We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Guest House
Ranked #9 of 28 Bognor Regis B&B and Inns
Watford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Lovely Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed at the Swan Guest House with my granddaughter for a midweek break, and found it all as said on Trip Advisor. A lovely welcome from Sandra and our room was spotless, and the beds comfortable with a great breakfast. The only criticism I have is that when paying extra for an en suite room I did expect this to include our own loo and not just a shower. It didn't cause a problem as the loos were literally across the corridor from our room, but I did object just a tad for paying extra for a shower and not full en suite. Having said that we would quite happily return the the Swan as the location was perfect with eating places within walking distance in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
36
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel/inn/B&B is run by two fantastic people. I arrived quite late the first night (9:50pm) and immediately noticed a sign on the front door: "don't bother our guests unless you have a confirmed reservation". I had one but hesitated, expecting someone to answer the door angrily. This couldn't be further from the truth! Sandra answered the door, smiling. With not a word about my arriving so late, she showed me to my room. What a friendly and warm welcome! She made me feel right at home. The room was VERY comfortable. I had a single room right beside the bathroom; but I heard no noise through the walls. The bathrooms are shared; but there was never a wait to use them.
The beds are very comfortable and the rooms have everything you could want! The bedside table's drawer was stocked with some paperbacks. The tea/coffee making facilites were excellent. You get plush bath and hand towels to use, as well as a bathrobe! (I could see this being useful in the wintertime.)
Breakfast...Tony (the other hotel owner) is a GREAT cook, and he's super-friendly, like Sandra. I had a full English the first day, and it was a delicious choice. I highly recommend the haddock/horseradish fish cakes. Being not a fan of fish or horseradish, these were a delicious surprise! If you choose these fish-cakes, you will have the tastiest breakfast imaginable!!
The hotel itself is about a 15-20 minute walk from the train station; Bognor Regis is a great jumping-off point for exploring England's south coast.
You won't be disappointed choosing the Swan Guest House!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Fantastic hotel / B&B. Large clean rooms. Great breakfast. Good local knowledge. 1 minute away from the seafront and 10 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwalker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Lovely guest house, well run. Close to local amenities, restaurants nearby, would highly recommend staying here, business or pleasure, owners friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts! Would definitely consider booking again with my family next time for a short holiday break. Lots to see nearby.

Andy, Nottingham

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyjorowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

Sandra Pascall gave us a warm welcome on our arrival and was there for us if we needed anything more than what was already provided.
Extremely well set up and managed 'home from home' residence.
Thank you for an all too short stay.

June and Brian of Felbridge

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisEastGrinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Great rooms (I stayed in a single and a double), very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic: highly recommend the smoked haddock fish cake and poached egg.

Short walk to shops and beach.........perfect !

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DharmeshMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

My husband and I were given Room 5 which was big and clean with a spare (single) bed, handy for putting all our stuff on! Everything was great except the bed - so uncomfortable on one side (the one nearest the door) my husband couldn't get to sleep he kept sliding off! So we swapped and I could hardly sleep on that side too. Shame as everything else - especially the fishcake and home-made jam at breakfast - was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sauzie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fruity2741, Owner at Swan Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2010
Hi there and thankyou for taking the time to write a review. We have investigated your comments and have now ordered a brand new mattress for room 5. We have an ongoing replacement policy for all our beds,bedding etc and room 5 was close to its review time. We do appologise for the inconvenience and appreciate these constructive comments, as without them we cannot improve.Thankyou once again and we are glad that everything else was to your satisfaction.Hope to see you again in the future, Sandra and Tony Pascall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
5.4 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Navigator Hotel
Navigator Hotel
#7 of 28 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Guest House

Property: Swan Guest House
Address: 17 Nyewood Lane, Bognor Regis PO21 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bognor Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Swan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Guest House Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing