We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good nights sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navigator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Navigator Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Bognor Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a good nights sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

When we arrived here and drove past looking for a parking space I must admit my heart sank a little at the exterior appearance. We entered reception (actually a very "rustic" pub) through a haze of cigarette smoke in the doorway. Whilst booking in we were told the rooms were actually in their sister hotel just down the road a bit, now this immediately made me think bait and switch, i.e advertise somewhere that looks nice then dump people in something resembling run down council flats, I wasn't too far wrong. The exterior was let's say, less than appealing, the stairway up to the rooms was very narrow and could best be described as dingy. However the room seemed okay, clean, with the tiniest TV screen I have ever seen mounted to the wall. The view from the window was of a wall a few feet away. We headed out for dinner and, finding a lack of anywhere that looked appealing nearby ate in the restaurant, this was okay, typical pub grub.

Now, this is where it went downhill. I noticed when we were taken to our rooms it looked like there was a private flat on the ground floor with our rooms being on the first floor. I can only assume my room was directly above this private flat (and without wishing to stereotype I would imagine this is very low rent accommodation) . Anyway, I was kept awake until around 4am by the sounds of arguing and door slamming, as this was a business trip (sadly we don't get to book our own rooms) and having to be up at 7.30 this was absolutely not satisfactory.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, what's advertised is not where we ended up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMAk981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    58
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
37
58
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for one night in October 2013. It was more like staying in a cozy B&B. Staff were super friendly, treated you like a friend from the first minute we stepped foot on the premises. The rooms are small but clean, warm and cozy! The location is fab with the sea across the road from the hotel. The bar was busy, we had our evening meal in the restaurant and it was lovely. I couldn't fault this place at all! I would definitely stay here again if Im ever back in the area. Highly recommended, especially for couples!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmonthebanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a little treasure this place is! We arrived for our one night stay on a Sunday lunchtime and the place was buzzing, mainly with people eating both in the restaurant and the pub. The food, especially the roast dinners, looked and smelt delicious, we were devastated we weren't eating there. We stayed in room 3 which has a sea view and along with the sumptuously comfy bed and sitting area overlooking the sea, cleanliness and attention to detail we were really impressed. Staff were so friendly and the breakfast in the morning kept us going all day. We shall definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed on Saturday for one night with my husband while attending a friend's 50th Birthday. We had room 3 which was very big with a huge bed and a seating area overlooking the sea. The weather was fantastic this weekend so very very glad that we selected the sea view. Breakfast was a bit slow but that is the only complaint, apart from the statue and cart on the roof which blocked our view of the sunset - needs to be taken away - it adds nothing to the look of the place and makes it look run down. Despite being on the seafront on a beautiful evening, it was extremely quiet. I don't generally sleep well when away for the night as we have a fantastic superking sized electric bed at home and nothing compares to it. However, the bed in room 3 was the most comfortable we have slept in, and we have travelled quite a bit, and the sheets were really good quality. Only other small point I would mention is that, although clean, the towels are very small. We didn't eat in the restaurant but there were lots of people there and the bar had a good feeling about it with a mix of age groups.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very large and very comfortable with a cracking sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsrushaslemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was staying in the hotel along the road from this restaurant and had it not been for a recommendation, I would have walked straight past this restaurant. However, it was recommended so we thought we would give it a go.
We had lunch and were offered the 2 for 1 menu or the a la carte. We opted for the a la carte and I have to say we were delighted.
We had a three course meal with wine and drinks. The food was superb and the service second to none. The staff could not have been more helpful or attentive.
It was excellent value for money and when we went to pay the bill, the staff checked to see whether they could have offered any discount based on what we had ordered.
When the bill came, it was less than £100 for three including 2 bottles of wine and other drinks. We all had a starter and a main course from the a la carte and we had one portion of cheese and biscuits.
There is no doubt in my mind that I would go back again - well done and thank you Navigator!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

A warm welcome from staff, and shown to our room on the top floor with fantastic views over the sea. Clean room, comfortable bed, tea, coffee and biscuits! Absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel and a well deserved 3 star rating. A friendly atmosphere in the bar and attentive staff. Fabulous cooked breakfast in the morning with what seemed like unlimited orange juice and tea and coffee.
Good location with all attractions within walking distance.
Absolutely no complaints and look forward to returning in two weeks time.

Room Tip: Top floor and sea view was a bonus, cant comment on other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

WOW, I have never experienced such consistent Service and Quality from a Hotel in my life. We had our Staff Christmas party at the Navigator Hotel on December 12th, 2013 and I would not hesitate to recommend their services to all.

The Service and Quality was second to none and it was evident on the evening that the Hotel is well patronised by Party Goers and Locals alike. My sincere thank you to all of the Staff and especially the Head Chef and her Brigade - Well done and many thanks for a great evening, we will return.

Cheers

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swan Guest House
Swan Guest House
#9 of 28 in Bognor Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navigator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navigator Hotel

Property: Navigator Hotel
Address: 13-14 Marine Drive West, Bognor Regis PO21 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Navigator Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Navigator Hotel Incorporating The Navigator Beach House Licensed Hotel 13-14 Marine DriveBognor Regis, West Sussex, The Navigator Hotel is perfectly situated on the seafront at the western end of Bognor Regis with the beach opposite. It is only a ten minute walk to the town centre and the pier along a wide smooth promenade that is suitable for wheelchair use and those with walking difficulties. In the opposite direction, just a two minute walk away, the delightful and renowned Marine Park Gardens are to be found.we welomesingle , couples family or business people .we have a seprate sea view restaurant , bar , patio and clean fresh bedrooms . prices inc cooked breakfast and parking is opposite as the beach is for your enjoyment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Navigator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navigator Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing