We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“service disappointing”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I went for a night for dinner, bed and breakfast. The place is fabulous and our room was gorgeous. The spa facilities were wonderful and we swam outside and then relaxed on sun loungers whilst having a cream tea.
However the service in the restaurant was appalling. We waited 30 minutes for our main course and I had to ask a waiter to remove our dirty dishes.
Breakfast was even worse. We waited so long for our cooked breakfast, and when my husband lost his rag and demanded to know where it was, our breakfast arrived over cooked and dried up. Again, I had to ask for our dirty dishes to be removed. This is completely unacceptable for a hotel that is very expensive. We don't mind paying, but you don't expect very poor service. It spoilt the experience for us.

Room Tip: Our room, 'Arondelle' was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your room, the spa and hotel’s general ambiance during your recent stay. Thank you for bringing the service issues to my attention. All of us here are very sorry for the shortcomings you experienced - and disappointed we weren’t able to offer you the high standards of service we normally provide. If you would like to discuss any of this with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to find out more detail about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    239
    113
    54
    26
See reviews for
179
552
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked the hotel as it was my husbands birthday and mine a few days later expecting a wonderful time for the money we had paid 5 months in advance in full, but we were very disappointed. The service was ok nothing special same with food. The room was lovely but our bathroom tap the pressure was low we did report it to the reception they looked into it but no action was taken The gardens and ground were superb we enjoyed the chapel. We will not be going back. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacqueline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAlger, General Manager at Bailiffscourt Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We appreciate the feedback and we do apologise as we should have updated you with regards to the water pressure. With 39 rooms across 7 different buildings, the water pressure can and does vary, however we do find it is generally acceptable in all rooms and we ensure that our maintenance team regularly checks the plumbing throughout the hotel and fixes any issues as soon as they are detected. However, we are sorry that you did not find this to be so with the bathroom tap in your room during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The issue was the service. Everyone was very nice, super polite, and really exuded an air of general goodness but food service was patchy. We had to wait over an hour for 3 sandwiches, a salad and 2 kids meals, and the order was wrong in any case! Dinner service was slow, perhaps because our party (4 adults, 2 children and 2 babies) were put in the conservatory, away from the main guests. Not that bad as it meant the kids could play.

Food wasn't bad, but not great. Soufflé was eggy and runny. Don't order the waffles for breakfast (£2.50 supplement) as it is so incredibly sweet, with hard nuggets of even more sugar.

We were in Greenways, a nice room, large enough for a sofabed for the girls and cot for the baby but it was up a tiny flight of stairs. Our bed was a bit saggy though, giving us sore backs after 2 nights. My sister, husband and baby were given the hottest room above the conservatory. They had to move rooms as even the fan was just moving hot air around.

Overall, a lovely stay but check your room fits your requirements and remember you may need to ask more than once for food!

Would probably return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0YM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Like many others who have reviewed Bailiffscourt, we found the hotel to be very special. The setting is so tranquil, just sitting in the garden with a glass of wine admiring the gorgeous view is enough to soothe ones’ spirit. We too found the staff to be quite delightful.....the restaurant was extremely busy for Sunday lunch and consequently the staff were more than a little stretched, but they were charming and rose to the challenge that this glorious sunny day presented.
However, there were a couple of blots on what was very nearly an outstanding stay....we stayed in one of the traditional rooms and whilst the room was spacious and the bathroom enormous it was evident that the fireplace had been recently used as the room smelt so strongly of burnt smoke and unfortunately both my husband and I found the bed terribly uncomfortable. I planned to speak with the reception on checkout to enquire whether the contemporary rooms had different beds, as we fully intended to make a reservation to stay again later this summer if they do. However, we then encountered a problem at the pool which, sadly, made us reconsider.
The hotel operates a very restrictive policy regarding swimming hours for children; 10:00 to 11:00 and 3:30 to 5:00. Our daughter, like many young people, loves to swim....it’s one of the most special things for her about staying away. I understand that balancing the needs of adults and children can be a tricky business for a hotel of this nature, but if you welcome families I truly feel this level of restriction needs to be reconsidered.
Our daughter enjoyed her swim in the beautiful outdoor pool that is heated to a wonderful temperature, she vacated the pool without fuss at 5 p.m. and came and quietly sat with us on a sun lounger drying off.
We were perturbed when a few minutes later a member of staff came over and informed us that our daughter was not allowed to sit on the sun loungers and must vacate the pool area. This, to us, was a step too far....if children are boisterously playing disturbing other guests that is one thing, but not permitted to quietly sit with her parents on a sun lounger? This really did mar our experience, which is a real shame.
We also consider that a check-in time of 3:00 p.m. and check-out of 11:00 a.m. is just, again, pushing things too far as a policy....this was far from a cheap night’s stay, we certainly didn’t want to be rushing. This said, when we called to request a late checkout, the staff were very accommodating and confirmed we could stay in the room until 12:30 and the staff were aware that we needed to leave for a wedding at 3:00 p.m. on the day of check-in so proactively arranged an early check-in for us.....lovely service but why irritate your clients with seemingly unreasonable times in the first place?

Room Tip: We found our bed in a traditional room uncomfortable.....maybe the contemporary rooms are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SLHM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arriving at this beautiful hotel can be a little disconcerting. First you are greeted by a Frenchman in a kilt who seems to have wandered off the set of Four Weddings. Then you see a sign warning you of the hazard of peacocks roosting in the trees. Most disturbingly, there's the sight of the other guests padding across the lawns in their white bathrobes and sun glasses. You begin to wonder if you have blundered into an asylum for the affluent and slightly overweight. But after a while it begins to make sense. There's tea and crumbly scones in the medieval courtyard; a gentle stroll thought the fields to an unspoilt beach; and a glass of Sussex sparkling wine in a perfectly manicured rose garden. It turns out the Frenchman has ten of those kilts. All is well. It is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Avoid Outwardes which is troubled by the noise of the kitchen extractor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOndon, UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked a last minute weekend break. Chose Climping as had many happy memories and wanted to go to the beach. This hotel is a real treat - 5 mins to the beach via private path. Everything from the reception staff to the restaurant team and management were friendly and keen to help - we asked for packed lunch - no problem. Food was excellent - had both breakfast and dinners. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Indoor and outdoor pools and spa facilities are a very high standard.Definitely recommend this for a relaxing break. Look out for the resident peacocks and friendly kilt-wearing French manager.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel building is magical, decor beautiful, the staff can't do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Charm personified. Our room with twin four poster beds was just gorgeous, complete with homemade biscuits on arrival. The food at dinner and breakfast was very interesting and delicious. The spa pools and hot tubs are housed in a lovely building a short stroll from the hotel itself. One can have food and drinks served there. This place is let down by the treatments. I have been to many 5 star spas and this is the only one where I have had a poor massage. As it is all very expensive this is unacceptable. The masseuse grabbed the tip I offered purely out of politeness, without even a thank-you! Spa, get your act together and don't drag down this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Climping
23.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,962 reviews
4.8 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailiffscourt Hotel

Property: Bailiffscourt Hotel
Address: Climping Street, Climping BN17 5RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Climping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Climping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailiffscourt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bailiffscourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailiffscourt Hotel Climping, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing