We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bailiffscourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is a jewel of a property with five star potential and facilities, currently functioning on less than full power. Positives are the site (a unique piece of English countryside set close to the sea), the property ( a collection of re-built and re-located old English houses and a superbly equipped spa carefully designed to complement the style of the rest) and ambience (medieval in the main building and not so olde English elsewhere). The negatives are poor organization and administration - telephone answering is unskilled and problematic (why no recoreded messaging service?); return call promises are not always kept (we actually abandoned one attempt to organize a function here) and, while there's no apparent shortage of staff, they are mostly untrained and unskilled everywhere (and, in the restaurant, at dinner time actually required a personal initiative to kick start the ordering and following service action). Rooms are 'very English' eg the complimentary tea and shortbread biscuits (positive), matresses, plumbing and television channel selection (negative). All in all, an institution with five star potential at the highest international level, currently functioning as three and priced as four. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
I have already contacted this guest directly as it would be helpful to have more details to fully understand their comments and where we have gone wrong. We do pride ourselves on being efficient and providing a good service which is the keystone to our success, but we appear to have missed the mark on this occasion - We will be endeavouring to do better -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    233
    111
    51
    26
See reviews for
175
538
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

A group of four adults, we had a really relaxing break at Bailiffscourt. The rooms were extremely comfortable, the food excellent and the staff, very friendly. As at our previous visit, we especially enjoyed the spa where the staff are always very helpful and professional.

Room Tip: We had pleasant rooms in different buildings but think that the 'mediaeval' rooms are more a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHEYENNE8Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

If George Orwell had written about his fantasy hotel, it would be Bailiffscourt. If you are anywhere in Sussex you should visit, whether for a drink, lunch, tea, dinner or overnight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was worried that the poor attituide of the 'wedding organiser' and the various admin issues might impact on how we were treated once we arrived but everything was fine. It was interesting to hear from the bride and groom that they also found her inflexible and a bit cheeky but we didnt tell them the problems we had. The staff we met were lovely - it would have been nice to have been able to make use of a room to change in (wedding at 2 but rooms not avail until 3 o clock) so i had to change/make up/ plug hair straightener in the very busy loo (they offered the spa but I was struggling with bad back and didnt want to carry everything that far and risk steam in my hair) .

The venue is gorgeous and so unusual - we were lucky as the weather was perfect and we had the afternoon in the rose garden - it was a classic,still English day. The wedding breakfast was lovely and the actual breakfast all you could ask for (and best of all - served till 10 - far more civilised than most).

Not quite sure what sort of 3 star hotels they have in Guildford (last review) but Bailiffscourt def 5 star in style/service/decor etc. Its not a mega/corporate style glossy impersonal 5 star - but a fab 'one off'. We were in one of the more modern rooms seperate from the main building - immaculate - huge 'suite' style room - heated floor in bathroom - lovely touches - home made bikkies and unusually - plenty of tea/milk available for those like us who cant wait until breakfast.

I can see that the dining room is a bit formal and quiet and may put poeple off but I woudlnt intimidate me.

We will come back again - though i will try and get a deal as the room rate is high - we were pleasantly suprised when we got the bar bill tho as it was far less than we expected .

Would make a lovely wedding/romantic break - not a place for small children - and all the better for that!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lellybellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Went for a one night spa break with friends & it was perfect from start to finish. The spa was divine, lovely staff & facilities were good. Even braved the chilly weather & swam in the outdoor pool! Had the Turkish Delight treatment which was fantastic. The only thing that perhaps gave me slight stress was the changing room facilities - as its a members club too, it gets busy so the changing rooms get a bit frantic as its too small in my opinion.
In the evening they had a fish & wine evening, both food & wine were fabulous. Staff at the hotel are friendly, service is excellent & they didn't hold back on the wine either!
The rooms are wonderful, both traditional & contemporary & very comfortable. They even allow you to bring your dogs which I think is unusual for a hotel of this quality. All in all, I will definitely be going back!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarenCT5Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel. The first time we stayed in the main hotel, but this time I asked for one of the 'modern' rooms which are a short walk from the hotel. The room was very nice, but we completely failed to managed to understand how the heating worked, it seemed over complicated and we just gave up. Bedroom was nice an roomy and the bath and shower were excellent.

Now for the minor moans:

The service is fine, but it feels a bit 'false', some of the staff looked rushed and harassed whilst others were a bit disinterested.

We sat in the bar with a drink whilst we ordered our dinner and after about 10 mins they told us our table was ready. We quickly finished our drinks (no Tanqueray gin available though!), and went to our table. However we then sat there for about 10 mins before the bread basket appeared and another 5 mins before the starters arrived. Not sure why they pulled us out of the bar when nothing was ready? Service was very slow and a bit chaotic, friendly but you got the impression that some of the waitresses were out of their depth. It was a long wait between courses and needed a bit of prompting to move it along, bringing extra water, dessert menus etc.

We did have a fantastic deal from their mailing list (worth signing up for) so to be honest I wasn't too bothered but if I'd paid full price I would have been less happy.

One final grump, can the hotel tidy up the path down to the sea? It was overgrown with lots of rubbish and the hotel had dumped a load of tree prunings in the stream (not a good advertisement)...

...and stock Tanqueray please :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_hoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I should be amazed at the positive feedback, but sadly it’s no surprise that this is still the way it is in this country and nothing will improve. In essence, this is a 3-star hotel at 5-star prices: great! The beds are small and worn with blankets rather than duvets – a nice seventies touch – and the food is mediocre. The very limited and tired ‘spa’ area is a children’s playground; not a place for adults to relax in. Our stay was over a month ago and it still rankles.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank KWA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.7 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
14.0 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Property: Bailiffscourt Hotel
Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing