We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant Surprise - Modern and Funky”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise - Modern and Funky”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Having never stayed at Butlins before, we didn't really know what to expect. But as we are getting to the stage where any holiday which keeps the kids happy and us less stressed is worth a visit, so we were game for anything.

Accommodation

We opted to stay at the contemporary looking Wave Hotel in an 'Octopus' room which had a double bed and separate bunk bed room for the kids. It wasn't exactly cheap, but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise and as funky as the brochure had shown. Cleanliness was good and everything seemed to be quite new, so no complaints. The aircon was good, and had a good sized empty fridge with tea making facility above - and all built into one of the wardrobes.

On the ground floor there was a large 'Games Zone' for kids of all ages to play on everything from a DS to big screen Wii games, there was also a couple of Apple computers hooked up to the free internet for the adults to use when your little uns are otherwise occupied. There is generally a staff member around to deal with any technical issues or troublesome teens, but overall quite a nice facility.


Food

We opted for the all inclusive dinner plan which oddly was served in a building outside the hotel, which although fine for us in the summer might be an issue when the weather isn't so good. As we were there during the school holidays it was quite busy and offers a buffet style set up for breakfast and dinner (no lunch included in the plan). The food itself was ok, offering the usual fare that you would expect from an all inclusive plan, i.e. plenty of carbs and comfort food, and plenty for the kids to eat. So although there is plenty of temptation for eating unhealthily, you can actually get better if you are prepared to wait at the deli/a la carte counter where they prepare grilled chicken or a fresh burger for you on the spot (or omelletes in the morning). Again, because the kids were happy and they chose their own dishes, they actually ate much better than usual - even if there was a bit of waste!

Top tip for food - eat breakfast early i.e. before 8.30 or at wait til 10am to avoid the queues (stays open til 11am), or eat dinner at 4.30 or 6pm.

Entertainment

There was plenty to do throughout our 5 day stay, with something to aim for show wise every couple of hours. You also have the main pool area with its flumes, wave pool and kids areas to fall back on if there was nothing else on that you wanted to see, but oddly, it shut at 5pm which seemed odd in the middle of the summer and holidays. So make sure you get in early as it gets quite busy. The main flume ride had a wait of up to 45 minutes, but was fun all the same.

In the main tent there are loads of amusement arcades and games, along with a Burger King and various cafes and restaurants, all of which were of an acceptable standard. If the kids are determined to spend money at the arcade, get them to use the 2p games, as our two managed to spend an hour of fun having only spent £2!

The courtyard shows were ok, and geared toward the younger kids, but 'Titan the Robot' was well worth a look and very entertaining. The other bigger shows needed you to get in line much earlier than they start to ensure a reasonable spot in the theatres, but overall, they were fine. They had a Michael Jackson tribute and a Shaolin Monk show when we were there and both were very enjoyable. Not quite Vegas or a cruise ship standard, but better than we had expected.

Drinks etc.

There is a Spar supermarket on site if you wanted to buy on a budget, but to be honest, we didn't find the drinks that bad in the venues bars. A Pint was £3.20 and kids drinks £1.40 - which is similar to some vending machines for soft drinks, so 4 drinks for 2 adults and 2 kids for under a tenner seemed fair value. We also stayed for a wrestling contest in one of the big arenas, which although quite contrived and amateurish, was surprisingly fun!

Parking

If you drive there you will find plenty of parking, and if its at one of the hotels or suites then its free. You will have to have your booking reference handy to get in, but otherwise quite hassle free and secure.

Funfare

There is also a funfare on site which again is quite old fashioned, but typical of what you would expect to find. Be aware that not all rides are free - but if you look around many are, so it needn't end in tears if the kids want on something. There was also a separate area for things like Karting, 'Orbing', adventure park and football coaching - all for a fee of course, but plenty to do for any age. We also pted to pay an extra £5 per head for teh circus - which was in quite a small tent next to the fair. It wasn't quite the spectacle we were expecting - with no circus animals, but stil fun all the same for an hour.

Overall

Some of the communal areas are clearly looking a bit dated and in need of some regular TLC, and there was an annoying lack of attention to detail in the restaurants which prevented us from giving a higher rating (e.g. they repeatedly ran out of plates and cutlery in the restuarants meaning you had to stand about like an idiot having your food get cold whilst someone went to wash some, or the automatic drinks machines simply threw out indigestible concoctions because no-one appeared to know how to top up the coffee beans or mix what was obviously diluted juices). So a shame really, as that was an easy fix and would have prevented many irate diners.

The staff on the whole were pleasant and helpful, so we can't say it was terrible, but when you are comparing this to resorts in Europe or the States, places like Disneyland get 4+ stars. One quote that someone mentioned seems to fit well for Butlins - namely that if it was a car it would be a Ford Cortina as opposed to a Mercedes - both will acheive the same objective, but just in a different style. So if you aren't too bothered about a different class of resort which definitely keeps the kids happy, then it ticks all the boxes - just don't expect the Ritz...

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    81
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
148
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed at the shoreline hotel this year
have just got back from 4 night break presentation of shoreline decor of entrance nice staff helpful didn't enjoy the breakfast experience what so ever at the shoreline and will defiantly not miss that !!! Awful ! Stayed at the wave hotel last year and dined at deck restaurant which I must say was a better experience ! Been coming to butlins for many years now but butlins I really think you are beginning to be way overpriced for what is on offer thought the general idea was you pay bit pricey then most activities should be included in that now the most of shows need paying for as do the activities as I queued in beachcomber to buy some drinks all people could say is how overpriced they found it but all your staff apart from some at shoreline breakfast are very polite and will do everything to make your stay a fun and pleasant one !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzzie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The wave hotel is not what a 1 year old hotel should be. The games area on the ground floor was a joke, out of 30 plus facilities only 10 actually worked. The wifi did not work and we had a hit and miss tv reception.
But the whole resort is worn out and needs to respond to keep folk coming back because my family will not be.
After spending 4 figures for 3 days and getting next to response to any query I would not recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

So we just came home from a week at Butlin's and whilst I think that Butlin's these days is a little pricey I still went with it as my daughter chose it as her summer holiday destination. So having paid just over £1100 for a week in the wave hotel (bare in mind that is room only) I was buoyed by the fact that having been to Minehead some years ago we would be entertained no end............First the good stuff, well done Butlin's for getting Stephen Mulhern to perform there although maybe he feels an affinity as an ex red coat, the show was great fun and as expected had that pro feel about it, aside from the entertainment value of the crazy dunkers basketball show the rest of it left a lot to desire................dear Butlin's you need to find yourself again this is low level stuff indeed.............we went to see the Shaolin Monks which whilst I can appreciate the skill didn't thrill me at all, the Boybands Vs Girlbands in Reds was ok but it was running a while before I realised one of the guys could sing well enough and please understand I reckon being a redcoat is a tough job, I would question the production levels rather than the ability levels...........if you stayed for a week the shows come around twice in a week so in a sense you maybe have 3 nights worth of entertainment if you are lucky or a week with amnesia..........we also watched the discover magic and the amazing animals shows, the magic show was not great Stephen was a natural host and obviously enjoys his job, he also had a part in the amazing animals show too however the co host of the magic show was working too hard to ENTERTAIN stage presence is natural and again I could see the effort she was putting in but it was very wooden and kind of took the edge off the show. So entertainment is on the slide big time, Prices however are not, my example would be an Alska bottled cider costs £4.60 god help a decent sized group going there. Food also on site is at the lower end of quality and given how basic most of the menus are that is disappointing guys you need to pick it up big time. We didn't pay for a dining package because basically the same menu appears day after day on the buffet.............yyyyyyaaaaaaaaawwwwwwnnnnn. But a light ish breakfast and dinner for 2 every day ran us to about £60 good luck big families..........plusses for me, papa johns delivered anywhere on site, and the staff around the resort were great, the sports staff, the cleaners the bar staff the guys in the bowling alley all were smiling and welcoming and always ready to chat should they have the time so Butlins congrats on great staff attitude..........MATCH their spirit and you will get a happy team happy guest and a great rep............but do it soon you are way over priced for what you are offering people...........there is no such thing as a captive audience anymore.

Room Tip: The wave hotel is nice and airy and the décor is fun, my daughter had a separate bunk bedded room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DARTFORD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

ROOM 346 faces the car park with no good views these rooms are also really overlooked by a lot of the rooms as the building is L shaped so if you want a room no so overlooked ask for a odd numbered room.The room itself has all the usual with a usb,ipod port on the tv .The beds are soft so if you like a firm mattress then beware but i prefer softer ones.There is plenty of space to hang your clothes but only 10 hangers.There is a free safe and iron and board.Overall the room was spotless apart from the rolo which was under the bed but still tasted ok so it couldnt have been there for long.The kids loved there room which was small but ok for 2 10 year olds to hide there self away in the soundproof room which is designed on a sub with bunkbeds and a small television each with some nice lighting The bathroom was nice and done the job with a nice shower head which lights up when used overall room was good but the view and the design of the hotel doesnt make sense as the rooms at the rear can see into most of the rooms opposite so privacy is not good.
The hotel has a great games room for the kids which opens 10-9pm and has 10 ds 2 ps3 5 wiis and 3 apple macs with internet axs a great addition to a butlins hotel
The coffee shop in the hotel is decent enough with a good selection of cakes,coffee and sandwiches.The Hotel also has free wifi can run iplayer.The reception has a selection of gadgets for hire like kindle,ipod ect and also rents dvds and sells newspapers. The deckchairs outside are a nice touch but wish Butlins would tell the smokers to jog on and put them round in the car park. I also had the Premium Dining which was 4 out of 5 in quality and quantity the only gripe was the cleaning up of old tables needs to be addressed as there was a lot of tables with food on and debris left on the floor.Overall I had A roast dinner everyday but there was at least 5 other options as well as salad,fruit,pasta station and the grill. Would stay again {i didnt really eat the rolo}

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the Hotel for Privacy 347 ODD NUMBERS SEEM TO WORK
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLOSBOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here mid week for a short break. The hotel is far better than the apartments, the hotel room we stayed in had a balcony with a sea view. The kids loved their submarine themed room and the main room was good with essential air con. The only gripe was the glass on the balcony which was dirty with something splattered on it for the full duration of our stay.

The facilities on site are excellent but the pool can get rammed with big queues for the master blaster ride. Also if its warm avoid Reds showbar it has no air conditioning and gets really hot and smells, this was obviously the old club house and is treated as an overflow carpark for people who cannot get into other venues. The circus acts are good and worth seeing.
The kids loved the Red Coats especially Simon who never runs out of energy.
All in all great and the Best English getaway if you have kids who want loads of activities for a far cheaper price than Centre Parcs.
We also had the Premium meal package and dined at the Deck restaurant this is Buffet style but does offer a wide range of food which changes every day apart from the desert.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed in the Wave Hotel in Bognor Regis on the Butlins resort. What a fantastic hotel. spotlessly clean, spacious, and ideal for children. We stayed in the 4th floor and had a balcony. not a very good view as it was of the car park but that didn't matter. It was great. Childrens bedroom was made to look like you were under the sea with personal tv/dvd's at the bottom of each bunk bed. Very comfortable bed and living area. Bathroom was clean and had a lovely deep bath with a shower that changed colour while you used it, very popular with the children. The hotel also had a great games room just off reception where you could play computer games etc. Staff at the hotel were friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Get a balcony, great to sit out in the morning or in the evening and chill out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellemj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,896 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel & Apartments

Property: Wave Hotel & Apartments
Address: Bognor Regis, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Wave Hotel & Apartments Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing