We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
IRL UK USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adequate but not amazing”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here as an alternative to butlins, where I was participating in a dancing competition. We found the front desk staff to be very good, check in and out were easy and they were able to answer any questions we had.

We stayed just two nights but our room was adequate. It wasn't particularly spacious, and the rooms could use an update, but the bathroom seemed to be fairly up to date. We could hear some noise from the ballroom downstairs and from the room above us, but otherwise we slept well.

I booked through booking.com, and breakfast was included in the price. We really enjoyed the breakfast as university students! Tea and coffee, juices, a start of fruit, porridge, etc plus a full English breakfast. I thought the food was perfectly acceptable and I'm used to eating in nice restaurants.

As 20 something's we did feel like we were in an early retirement time warp here, but if you're looking for a quiet place to sleep with good value for money, the Royal Norfolk ticks those boxes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AngloIrishUSAFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    107
    65
    29
    24
See reviews for
41
172
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Tired and cranky, we limped into the Royal Norfolk Hotel after driving for far too long in one day. It seemed a better choice than the Butlins Wave Hotel, as we had heard too many stories about the Butlins holiday camps of old, where group participation activities and loudly broadcast fun were mandatory.

The tour buses parked outside caused us a little apprehension, but we were too tired to be picky. On preliminary inspection, our seaview double room, the best offered by that hostelry, was spacious. However, it proved to be located directly above the ballroom, into which the two busloads of old people retired immediately after dinner for the Entertainment Night.

The dining room, filled with OAPs who had obviously stayed at the Royal Norfolk many times before, gave us a foretaste of life in a retirement village or nursing home. We chose our dinner as carefully as possible, within considered bounds of damage control. My tomato and basil soup owed its provenance to some unidentifiable source: a tin to be sure, hence the gloopiness and brownish hue, but why the skerricks of carrot? The cold ham salad was a blessing, utterly predictable, slices of cold home baked gammon (delicious!) and other identifiable bits and pieces. Pudding was also reasonable, a scoop of prettily furled vanilla ice cream with five sliced rounds of banana hidden beneath and a squish of caramel sauce on whipped and extruded cream. The few small pieces of crunchy matter had me puzzled until I remembered the meringue, as in banana meringue ice cream split. The more substantial pieces had obviously been an earlier reward for the old folks’ getting in first – and good luck to them!

Dinner finished promptly at 7.30 pm, when most of the diners toddled off to the ballroom for an evening’s fun of bingo, followed by live entertainment. The evening’s entertainer sang all the old favourites, to a spontaneous chorus of accompanists. In response to the repeated calls for “encore”, the gig finally packed up around midnight. We vicariously shared the whole event from our bedroom directly overhead.

Our double bed proved to be very comfortable and we slept – eventually – very well.

Breakfast was a setback of another order. Let’s just say that it is not right to assume that porridge is always a reliable choice. It was a grey, gloopy thick paste that resembled nothing like oatmeal in taste or texture.

We reflected grimly that this introduction to geriatric food would help keep us on the fit and empowered side of lifestyles for as long as we could sustain and well into our twilight years.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bognor Regis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hinckley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were on a break with Alfa Travel (our first coach trip) which we really enjoyed. Met some lovely people. The hotel was really good - our only criticism is that the food portions were a bit on the small size. The hotel is in a very good location but there isn't a lot to do in Bognor itself.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front overlooking the sea-front which was very good. It was very spacious with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikey_MikeHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

just done 5days at royal norfolk hotel,i love this hotel always warm friendly welcome.rooms very clean,food ok,staff ok hotel warm yes floors creak but so what.not alot to do in town but nice break as long as weather is good.hotel in own grounds quiet at night,walk out of grounds over road and on beach.

Room Tip: i think 2nd floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lin14-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I've stayed with a party of guests at the Royal Norfolk over the Goodwood Revival w/e for a number of years. The hotel has a fine location overlooking the sea and is well placed for getting to and from the circuit. It's a comfortable hotel with friendly and efficient staff. The food is good and honest. It's a two star hotel and I believe represents good value for money. My thanks to Peter and his team for another pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Murcia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Sorry it was rubbish such a shame that a good looking hotel should be treated like this do not stay there

The food was school diners the chief special was cottage pie sponge and custard for the independent traveller this was not what you expect I was so dissapointed I lived in bognor for years and said one day I will stay there a childhood dream turned bad. The bed was so uncomfortable my daughter slept on the floor the room was clean. I also worked out we paid more than the coach tours one night with dinner 140.00 for one double room not quite what I expected to pay for a 2 star hotel I would have been better at the premier inn down the road which I understand is good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Nice old victorian hotel brought up to date sympathetically. Staff pleasant and helpfull. Great location on the quiet end of the sea front. Good parking. Good bed and well up to standard for a couple of nights. the breakfast was very good and plenty of choice.

My only concern was the water was tepid at best and breakfast/meals times were a bit regimented to say the least. Other than that. Very good.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nedseagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
1.1 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,005 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Norfolk Hotel

Property: The Royal Norfolk Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Bognor Regis PO21 2LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Norfolk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Norfolk - Bognor Regis (3 Alpha & AA 3 Star). Situated in a delightfully sunny spot on the sea front with extensive lawns and superb Channel views, this exceptional Georgian building dates from the 1830s and has been visited by the Emperor Napoleon III of France and various descendants of Queen Victoria. It is a short walk from the pier and shops. All 60 bedrooms are centrally heated with private bath or shower and WC, internal telephone, TV, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. There is an attractive cocktail bar, a split level restaurant, a relaxing quiet lounge looking out onto the garden and a ballroom with small dance floor. Lift serves most rooms (some rooms accessed via several stairs). Entertainment is provided most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing