We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class base for West Sussex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Llanharan, Wales
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“First class base for West Sussex”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant three nights break at this comfortable and welcoming hotel which is separated from the Bognor seafront by its own extensive lawns.
The staff were excellent, polite and friendly from the desk through to the managers, the waitresses and bar help.
We upgraded to a “superior room” for an extra £10 per night pp (total £40) and it was well worth it. Our room was more of a suite. Two large deep windows looked out to sea with two bucket chairs accommodating a pleasant sit and stare experience. The bedroom recess had a large four poster bed. There was plenty of storage and general space, and the decor was bright and clean. TV, hairdryer, trousers press and tea/coffee were on hand.
The bathroom was also more than adequate with a shower bath and lots of hot water, the shower having plenty of power.
We took the option of advanced payment of £10pp for their evening meal – and it proved particularly good value. Each night there was a new three course menu available. The choices were wide, including a daily special which had to be ordered in the morning (I had a delicious cottage pie one night). There was a tasty roast beef dinner on the Sunday. Vegetarians were also catered for. Bread roll and tea/.coffee were inclusive. It was all waiter served – what an efficient and cheerful team of workers – the delightful Beata was our waitress, scurrying happily from table to table, nothing ever too much trouble. A nice house wine cost £12.85, pint of cider £3.60, Martini £1.60.
The dining room itself was large and more in the style of a banqueting hall in keeping with the hotel’s history. It was quite busy, a regular venue for coach tours, bur there was never any delay and the food was always fresh and appealing.
Breakfast too was waiter served and enjoyed the same qualities as the dinner with a comprehensive choice over several courses.
Slightly restrictive were the hours – 8-9 breakfast (9.30 Sunday), 6-7 dinner.
The bar opened only pre and during dinner, transferring to the entertainment hall thereafter.
We sampled the fare on our last night and had a good time. Ian James was a melodious singer of the Sinatra type but covering a wide range, and was also a comical act – he even called three houses of bingo in hilarious manner. I came back from the toilet at one stage to find he had moved my wife to another table!
If we had any suggestions – and they would in no way suggest dissatisfaction – they would be:
1 In the room glasses instead of the plastic cups from the bathroom, some biscuits in the tea/coffee dish. Also the toilet had limited flush and was slow to fill back up – a nuisance when two people are rushing to get ready.
2 For those not wanting the entertainment, maintaining a bar service in the evening would be welcome, while perhaps mealtimes could be extended.
Bognor itself has miles of bracing seafront promenade but the town itself has pockets badly in need of regeneration. It appeared to be lacking in quality English cuisine restaurants, but if fish and chips or Thai were wanted, there were plenty of outlets. We were glad we took the hotel restaurant option.
Nearby venues worth a visit were Arundel (the caste itself a must) and Chichester (cathedral). Coastally there are many creek and harbour side villages like Pagham where a nature reserve affords walking. Portsmouth and Brighton are also easily accessible.
All in all I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as a first class seaside base from which to explore West Sussex.

Room Tip: Upgrade to "superior" class
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Llanharan_WalesLlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    103
    60
    29
    22
See reviews for
40
161
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was our second stay at the Royal Norfolk. This unpretentious hotel offers excellent value, and the three main essentials:
- Clean, warm and comfortable rooms, with comfortable beds and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space;
- Good fully tiled en-suite facilities including a shower that, despite mildly eccentric plumbing, delivers a generous flow of hot water (a surprisingly rare thing);
- A good breakfast that sets you up for the day.

Add to that a universally friendly and effective team of staff, plenty of parking and a really excellent position on the seafront, and you have the recipe for an enjoyable visit to Bognor Regis.
If you aren’t snobby about a hotel set up for coach parties, and recognise that there will be an element of portion control – albeit quite generous – you can enjoy a competently run establishment offering really good value for money. We had one evening meal in the restaurant, including a beautifully poached pillow of salmon with buttery Hollandaise sauce, which truly matched meals for which I have paid twice or thrice as much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChritaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just returned from a 5 day trip with Alpha to The Royal Norfolk Hotel we can only say this hotel and its staff are excellent.Our sea view room number 12 was very good comfortable bed very nice bathroom with walk in shower and plenty of hot water.The restaurant staff are very good and efficient nothing was to much trouble ,the whole place is very clean and very well managed everyone is friendly and welcoming,we would recommend you try this hotel.,We will be going back soon I hope.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPPERManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed one night and was very impressed with the sea view room large and clean.The food was good value and is reflected in the quality. It appears that this hotel has a large coach clientele which was not a problem for me. Overall room was excellent food needs to be improved but still excellent value

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

speaking to to general manager of hotel to ask if the room we were booking had a shower or bath and he did not know, he was not prepared to find out as their system would not allow it.
we were cross accused of shouting at him when all we wanted to know was if the room had a shower NOT GOING. POSSIBLY HAD A NARROW ESCAPE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teresa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bognor Regis hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I have just returned from a four day weekend break at the Royal Norfolk, courtesy of Leisuretime Travel (South Wales) and it was a very pleasurable experience. We arrived shortly after 5pm on the Friday evening as our coach developed brake problems in Cardiff and we had to wait for a replacement. However, our driver, Keith kept us well informed of the problems, and, in general, was very helpful. My single room, on the first floor, had a comfy bed, decent bathroom space, a flat screen tv with Freeview channels, and the usual tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were more than adequate whilst the evening meals were very tasty and well cooked. The staff, who seemed to be mostly east Europeans were efficient and very friendly. There was a small bar area near reception and a large ballroom. Cabaret was adequate rather than scintilating. All in all, it was a very pleasant weekend and I would certainly stay at this hotel again. The Royal Norfolk is part of the Leisureplex chain of hotels who have similar hotels dotted araounf the British coast and they also seem to have a tie-in with Alfa travel of Chorley. I look forward to staying in one of their other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddersCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I took my mum on her first ever coach holiday with Alfa Travel for her birthday and chose the Royal Norfolk Hotel in Bognor Regis. The feeder coach driver Gary was very pleasant and we was met by our driver for the week Phil at Tamworth Services. We was greeted at the hotel by Lucas and my room was on the 2nd floor facing the sea. My mum was on the 1st floor out looking the sea. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The meals were excellent with plenty of choice and our waitress from Latvia was first class. On my mums birthday the Chef sent out a chocolate birthday cake and the staff sang happy birthday to her. The Bar Manager Amberley was always smiling and very fast serving. The entertainment what I saw was of a good standard. My mum before retirement worked many years in a 5 star hotel and was very surprised to find this hotel only had 2 stars when she felt it should have at least 4 stars. On the Tuesday the coach went to Chichester & Arundel and on Thursday to Portsmouth & Southsea. Overall well worth the money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and Book a sea view and have a room with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midlandsman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
24 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bayshore Hotel
Bayshore Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Navigator Hotel
Navigator Hotel
#8 of 28 in Bognor Regis
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Bognor Regis PO21 2LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Norfolk - Bognor Regis (3 Alpha & AA 3 Star). Situated in a delightfully sunny spot on the sea front with extensive lawns and superb Channel views, this exceptional Georgian building dates from the 1830s and has been visited by the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various descendants of Queen Victoria. It is a short walk from the pier and shops. All 60 bedrooms are centrally heated with private bath or shower and WC, internal telephone, TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is an attractive cocktail bar, a split level restaurant, a relaxing quiet lounge looking out onto the garden and a ballroom with small dance floor. Lift serves most rooms (some rooms accessed via several stairs). Entertainment is provided most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing