We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The location of the place was ideal. We enjoyed the food, walking and the spa. Our room was in the main building it was warm (perhaps a bit to warm!). The bathroom was excellent. The bath being deep and large and a great walk in shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lovely location, near the beach, places to walk and amazing collection of historic buildings, apparently brought onto the Estate by the Guinness family. There is an excellent Spa which we didn't use but, some of the party did.The main building is a really beautiful medieval manor, with lots of small rooms, places to hide and read or take coffee. We had a family event and there is a large room that is used for this. The food was excellent, albeit the service was a little slow but very well meaning. The accommodation is excellent. We were out in one of the new buildings. The bed was comfy, bathroom excellent but thankfully we didn't need the air conditioner as it was very noisy.Loved the screens which slide across the windows in lieu of curtains.A great time was had by all!

Room Tip: Depends on whether you want quaint or modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. Last time we stayed in the main house in a four poster room but we found it a little cold and small. This time, we stayed in a modern room and loved it. There was lots of room, the bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious. Beautiful views from the windows, home-made biscuits in the room, peaceful... No complaints.
The grounds are stunning and the Spa was lovely. I had a fantastic hour long massage. Dinner was delicious and my husband and I always enjoy the various lounges to sit in before and after dinner. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Strakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Bailiffscourt: an intriguing collection of medieval buildings, a wonderful and friendly hotel with a great modern spa. It is right by the sea with a great place to run along for those intererested in fitness. The service was friendly and unobtrusive. The room was great - along a higgledy piggledy hallway had very modern bathroom with a large shower and a separate freestanding bath. Food was ambitious and well-executed - good evidence of foie gras throughout. Wine list eclectic, but very short on New World, ome Aussie white, one Aussie red? Come on that is a joke! Brill for couples. The spa was beautiful - swimming in the modern outside pool in March with the sun on your face was special. Treatments were excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interestedingoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wonderful friends arranged a surprise trip here last weekend for my hen do and they couldn't have chosen somewhere more perfect.

The hotel, made up of a beautiful cluster of charming period buildings, surrounded by a blanket of daffodils, was completely idyllic. The bedrooms not only looked great but were extremely comfortable to sleep in, with enormous soft pillows and duvets.

The spa was luxurious with a great choice of facilities and wonderful attention to detail throughout. It was a shame that the outdoor pool wasn't working, but we were spoiled by the warmest weekend of the year and were able to make full use of the outdoor hot tub and comfortable sun loungers. The proximity to the beach was fantastic too, and allowed us to enjoy a picnic lunch there in complete solitude.

We had a wonderful private dining room for breakfast and dinner and the food and drink was all delicious.

The staff deserve a special mention - they were all so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we were all having a great time.

I've been fortunate enough to visit a few different spas and this is the best I've been to by a long way. It deserves five stars and I can't recommend it enough.

Many thanks to all at Baillifscourt for such a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is beautifully recreated in the style of a small medieval village, but has all the comfort of a cosy and modern facility including good food, complimentary wi fi, free view TV, access to a spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and sauna...beautiful grounds, friendly staff, alongside a quiet beach via a short walk through the beautiful grounds.
Additionally the hotel is dog-friendly, with peacocks roaming the gardens, rabbits in the adjacent fields, a real haven for nature lovers....
On arrival we were given an unsolicited upgrade as it was a quiet time, and staff member Theresa was so friendly and helpful making us feel extremely welcome including Hector our Scottish terrier who was given his own water bowl, a bonio biscuit, an envelope of doggie bags, and a menu of treats....Really good service for all dog owners and non dog owners alike...I have to recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay on the south coast, visit the downs or the beaches, Arundel with its gothic style castle and cathedral...Feltham ...where the poet and painter William Blake lived....so much to see..even Littlehampton or Worthing for typical english sea side..

Room Tip: We didn't see all the rooms but ours was lovely....Clean, cosy, nice en suite, complimentary toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlynisL348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just returned from the most amazing hen party weekend for my daughter at this hotel. I swear they have their own micro climate as it is my 2nd visit out of season and glorious weather both times! Sunday was spent, firstly with a picnic on the beach (5 min walk), following by such a relaxed time in hot tub, sauna, steam room or relaxing on giant bean bag loungers. The bedrooms were all beautiful and the bathrooms spacious and modern with a lovely shower. Wandering in the grounds and watching the sunset was magical. Then into dinner where our party of 11 had a private dining room where we were treated so well and the food was lovely. Breakfast the next morning also delicious - not a warm buffet table in sight - all freshly cooked. Then back to more lounging in the spa and soaking up the sun. The customer service from the moment I made the booking to the moment we left was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble. Value for money is great bearing in mind you can spend two full days at the Spa if you wish, even though check in isn't until 3 pm and check out 11 am.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,664 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,135 reviews
4.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range: £241 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing