We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No attention to detail. Could do so much better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wave Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No attention to detail. Could do so much better”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival there were no parking spaces. Directed to overflow which is a considerable distance. We opted to unlooad and then luckily a space appeared which we grabbed. Be warned no one moves their car whilst here it seems for fear they will lose their space. Cars were parked on kerbs and every possible space the only free space being disabled. There is a chronic lack of space and I wonder if the apartments next to the hotel opted to use the "hotel" car park as their allocated parking is a long way from the apartments but the hotel is closer...
The room itself clean and loved the layout except the balcony which as we had a corner room had a door which opened outwardly rather than patio sliding so effectively cut the balcony in half and could not sit outside with door open.
We had no hand towels on arrival. Reported and restocked however as the shower screen leaked considerably had to use to mop up the floor. These towels were taken and despite asking several times never replaced. Just told sorry we've run out of hand towels. This should not happen in a hotel supposedly of this standard. No towels in the entire resort? Also no remote for the second tv in the kids den. Again housekeeping very apologetic and polite. Never turned up. We booked and paid extra for the wave as it (we planned) would avoid arguments over what the kids wanted to watch. So now we just had arguments over who had the remote instead.
We arrived late and thought we had sorted out all missing items. After a nights sleep went to use the tea and coffee making facilities. No tea. No milk. Not good. Didnt fancy black coffee so tap water it was. By now we were getting fed up asking for things we should have as standard. Little things but they are annoying.
Breakfast was great in the beachcomber and dinner too. Found the resort restaurants all closed at 7pm for dinner (?) ok this is a family place and we had not paid for food inclusive but 7???? Most days we are not even home from work by then and on holiday the kids eat later. Luckily beachcomber to the rescue good food not too long a wait and helpful staff
Splash world Sunday morning early start hotel only 0830-0930 although disinterested staff did not even check so anyone could've gone in. Still nice and empty and we all enjoyed spending time and no money for a change.
Money.... There is so much not included it is disappointing. Almost everything was extra. Shows included but have to pay for a pass to get a seat. Circus and 3d shows extra. £20 for a family of 4 for each! Food expensive and had planned to go out and get some bits from local supermarket but daren't due to parking.
Kids loved the place. Games port included but would be nice to avoid the games on holiday and enjoy some sun!
Parents fed up and broke
Could be so so much better come on standards slipped Butlins!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    85
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
158
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Weekend stay idea of room lay out was good but the small things really let this place down. First off no hand towels anywhere in the whole hotel for the whole weekend no glasses in the bathroom which is a real pain when brushing your teeth. Hotel readily advertises individual tv for each child in bunk beds but this is a bit hard when with only one remote and when asked for not another remote to be found anywhere in the hotel ( I feel a pattern emerging here ) some rooms have not got a full balcony so look before you accept room. Main restaurants on site all close for evening meal at 7pm this dose seam a bit early after all I am on holiday and its not a school day!!! So this only leaves you with the pay as you go restaurants which aren't cheap so be prepared to have very deep pockets this is not me being tight eather near on four figures for a weekend away. I feel this is a real shame because this could be a really great hotel but they really need to sort themselves out

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanadd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilsthorpe
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My five star review was probably helped by visiting during a week when every day was blue skies and in the 20s. I had selected a sea view apartment on the higher floors and was allocated 635 a south facing apartment with wrap around balcony giving beautiful sea views. The apartment was lovely, housekeeping was good and the reception staff could not do enough to help you. I was with 10,12 and 14 year old sons on my own and the Games Port was a huge favourite with them especially the FiFA tournament day. The facilities on site were good and the location right next to Bognor was excellent so you didn't feel you were out on a limb. The kids said the pool at Skegness is better and we had visited before the refurb but it was still good. We had breakfast which there was bags of choice. There were veg sausages and smoked haddock but no mushrooms which would have been nice. Also the fruit juice machines kept running out. Other than that can't think of any complaints!

Room Tip: Unless you are scared of heights pay the bit extra for a higher floor room and sea view - worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helluvsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in a wave apartment with our two year old grandaughter ideal place to stay when you have a fussy eater because you can cater for yourself. A lovely modern clean apartment and very spacious with a cooker microwave and dishwasher, and housekeeping every day. However they did miss us one day but within an hour of letting reception know two people came up to service the room. We where five floors up, not a very exciting view but a good view of he Butlins resort. My grandaughter loves Butlins however not really our "cup of tea" but children do love it. Some amazing children's shows and the Butlins team from the redcoats to the cleaners are fantastic so very friendly and helpful and great with children. Not exactly a cheap holiday especially as we picked premium accommodation , and prices round the resort are quite steep, would hate to have a large number of children because the extras could cost a fortune. My husband remember Bulins when he was a child when all the entertainment was free, this is not the case nowadays. However the resort has defiantly moved with the times and is a totally different experience to what it was. A great place to keep children amused but not a very relaxing place for adults.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v169fbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took our 2 Sons 6 & 1 yrs for a Mon-Fri break.
We've been to Skegness before but found last time it was in need of major TLC so thought we would try Butlins @ Bognor Regis and really glad we did.

Wave Hotel lovely and modern, clean and welcoming. Lovely Soho Coffee Bar in lounge as well as tea & coffee facilities in room which was cleaned Nd made up each day.

We had the Premium Dining Package which again I could not fault. Food choices a plenty each evening too.
My only negative would be breakfast time. Each morning we were there for 8am and none of the coffee machines were hot enough to serve coffee so it was a waiting game, the juice machines were a disaster and the kids running the shift tended to treat it more like disco with music banging out of the speakers so not to impressed unfortunately.

Entertainment good a plentiful also lots if other activities to do. We bought the action passes £14 each which was actually worth it rather than paying out £4 for this and £5 for that.

However it's a holiday resort and the kids enjoyed it so if you've never thought of going to Butlins give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acart2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After spending five years in the Silver Plus chalet accommodation and the sticky carpets we opted for something abit more up market. We had 7 nights in the Wave Hotel and Premier food at the Deck. The food as always was loved by everyone. The accommodation was smaller than I thought with a view of the car park. On the first day the balcony door would not close and the maintenance men spent the best part of the day fixing it, bless them it was a job and a half. The toilet blocked before they left and again bless them they fixed it. That first evening my daughter, aged 10, refused to sleep in the bunk bed as she felt closed in and then my 74 year old mother also could not sleep in there. I asked if they had a put you up bed and they said no and the Hotel was full so they could not move us. We resolved the situation with putting the mattress on the floor for the week!! The air conditioning we turned off in the end as it was too noisy and also turned the telly off at the switch as at 3pm in the morning it flashed red and blue. We also chased around for toilet rolls and towels sometimes if the lady forgot, reception were very helpfull. Apart from these problems the Hotel was nice and the best bit was the coffee bar for a relaxing drink before bed time and no sticky carpets. Not sure the extra money we paid was worth it? Perhaps if they put the price down it would be better value for money. Food, entertainment etc. all were good as usual in the resort, no gripes there.

Room Tip: Pick a sea or complex view not car park and ask for sliding doors. If you have little ones go for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having done the old school chalet type accommodation and surly service I arrived with no expectations. On arrival and being 1 hour early thought I would have trouble but greeted with a smile and told to check in but room wouldn't be available until 3pm. On check in told room was ready for us so pretty impressed. Room 425 2 bedrooms,loved the kids tvs at the end of each bed, balcony overlooking the sea and clean throughout. Have to say nothing like the grubby damp chalets I remember! We had opted for the premium dining option but didnt need to, food in the deck was plentiful and there was a great choice ok not al a carte but edible and if anyone expects this from Butlins then just dont bother going. Overall found the whole concept had taken on a more European approach to things and it was service with a smile. Shows were great, kids loved all the activities,far too many for a 3 day break. Overall very impressed with the new Butlins.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a sea view the balconies are a real sun trap and the views over butlins and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candy150266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
25 reviews
13.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
3.2 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel & Apartments

Property: Wave Hotel & Apartments
Address: Bognor Regis, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Wave Hotel & Apartments Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing