We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for one night based on the TA reviews and memories of a business stay a number of years ago.
Our overall impression is of slight disappointment, partly influenced by the foul weather that accompanied our stay. However this also highlighted one of the disadvantages of staying in the hotel which comprises a number of buildings spread around the grounds. Whilst the buildings add a
lot of character, this is poor compensation when walking along footpaths in the dark in pouring rain and strong winds, whilst making your way from your room to the hotel restaurant, bar or spa.The plentiful supply of hotel umbrellas did not protect shoes and clothes from the the forces of the elements.
Our room was very comfortable and warm with a large comfortable bed and nice ensuite bathroom, although this was in need of a bit of TLC. The hotel spa was very good and well managed, although we both found our lower level lockers difficult to use. However this was a small issue compared to the excellent massage we received on the warm, water bed tables. This was a first for me and was really outstanding experience.
We both found dinner a disappointment. We had the Tasting Menu which from memory had a £60 price tag. Frankly the only memorable course was the soufflé which was part of the selection of deserts, with my tomato starter particularly disappointing and lacking in taste. Our other negative comment concerns the restaurant staff who were very young, inexperienced, and from other countries speaking very limited English. This led to a number of misunderstandings with guests during the meal serving which whilst somewhat amusing was very unprofessional for a hotel and restaurant of this standing.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Spencer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed for one night only as we were checking nearby hotels to Goodwood as our daughter is getting married there next year. Staff friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble. Our room was upgraded when we arrived which was lovely. The grounds were pretty even though it was raining heavily. Would recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: If possible chose a room in the main complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at Bailiffscourt last week. It is rated as a 3 star property - ridiculous! This is 5 star in every way I can describe - the service, the property, the cleanliness, the staff, the food, the rooms, the decor, the ambience, the spa, the outdoor and indoor pools, the outdoor hot tub, games and the grounds.

The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly, the restaurant staff were delightful and the night porter was extremely pleasant and helpful.

All the rooms are really quite different, therefore, when booking do some research as to what type of room you would. Personally, I thought all of the rooms were absolutely lovely and we would be happy to have one of the modern rooms or one of the more quaint old fashioned rooms (that we stayed in).

My fiance and I could not fault anything and can't wait to return.

Thank you for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A perfect stay in this characterful hotel.
Good sized room in the main house, wonderful dinner in atmospheric dining room, great spa pools, attentive staff without the grovelling, and I thought very good value. The dinner was certainly worth £50 per head and the breakfast was very good. Bracing walks along the shingle beach 200 m away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having stayed at this Hotel on two occasions, Goodwood Festival of Speed & Goodwood Revival,
Chris & his team looked after our guest's to the very highest standards.
Frank & Robert were really outstanding, Well done, looking forward to 2014 .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I took my partner here for an overnight stay as a surprise birthday present and we were both completely delighted with the experience. From the moment we checked in and the young lady at reception took the time and trouble to give us a guided tour of the key features of the hotel and grounds, the standard of service everywhere was excellent.
I booked the signature room - Baylies - and this was completely fabulous in all respects. Highly recommended.
The whole place exudes calm and peaceful tranquillity. We took lunch outside in the very relaxing rose garden with lovely expansive views.
The unspoilt beach is a five minute stroll away.
The spa facilities are extensive. Swimming in a heated, outdoor swimming pool in October was a treat we hadn't expected (there's an indoor pool too). Pool a good size, plus there's a hot tub to enjoy as well. We both had a spa treatment and agreed the standard and professionalism of our respective masseuse was exceptionally high.
Dinner (and breakfast) served in the wonderful, atmospheric Tapestry restaurant. Good choice of menus available and the food is cooked to a high standard. Comprehensive wine list available too.
The best stay in a UK hotel either of us has ever enjoyed. Made my partner's birthday truly memorable.

Room Tip: Baylies was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S1mpleM1nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed here many years ago, hence our want to return.
The hotel 'supplier' we used reserved us a single room, albeit the hotel does not have single rooms. Our bed was the tiniest double bed we have come across in all our 36 years of marriage.
The staff were excellent as was the breakfast.
Location and setting wonderful.

Room Tip: Please ask what size the bed is??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,152 reviews
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,671 reviews
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: £239 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing