We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic friendly service”
Review of The Hickstead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hickstead
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolney
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for one night on the valentine package. Although the hotel is dated the food and service more than made up for this. Fantastic hot shower to. Thanks for the lovely biscuits which were a nice touch. Staff seemed to genuinely want to give a good service. Breakfast was well cooked and had all you would want.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We arrived to be welcomed very warmly, our room was very comfortable and very clean. We went down to start our stay with a lovely gin and tonic in the lounge very nice, then relaxed changed for dinner we had lovely canapes and a glass of champagne we were then showed to our table in the very nicely set up dining room, we were asked on sitting down if we wanted water, but no wine list offered I think that is one thing that might be addressed as our starter arrived and we had to ask for the wine list also other tables had been offered bread but we had to ask, just little things but could easily be addressed the food and the staff were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed. We then had a few drinks in the lounge, then off to bed. Good nights sleep very comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We went back for another cream tea this week and loved it. The portions are very generous - a substantially sized scone, cream eclair, meringue, cookie, slab of lemon drizzle each plus cream, jam, sandwiches and tea or coffee. They were happy to provide vegetarian sandwiches and kindly checked which fillings I would like before making them.
My companion was very happy as they made him some extra sarnies and coffee served with a smile as he liked them so much.
Had to take leftovers home to enjoy later.
A real hidden gem - go and try it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skippy992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Came on a Valentine's night special. Had a great Four course meal. Excellent food and excellent service just like you get at reception or at the bar. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet an excellent retreat after a good evening's meal! This is the second time we have come here so it must be good!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel at around 8 15pm on valentines day for a romantic night away. We were called at mid day to be told there were no tables left in their bistro, but when we asked were told room service was available still (perfect)! We settled down in our room had a look at the menu and decided we would have a quick bath then order some food. The bathroom was okay but their is rust on the wall and the soap holders which is pretty grim also chips in the bath.

We got out the bath and called room service to order, we were at this point told we couldn't order any hot food as it was past 9pm.. I looked at my watch 9.02pm.

As someone paying for a service I would expect better than this, especially as the restaurant was full and there are no other options to dine out at this time.

The only other thing that slightly annoyed us was that the bed was on wheels. Not great for a "romantic" night away, but this actually became quite amusing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amy1731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

my wife and I really enjoyed an overnight stay
although it was rather quiet

we had a good meal but were the only poeple in the dining room
the service was excellent

the breakfast was also good

a shame more people didn't find it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2590861Davidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our party of 7 had a very enjoyable and memorable celebration with five course meal and excellent waiter service throughout our stay. The resident DJ was very personable and gelled well with the guests. The quiz played at the end of dinner and prior to the dancing starting was pitched well, and his delivery of it was fun for all. Food was excellent and presented well and speedily. We found all the staff really pleasant and more than willing to help. We would definitely recommend this venue for any such celebration. Found breakfast a little chaotic due to lack of seating as all guests had decided to descend at the same time, but again, the staff dealt with this situation professionally. Our bill on departure was wrong with items charged that we hadn't had, however reception rectified without question.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4791HRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickstead, General Manager at The Hickstead, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Celebration with us at the Hickstead Hotel and that you had good food and service .

We look forward to welcoming you and your party back next year or maybe for a brek later in the summer

Kind Regards

Giles Paul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolney
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
433 reviews
2 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
393 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hickstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hickstead

Address: Jobs Lane, Bolney RH17 5NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Bolney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bolney
Price Range: £80 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hickstead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hickstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hickstead Hotel Hickstead
The Hotel Hickstead
The Hickstead Bolney, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing