We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Gorgeous place, beautiful spa with indoor and outdoor pools, fabulous food and wine, friendly staff, roaring fire, board games, short walk from the sea...it was really hard to fault.
Although it doesn't give the appearance of being kid-friendly at first glance, we took our baby, cot provided, high chair, and family swim times in the spa made it easy.
Will definitely be returning (when the weather is more conducive to strolling on the beach).
Surely that's enough for you TripAdvisor? Why do you insist on 200+ characters? Less is sometimes more when you're reading reviews that are unnecessarily lengthy, no?




Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank hemmsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

My Christmas present in 2013 from my wife was a candlelit dinner at the Bailiff's Court. On making the booking I was impressed when asked if we had ant food allergies, which I had (the herb rosemary).

Arriving for the dinner yesterday evening we were politely welcomed and shown to our table. The dining room is 'old wor'd' as you would expect, candlelit tables and very dim lighting. If there was one downside it was rather difficult to read the menu if you were not next to the candle.

Service was excellent as was the food and the whole ambience.

Having the rosemary allergy I asked the waitress if the lamb dish for main course had come into contact with the herb. She promptly checked and said it would be rosemary free. Success one of the few dining establishments where I can successfully order lamb.

A couple of minutes later the Restaurant Manager came to the table to inform us they were aware of my allergy and the chef was making doubly sure that the lamb and any accompaniments prepared for me would be completely rosemary free. Customer satisfaction and reassurance indeed.

All in all most enjoyable. But of course in an establishment such as this there is a price to pay. 3 course meal for 2, 2 glasses of wine and 2 soft drinks £118. Not a place tI would dine weekly or monthly but for a special occasion, yes.

On parking the car at the front of the hotel it was strange to see a warning sign advising peacocks perched in the trees.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenager65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed on night here fora relaxing get-away-from it-all break. The location is lovely, very close to the beach which is sandy when the tide is out and in quiet countryside. We were upgraded into a room with a four poster bed and an open fire in the room which was full of character and quiet. The spa is beautifully designed with indoor and outdoor (heated) pools, sauna, steam room, small gym and massage available. If you go for a night, you can spend a full 2 days in the spa which is a great perk.
The dinner in the restaurant was good but not excellent, and as vegetarians, we had no choice of what to eat for the main course. The wines were very good. Breakfast was good. The service was friendly but a little amateurish as if many of the staff had only been there a few weeks. The head honchos were much more slick and professional.
We got a reduced price for mid week in January which was a significant reduction. Without this reduction, it would have been extremely expensive and the restaurant would have needed to up its game to justify that price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groucho007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Not my first stay here. A large group of us stayed here with children and enjoyed a great party atmosphere, delicious food and excellent wine. The tariff of £300 a head B&B and Dinner seemed a bit stiff but they hadn't explained that the great wines and Gosset champagne on tap were included in the deal. In the end it seemed great value and the indoor and outdoor spa was a hit with the kids and adults alike. Horrendous weather meant that staying in the cottage rooms was a bit fraught but I believe that the key is to know which room to book as they vary a lot, our modern room was very spacious with double basins, walk in shower and bath. Staff a bit confused as the hotel was full and some language problems seemed to hinder the otherwose very good service. Extra bed for child was easily accommodated. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annastylewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here with my husband as he had booked it up for a birthday treat. The hotel is 'mock medieval' and it truly feels like you're staying in a castle. Lots of cosy, colourful lounges with a choice of comfy chairs (my only comment would be possibly providing some gentle background music, as it is SO quiet you don't feel you can speak!) The breakfast was good choice, with cereals, cold meats etc before you tuck into a proper english breakfast. We also had dinner here on Friday night and the menu was extensive and delicious. Service was attentive and everyone was very polite. There is no 'bar' to speak of within the hotel lounges, but there are a couple of waiters who ask if you need anything and the reception girls were helpful, so you can still order a drink. Quite a few people seemed to go for the afternoon tea. We stayed in the Arondell room in the main house, which kept to the medieval theme and had an open fire which we used one night and was wonderful. We also used the spa which was lovely. The pool, sauna/steam and jacuzzi were all great. It got busy on Saturday night but on the whole was relaxing. My husband and I both had two treatments which were carried out professionally and brilliantly (with gowns and flip flops provided). It was very rainy and windy so we didn't get an opportunity to walk around the grounds to have a good look around, or down to Climping beach, but it seems like a beautiful place and a bit different to any hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: There is a games room in the basement if you fancy pool or darts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CClarke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a lovely few days, in one of the contemporary rooms, albeit the weather was atrocious! Very friendly and helpful staff. Spa was very good and relaxing. Great food in the restaurant although I felt the price was a bit steep for 3 course dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here for our first anniversary. The spa facilities were older full and the hotel is lovely. Great courtyard for drinks and snacks! The hotel looks brilliant and offers a surprise when you find out the history! We were disappointed with the food in the restaurant but the ambience in the hotel is so special I would recommend staying here and travelling to eat locally.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natasha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
333 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,119 reviews
12.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: £241 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing