We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place is worn out”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The place is worn out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The wave hotel is not what a 1 year old hotel should be. The games area on the ground floor was a joke, out of 30 plus facilities only 10 actually worked. The wifi did not work and we had a hit and miss tv reception.
But the whole resort is worn out and needs to respond to keep folk coming back because my family will not be.
After spending 4 figures for 3 days and getting next to response to any query I would not recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    81
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
148
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

So we just came home from a week at Butlin's and whilst I think that Butlin's these days is a little pricey I still went with it as my daughter chose it as her summer holiday destination. So having paid just over £1100 for a week in the wave hotel (bare in mind that is room only) I was buoyed by the fact that having been to Minehead some years ago we would be entertained no end............First the good stuff, well done Butlin's for getting Stephen Mulhern to perform there although maybe he feels an affinity as an ex red coat, the show was great fun and as expected had that pro feel about it, aside from the entertainment value of the crazy dunkers basketball show the rest of it left a lot to desire................dear Butlin's you need to find yourself again this is low level stuff indeed.............we went to see the Shaolin Monks which whilst I can appreciate the skill didn't thrill me at all, the Boybands Vs Girlbands in Reds was ok but it was running a while before I realised one of the guys could sing well enough and please understand I reckon being a redcoat is a tough job, I would question the production levels rather than the ability levels...........if you stayed for a week the shows come around twice in a week so in a sense you maybe have 3 nights worth of entertainment if you are lucky or a week with amnesia..........we also watched the discover magic and the amazing animals shows, the magic show was not great Stephen was a natural host and obviously enjoys his job, he also had a part in the amazing animals show too however the co host of the magic show was working too hard to ENTERTAIN stage presence is natural and again I could see the effort she was putting in but it was very wooden and kind of took the edge off the show. So entertainment is on the slide big time, Prices however are not, my example would be an Alska bottled cider costs £4.60 god help a decent sized group going there. Food also on site is at the lower end of quality and given how basic most of the menus are that is disappointing guys you need to pick it up big time. We didn't pay for a dining package because basically the same menu appears day after day on the buffet.............yyyyyyaaaaaaaaawwwwwwnnnnn. But a light ish breakfast and dinner for 2 every day ran us to about £60 good luck big families..........plusses for me, papa johns delivered anywhere on site, and the staff around the resort were great, the sports staff, the cleaners the bar staff the guys in the bowling alley all were smiling and welcoming and always ready to chat should they have the time so Butlins congrats on great staff attitude..........MATCH their spirit and you will get a happy team happy guest and a great rep............but do it soon you are way over priced for what you are offering people...........there is no such thing as a captive audience anymore.

Room Tip: The wave hotel is nice and airy and the décor is fun, my daughter had a separate bunk bedded room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARTFORD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

ROOM 346 faces the car park with no good views these rooms are also really overlooked by a lot of the rooms as the building is L shaped so if you want a room no so overlooked ask for a odd numbered room.The room itself has all the usual with a usb,ipod port on the tv .The beds are soft so if you like a firm mattress then beware but i prefer softer ones.There is plenty of space to hang your clothes but only 10 hangers.There is a free safe and iron and board.Overall the room was spotless apart from the rolo which was under the bed but still tasted ok so it couldnt have been there for long.The kids loved there room which was small but ok for 2 10 year olds to hide there self away in the soundproof room which is designed on a sub with bunkbeds and a small television each with some nice lighting The bathroom was nice and done the job with a nice shower head which lights up when used overall room was good but the view and the design of the hotel doesnt make sense as the rooms at the rear can see into most of the rooms opposite so privacy is not good.
The hotel has a great games room for the kids which opens 10-9pm and has 10 ds 2 ps3 5 wiis and 3 apple macs with internet axs a great addition to a butlins hotel
The coffee shop in the hotel is decent enough with a good selection of cakes,coffee and sandwiches.The Hotel also has free wifi can run iplayer.The reception has a selection of gadgets for hire like kindle,ipod ect and also rents dvds and sells newspapers. The deckchairs outside are a nice touch but wish Butlins would tell the smokers to jog on and put them round in the car park. I also had the Premium Dining which was 4 out of 5 in quality and quantity the only gripe was the cleaning up of old tables needs to be addressed as there was a lot of tables with food on and debris left on the floor.Overall I had A roast dinner everyday but there was at least 5 other options as well as salad,fruit,pasta station and the grill. Would stay again {i didnt really eat the rolo}

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the Hotel for Privacy 347 ODD NUMBERS SEEM TO WORK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLOSBOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here mid week for a short break. The hotel is far better than the apartments, the hotel room we stayed in had a balcony with a sea view. The kids loved their submarine themed room and the main room was good with essential air con. The only gripe was the glass on the balcony which was dirty with something splattered on it for the full duration of our stay.

The facilities on site are excellent but the pool can get rammed with big queues for the master blaster ride. Also if its warm avoid Reds showbar it has no air conditioning and gets really hot and smells, this was obviously the old club house and is treated as an overflow carpark for people who cannot get into other venues. The circus acts are good and worth seeing.
The kids loved the Red Coats especially Simon who never runs out of energy.
All in all great and the Best English getaway if you have kids who want loads of activities for a far cheaper price than Centre Parcs.
We also had the Premium meal package and dined at the Deck restaurant this is Buffet style but does offer a wide range of food which changes every day apart from the desert.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed in the Wave Hotel in Bognor Regis on the Butlins resort. What a fantastic hotel. spotlessly clean, spacious, and ideal for children. We stayed in the 4th floor and had a balcony. not a very good view as it was of the car park but that didn't matter. It was great. Childrens bedroom was made to look like you were under the sea with personal tv/dvd's at the bottom of each bunk bed. Very comfortable bed and living area. Bathroom was clean and had a lovely deep bath with a shower that changed colour while you used it, very popular with the children. The hotel also had a great games room just off reception where you could play computer games etc. Staff at the hotel were friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Get a balcony, great to sit out in the morning or in the evening and chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellemj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just returned today (19th July 2013) from a Mon - Fri break at the Reef Apartments, we found the accommodation excellent, sorry to read some reviewers had problems but we couldnt fault it.
Our apartment was spacious, immaculate throughout, huge balcony that stretches the length of the apartment, flat screen tv's in both bedrooms and main living room, maid service (even did some washing up that was left!) so impressed that we've booked to come back already for July 2014

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We went with our pre-schoolers (age 4 and 2) a few weeks ago. We've to Butlins a few times but have not stayed in this relatively new hotel before. Having bagged a good deal online we thought we'd give it a try.
On arrival, the staff were friendly and helpful. We checked in with little trouble. Yes the lifts were busy but after a few minutes, we got up to our room.
The kids lived the submarine themed bedroom with bunks. Each bed had a little telly at the end the room had funky neon light that made it light up blue under the bed! ("Very cool" according to our 4yr old")
Our bed was comfy and there was plenty if storage space, a small fridge and kettle. The bathroom had a really long bath and a brilliant light up shower which we all thought was a nice little feature!
We had a good week - we were lucky to have half decent weather so could sit outside in the deck chairs at the front of the hotel and visit the nearby beach as well as enjoy the usual Butlins shows and kids entertainment.
The only thing that ruined it was on our last night, we had a fire alarm go off at midnight and we had to evacuate. We were on the 2nd floor and managed to get downstairs and follow the long line of worried families and scared kids. I was concerned that we saw no staff members directing the flow of people and when we got outside, we all stood there not knowing where to stand.
We were eventually directed to the Skyline Pavillion and after 45 we were allowed back. Then an hour later the alarm went off again due to the same guest smoking drugs in the room. This time we didn't evacuate.
We then had to listen to this individual being challenged by security right outside our door( which incidentally had a number missing!!). It was a nightmare and eventually I understand the police were called and the man was evicted. It was awful and when I spoke to staff the next day they tried to tell me it was a one off incident - despite other guests telling me they'd been complaining about the smell of smoke etc all week from that room.
We got an extra hour to check out the following morning as a good will gesture. Anyway - I hope that was a one off and if you go, you have fun. Not sure i'll return myself though. I'll stick to self catering next time '!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilley364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel & Apartments

Property: Wave Hotel & Apartments
Address: Bognor Regis, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Wave Hotel & Apartments Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing