We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butlins Shoreline Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Shoreline Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Family friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed in the Shoreline hotel with our ninth month old baby. We had been to Butlins years and years back, and had stayed in a standard room in Minehead, but it was rather were basic. However the entertainment was first class and the facilities on site were great.

The idea of going back to Butlins seemed appealing when we discovered that they had opened hotels. The website seemed to imply the hotels were high quality, but I was rather skeptical. However it was a bit of a surprise. The hotels look impressive from the outside. The receptionist were efficient and checked us in quickly and before the official check in. They explained a few of the unique features, the main one is the character breakfasts. The lifts are disco lifts with weird lights and music, which my son loved and were a nice touch.

The room itself was large with a comfortable bed, large window looking out to the sea and site below. There is a children's section in the room with a bunk bed, it is not exactly a separate room as there is not a door but it does have a separate TV in the children's area. I felt the room certainly had a better feel than a Premier Inn or Holiday Inn. It is clearly aimed at families, and it works rather well.

The breakfast was very pleasant and the redcoats were dressed up as cartoon characters - Bob the Builder, etc. It was a buffet style help yourself affair. The food was pretty good, much as you might find in a mid-range hotel. The differentiation comes with the characters, children love them.

The rest of the site has great entertainment especially in the evenings with lots to do during the day. The shows are good and take place throughout the day and evening. Another highlight is the huge swimming pool complex, with various slides and flumes. A downside is that the central area has a lot of arcade and fruit machines, with older children I can imagine this might get expensive.

There are lots of places to eat out. We quite liked the Papa Johns restaurant which had an all you can eat buffet, it also does takeaway. A bit of a disappointment was when we ate dinner in the Ocean hotel restaurant. It was a buffet, but it was rather expensive and there was not a huge selection of vegetarian food. It felt rather expensive for what it was.

Bognor as a town is not really that exciting, it is a small town set on a pebble beach. I am not sure there is a lot around to do, but I guess the site has quite a lot of activities and my guess is most people spend a lot of time onsite rather than exploring the area.

The main plus is all the staff - cleaners, receptionists, waiter, redcoats, etc are all very friendly.

I found this to be a great value break. It cost us £180 for three nights. That would normally not get three of us a hotel of that standard, never mind all the entertainment and swimming. The prices seem to fluctate wildly with deals ending and starting every few weeks. So it is quite hard to know exactly when to buy and the lack of clarity on pricing is something of an issue for me. On the other hand I guess it allows them to ensure most rooms are filled, but I do wonder if anyone books at the full price.

I am not sure that I have heard of a hotel that is as family friendly and so it really stands on its own as best in a class of one. If you like the idea of Butlins, but don't fancy a chalet then it is certainly worth a look.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Radiantsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    137
    41
    12
    16
See reviews for
294
48
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have been to Butlins 2 years in a row and are booked to return in 2012, we have a 2 year old daughter and have stoped half board in the Shoreline hotel both times we have visited. Can't fault the hotel ot the resort. Centre Stage is great for the little ones and there's always something to do. Compared to other holiday companies this is 2nd to none.

Room Tip: The cheaper no sea view rooms are just as satisfactory
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anwo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed in Hooks Cabin at Shoreline Hotel over Halloween weekend 2011 with husband and 2 boys, aged 9 and 12. Staff at check in were very friendly; we arrived early and thought we would just see if we could check in and our room was available so were checked in by 1pm.

Our room was opposite Jaks nightclub so thought may be bit noisy but we were on 3rd floor and heard almost nothing as windows double-glazed and thick lined curtains kept any outside sounds at bay.

Our room was very clean and large; kids had their own den area with TV/DVD. Bathroom very modern and spacious, luxury compared to some of the shower rooms we usually have in the apartments (although they are always clean, just not very big!). Large full length windows with thick lined curtains to block out street noise or lights.

The only suggestions would be more hanging space in the built in storage unit (only one single wardrobe, but about 15 shelves!) and perhaps a lined curtain to separate kids area when they have their TV on or when they are asleep (kids snore too!).

Breakfast choice was very good; everything you could ask for, and the staff were always available to help with any other requirements. We were not hurried or rushed and breakfast was available for the early birds or the late risers.

Had some extra perks; tickets for a Britains Got Talent show with 2 finalists and an Archery session exclusively for hotel guests.

Will definitely book at this hotel again; friends have stayed in both hotels but still prefer the Shoreline.

Room Tip: Higher floors on Hooks Cabin think better as away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButlinsResorts, Butlins Customer Care Advisor at Butlins Shoreline Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Shoreline Hotel at our Bognor Regis resort.

I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We try to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible so I’m glad you found it modern and spacious. I can understand a family of 4 may require more space than a single wardrobe, so I’ve passed on your feedback about the storage to our operations manager.

I’m really glad you’ll be returning to the Shoreline Hotel - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Amber

Butlins Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great hotel,very family friendly. The food is fantastic with a great daily variety. The rooms are very spacious and immaculately cleaned. Friendly staff and well priced. What more can i say. I would recommend to anybody wanting a family break or a great getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was due to go to Butlins for the New year break 30th Dec 2011 - 2nd Jan 2012 but the morning we was due to go i found on the confirmation id actually booked the following year. I was worried sick up all night with cases in the car all ready with my little girl very exited. I called on opening and they told me they was fully booked for the accomadation id booked, however they upgraded me to one of their hotels at no extra cost to myself and could'nt of been more helpful.
They really made our holiday break thats why we visit a few times every year and i would recommend any family. ive been the past 4 New Year breaks and already looking to book for next year too.
A very happy customer Sara Campbell from ashford Kent

Room Tip: Always stayed in Silver Appartments but stayed in Shoreline Hotel most recent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with the Shoreline hotel at butlins. We wanted to celebrate the end of the year with our children aged 9 and 11 and felt Butlins was local and had something for everyone.we were welcomed with refreshments , a friendly team and an easy to understand information pack.the resort was well managed with helpful staff and a clean environment. We only felt crowded when we celebrated new year,which we expected.the only complaint would be from my husband who said the beer didn't taste right,there was other choices though.there's plenty to do with a variety of places to eat and drink. We will definately be going back .

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaneysoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The room was very clean and are cleaner named chris made are holiday.he is so polite and could not do more for our family. He took our family round resort showing us where to go in evenings and where we could see Santa for our little daughter the next daY to find out he had finished his working day and did all this before he went home.we hope to see him again next year.it was are first time here.and it won't be our last. The resort was tidy and the entertainment was great.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryanjoe48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
13.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#6 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Shoreline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Shoreline Hotel

Property: Butlins Shoreline Hotel
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a luxury short break at the stylish Shoreline Hotel right in the heart of the beautiful seaside resort of Butlins Bognor Regis. Plenty of features designed to keep you and our younger guests happy and by taking care of all the details, you'll be sure to have a relaxing and enjoyable break. Beautifully light and airy rooms with floor to ceiling windows, comfy leather furniture and flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Shoreline Bognor Regis
Hotel Butlins Shoreline
Butlins Shoreline Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing