenty to do whilst with us and that you enjoyed our dining plan. We love to hear from our guests, so thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We appreciate you giving us some constructive feedback and we will make sure resort receive your comments.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was 5th time to Bognor staying in the Wave Reef apt! Can't really fault appt apart from holes in sheets and no mattress protectors. Staff not at all friendly or warm- on arrival or departure or when I fell over in the wet floor of the lift! Entertainment ok but aimed at either little ones or older boys! Stuck at times for things to do n then clashes meant we had to miss something! Food at the deck not that great and we turned up at 640 one evening and hardly anything left and at dead on 7 everything taken away! Ion arriving home we've all come down with D n V bug within hours of leaving. Have given feedback but 28 days to respond! Paying over 1000 I would say not worth it this year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisajay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Hi Lisa,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that your family fell ill, we hope you have all fully recovered. We will make sure all your comments are passed onto resort and appreciate you also leaving us feedback on resort. If you could email tripadvisor@Butlins.com with your full name, and details of where and when you stayed, so our correspondence team can check if they have received your feedback form.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very noisy at night with thoughtless guests and their children. We stayed with a 2 yr old and a 5 yr old who were disturbed by the noise from others. Very inconsiderate. I realise that this is not the fault of the resort but it did spoil our enjoyment of our break.
We had no hot water in our chalet and reported this the first morning of our stay but it was not seen to until we had to report it again the following day.
On a positive note we enjoyed the facilities and the food was excellent. The children had a thoroughly wonderful time. We spent a fortune but that is to be expected on holiday.
The accomodation was basic - we stayed in a silver room. For 5 of us after discounts it cost almost £800 for a three night stay. We paid extra for the B line pass which cost £75 for the 5 of us. This entitled us to get into the show venue 15 minutes before those who had not bought a pass. It was still a free for all with people running, pushing and shoving to get a front seat. Then others who came in later were taking chairs and planting themselves at the front anyway.
All in all there was loads for the children to do and kept them entertained but I don't think I would go again.

Room Tip: Don't stay where there are several families staying together in different rooms who spend half t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NinaB498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Nina,

Thank you for letting us know how your break was, we're sorry that your stay was not how you expected it to be. We do suggest that guests contact guest services or security if their break is disrupting during any point, so that we can deal with the situation there and then. We do not want guests to feel uncomfortable or inconvenienced whilst with us. We will make sure resort are made aware of the fact that you were without hot water for the first part of your break, if you could email us at tripadvisor@Butlins.com with your full name and contact details so that we can discuss this further with you.

We're so pleased that you enjoyed our activities and dining options, we hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,137 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
27 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
3.1 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlin's Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing