We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A very pleasant weekend spent at the Inglenook Hotel. A super room with comfortsble bed, very clean. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and enjoyed both meals. Mark was very helpful and made our stay memorable

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarnie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a fantastic impromptu Sunday early evening meal, at the Inglenook. The food was first rate, and the children's menu was very good value, (and even better, to our surprise, kids eat free on a Sunday evening) with great meals and excellent quality food, such a refreshing change. The service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble, and advice given on the menu and dish details was very informative and politely given.
A lovely summer's evening sat in the pretty and sheltered garden, relaxing atmosphere.....a perfect Sunday evening.
Will be returning soon....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank 2906DocM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglenookhotel, Manager at The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review . We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make each customers experience at the Inglenook a memorable one and nothing makes us happier than to hear that we have suceeded . We are pleased that you enjoyed our promotion of "Kids eat free" on sunday evenings , it seems to be very popular . We look forward to welcoming back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at the Inglenook Hotel last year and for one night recently. All I will say is that it has 'olde world' charm, but badly needs some investment to improve the quality of the decor and furnishings. I would not say it needs modernising as it needs to keep its old fashioned charm, but I do not think that anything has been renewed for at least 30 years! It was basically clean, but the door of the bedroom I stayed in had blue-tac stuck all over it where notices had fallen off. These notices were shoved into the folder on the desk as if no-one can be bothered to organise the information in the folder. The lamp shades were extremely old and dusty looking and the bed was so hard that I may as well have slept on the floor!

The meal in the restaurant was ok and the staff were pleasant and efficient, but I did not think the quality of the food was quite as good as last year.

I would not say that the Inglenook is 'poor' but it is definitely below the average I would expect. It is a shame as it is such a lovely old building in a popular location with a lot of competition near by. It could be so much better!

Room Tip: Be careful if you like a comfortable bed; ask which one would suit you. The rooms at the front are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilypond03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglenookhotel, Manager at The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

We are sorry to learn that you were dissapointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the blu tack situation , i have spoken to our housekeeping team and they are dealing with the matter. I am a little confused as to the mention of a hard mattress as all our beds have Hypnos mattresses and are regularly changed , as you didnt mention which room you were in i have checked all 18 rooms and have not found a hard mattress. As far as reburbishing is concerned , we are constantly replacing and improving the hotel , as you can imagine with a building the size of the Inglenook , it is an ongoing task . Im sure you realised since your last visit that we have completely refurbished the Ladies and Gents toilets if you had the need to use them. We pride ourselves on being a family run individual hotel , maybe not everybody taste but we are still flourishing after 40 years of running the Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This pub is awesome, best selection of beer you will come across in the area for miles, real IPAs and always a few different beers of the week and monthly special beers.
Bar staff are good as it gets
Well done

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My friend and I found this hotel after a day house hunting in the area. The room (2) was in the front of the hotel and fortunately we were not disturbed by passing traffic. It was clean and although not generous was perfectly acceptable with a small en-suite. We were encouraged to find they had their own restaurant which seemed to be well used. The deal we were offered included cost of the room, breakfast and the set menu evening meal and we felt was good value for money. We had a very good, well served tasty meal and the staff were very attentive. However unfortunately we were disappointed with breakfast. The buffet choice was not impressive. There was a misunderstanding about the cooked option we ordered which took some while to rectify. And when our poached haddock with poached egg arrived the presentation was poor with the small fillet and egg sliding unattractively around on the large oval plate which was better suited to the full english breakfast. In addition the haddock was cold and not quite cooked properly. The toast was slightly coloured on one side but not at all on the other. Such a shame and maybe just an off day!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We've just returned from a weekend away and stayed overnight at The Inglenook Hotel. Discovered it on Trip Advisor. Very welcoming, highly accommodating. Our room was beautiful (9) and had plenty of space for a z-bed for our little one. Great food, plentiful portions! Order the ribs! Lovely gardens with a Wendy house to play in. Location perfect for a seaside getaway. Family friendly. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouandKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying in the area and asked the hotel receptionist to recommend a good place to eat.;she advised The Inglenook Hotel. Firstly parking in their Car Park was a nightmare and the lighting was non existent, I had to use a torch to light the way round to the front of the Hotel. Ordered a drink in the bar, pleasant staff, well presented driinks. We're given menu to look at while waiting for table. Everything looked expensive so we decided on the set menu (cannot remember what we had obviously not remarkable) I know this as I have the bill in front of me. The total bill came to £57 which we thought a lot for an experience and meal which we did not rate very highly. Staff were polite and helpful but would not go again.

Room Tip: Did not stay at Hotel only used the Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygardenerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inglenookhotel, Manager at The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us . Our lighting in the car park is by lamposts that have a sensor , we are looking into why they didnt come on at the weekend and i can only apologise for that . As you said that you had chosen from our 3 course table d'hôte , that menu is very popular at £25.50, however there are many other menus had you wished , we have a huge light bite menu and a very extensive blackboard special board that may be chosen from and eaten in the bar and top lounge area , also we use the conservatory for those menus when it is not full of restaurant customers. I cannot comment on the dishes which you had chosen as you couldnt remember what you had , however if you would like to discuss this further in person we would welcome you to pop in and speak to our head waiter. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff helpful and curteous .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
3.6 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
334 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 255 Pagham Road, Bognor Regis PO21 3QB, England (Formerly The Inglenook Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price Range: £83 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18 bedroom !6Th century family run hotel , it has been owned and run by the Honour family for 40 years. We specialise in making every ones visit to us as comfortable as possible. We are nestled in the beautiful West Sussex countryside and very close to the beach. We have a very cosy bar where we serve fine wines and an impresive selection of ales and home cooked bar food. Our restaurant has table d'hote and a la carte menus proving local line caught fish and delicious home cooked food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglenook Hotel West Sussex
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing