We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butlins Bognor”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Year after year myself and my family go to Butlins and we love it! This year was the 1st year we had been to Bognor and I must say we would never return to this one. The Splash Waterworld was such a let down, my 8 year old was too short to go on the rapids yet far too old for the baby stuff. The accommodation was the biggest problem. We always stay in the silver accommodation and have never experienced a problem. This year, however was a different story all together, it was so noisy all night long until at least 1am with unbelievably inconsiderate guests shouting and screaming (adults would you believe we by far the worst!) Our bed was broken and the settee torn with basic cooking utensils. We tried to eat out a few times to be told that the hotels prioritised half board guests and everywhere else we either had to stand in queue as you couldn't prebook (with an 18 month old isn't ideal). The food was dreadful in the Beachcomber and really expensive! As always though the Red coats, Skyline gang and the other entertainment staff are all incredible and do a fantastic job which Butlins should be proud of. In my opinion Minehead Butlins is the best by far, we have already booked to go again. Come on Butlins employ housekeeping staff that know what they are doing, chefs that can cook and invest in some double glazing instead of paying some has been so called famous person (Gareth Gates not to show up for the third week running!)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Claudette,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're pleased to read that our entertainment team have been fantastic during your stay, we will make sure your praise is passed onto resort. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodation and dining options. Due to it being the summer holidays when you stayed, our resort restaurants can tend to get fully booked very quickly which is why we offer guests to book dining plans in advance. We will make sure our resort teams are made aware of your comments, we always want to hear what our guests have to say so we can cater our breaks to them.

We look forward to seeing you at Butlins Minehead.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,768 - 1,774 of 3,643 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our 4th visit to this resort. So disappointed. Booked two Dolphin Rooms next door to each other and paid a premium for this during our last stay in August 2013. Arrived at hotel - rooms had been allocated on different floors - unable to change. Reception staff very unhelpful. No luggage trolleys allowed inside hotel - what a farce! One elderly porter to help! We are a party of five with two very young children - we had lots of bags to get to the 7th floor ourselves. We pre-booked a travel cot - which never materialised! Reception staff weren't in the slightest bit bothered that our 15 month old had nowhere to sleep. The travel cot never arrived even after asking for it several times.
We paid for premium dining at The Deck. The food was awful. Very unhealthy. Breakfast was all fried - even the omelettes were fried in olive oil. No fresh fruit - the grapefruit & orange segments were tinned. I asked for muesli on day two and was told that it had run out and my only alternative was Coco pops!
The evening meal was awful - just deep fried junk - the food was swimming in fat :(
No fresh fruit of fresh vegetable selection, no salad or salad bar in sight. Soup was powdered and full of cornflour. The vegetarian option was a choice of one dish per evening which was awful. The music in The Deck was also far too loud.
Splash Waterworld was dirty and smelly and very badly needs refurbishing and updating.
We visited The Spar shop to buy lunch and it was full of junk food - no decent sandwiches- no large bottles of mineral water on sale but plenty of pies, crisps, and sugar loaded coke.
Wifi in the Wave was sporadic, when I complained to reception I was told that they would log it with IT. I asked when I could expect a reply and for it to be fixed and I was told that I wouldn't get one!
The toilets (both male & female) in the Skyline pavilion where absolutely disgusting - filthy dirty, smelly and desperately needed cleaning.
The whole Butlins experience was definitely very different this time. We paid a lot of money (£1,200.00) for our four night break and it just wasn't worth it - definitely not good value for money. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Wifi wasn't available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi CheshireGirl2014,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your break. We will make sure your comments are passed onto resort. We would also like to suggest that you send an email to tripadvisor@Butlins.com with your full name, contact details and details of when and where you stayed so that our guest correspondence team can look into this for you.

We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I'll start with the bad bit. We stayed in a silver standard chalet which to be honest was shabby and dirty. Curtains hanging off the poles. The bathroom sink had toilet paper stuffed in the waste pipe (clearly hadn't been cleaned before our arrival, the bathroom floor was full of stains, there was a leak from the soil pipe and the seal around the toilet leaked too. There was a massive cobweb behind the bedroom door. I did complain, and someone did remove the cobweb and toilet roll from the sink, but no other effort was put into repairing leaks etc. If there wasn't so much corporate greed and Bourne Leisure actually invested money in regular maintainence/repair programmes and Housekeeping management actually checked what their staff were (or more to the point weren't!) doing then this would ensure 5* reviews all round, as this is what let's the resort down.

Now for the good stuff. Butlins Bognor is a vast site with absolutely loads and loads of stuff for the kids to do. The swimming pool is fabulous for kids with lots of slides and water jets etc. There is a lovely free funfair, with optional side stalls at a (bit pricey for the tat on offer as prizes) but after all it's that kinda holiday so what do you expect? You also have to pay extra for a few rides.


All the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable, and really helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. When the usual evening queues started forming outside the entertainment venue there was always entertainment for the kids to keep them occupied, such as a bit of close up magic or juggling.

The evening entertainment was really, really good too. We saw professional tribute acts, a Scooby Doo show and Mr Maker from CBeebies. The entertainment was faultless.

All in all it was a fabulous time, we have booked again for next year, at one of the hotels on site though this time not the disgusting chalets!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank HelenH903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Helen,

Lovely to hear from you, thank you for taking time out of your day to review us. We're pleased that your family really enjoyed the entertainment and facilities we have to offer. It's great to hear that our team at Bognor Regis kept you entertained and were there to help with anything you needed on your stay.

We're sorry to read that you were disappointed with your apartment, we will make sure our housekeeping team are made aware of your comments regarding the pipe and toilet.

We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in the ocean hotel family room. The room was lovely with great views over he fairground. We chose a dining package and the buffet selection both for the breakfast and evening meal was excellent. There was so much to see and do that we didn't have time to fit it all in. We liked it so much we have booked to go back next year!
The only slight negatives I would mention is that in the ocean hotel there are no doors on the kids rooms so you an hear every noise they make. We ate in two different restaurants and in both the kids ice cream machine didn't work very well, it would do a couple then would come out runny. But these are tiny things and overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam Green 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Sam,

Don't be sad, you have so much to look forward to with your next visit! :). We're so pleased you enjoyed your break at Butlins Bognor Regis. With so much to do on resort you need a good breakfast to keep you going all day and a relaxing meal for the evening, we're pleased we could provide you with both!

Thank you for your feedback we will pass your comments onto the Ocean hotel for you.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The wave hotel is lovely. Worth paying for premium dining. Excellent staff very friendly.
great holiday for all the family. The circus was amazing definitely worth seeing. My kids were thrilled to meet Mr Maker.
Lots of shows to see and activities.
the pool although fun could do with refit in the changing rooms, but this is a minor complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Burley79,

Fantastic to hear the whole family had a great time at Butlins Bognor Regis! We're pleased that you found our Wave hotel to be lovely and enjoyed the Premium dining plan. Children love Mister Maker! We're glad your little ones got to meet him at Butlins. Thank you for your constructive comments, we will pass these onto resort for you.

Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The entertainment did not reach our expectations with the same things each year. The shows were either for adults or young children, there wasnt anything for a teenager like me. The price was so high and we feel as if we didnt get the most of it all. Everything seemed to have a price tag. The challet had such thin walls i was worried to knock on the wall while i was asleep incase i would wake someone up. The staff at the fair were rude and didn't give a smile. I "q'd" up for the go karts then it started to rain, we got told we were unable to go on there til it dries up. We lined up again and had to wait an hour, they didnt even take our name down so that if we come back we get a go straight away. I would love to go if they improved all this!

Thank George307
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi George,

Great to hear from you, thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the entertainment put on, we do update our shows every year and if we do use the same show again we will update the story-lines, so not to repeat the the same content.

We apologise for your experience with the Go-Karts, we're disappointed to read this and hope you will come again so you have the chance to go on them. We have to close them when it rains for safety, but we will let our team know about your suggestion. We will make sure all your comments are passed onto resort so that we can continue to cater our breaks to our guests.

We hope you will consider visiting again.

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We (2 adults + a 5 year old) have just spent 4 nights in a silver apartment and had a much better than expected time. I was initially concerned by the external appearance of the apartments (clearly been around since the resort opened - they sharply contrast with the very modern looking hotels on the site) but inside was just fine. We had everything we needed and all seemed clean and functional. There was lots to do on site and no day was the same - my son loved the pool, the Circus and the fairground but was just as happy on the well-maintained soft play and playground areas. We ate in a couple of the restaurants - the Beachcomber Inn and the Diner which were fine and also given there is so much choice on-site never too crowded. As expected everything on-site was more expensive than it would be outside - eg the Spar supermarket, Burger King etc but Bogner town centre is only 10 mins walk away so easy to get those sorts of things cheaper. One issue for me was the dominance of amusement arcade games etc in the central Skyline venue - they run a ticket system - play games etc to win tickets that you can then 'cash' in for 3rd rate plastic tat which of course kids love. Given the Skyline place is how you access some entertainment venues, soft play areas, toilets etc there is no avoiding that stuff - you can't even access the pool without walking through an arcade. But plenty of more 'wholesome' stuff to do! On the whole we all enjoyed it and was well worth it for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elnward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Guest Services at Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Hi Elnward,

Great to hear you had lots of fun on your break with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased that there was lots for you and your children to do on resort and that your son loved Splash Waterworld. Thank you for your comments regarding the arcades, we will pass this information onto our resorts. We really appreciate feedback from our guests.

We hope you will come back and visit us again. :)

Thanks

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,137 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
27 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
3.1 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlin's Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing