We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£345
Fully refundable before Mon, 26 Feb
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£345
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£345
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,572)
Filter reviews
1,572 results
Traveller rating
910
343
176
87
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
910
343
176
87
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house open fire outdoor pool four poster bed climping beach cream tea short walk to the beach steam room relaxing break beautiful room an overnight stay roll top bath lovely grounds following morning a lovely stay rose garden medieval style
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,572 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2023

So welcoming ! The staff were extreamly helpful. The food was the best quality and good value too.
Had a wonderful relaxing break.
The outside pool was my favourite. We had an open fire in our room this was the best ever to have that private space sitting cosy with an opwn fire and pre dinner drink.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023



Its a shame about the fact we pay so much, and there is no bar, and cans of cheap Guinness are charged with extortion prices.

The room, and grounds are perfect, but sadly the restaurant prices and drinks let it down. £700 for a night, you would really expect - good quality and definitely a spa not dating back to the 80’s.
Spa not ideal if busy at all
More work to be done.

All the best

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 842sarahsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Lovely place, staff were very friendly, service was excellent, well done. Garden was delightful to sit in and whilst we only stopped for tea, we were made so welcome. Tea was wonderful, a large pot with handmade teabags, exceptional. Just a stones throw from the beach

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guide749399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Approaching the hotel, you’re greeted with a beautiful old building which looks full of charm. The grounds are nicely kept and if you’re fortunate, you get to meet their resident peacock, who is quite a character! Although a bit noisy!
Once inside, we were greeted, checked in and shown to our room. It’s a really quirky building with underground corridor, you can imagine servants wandering the corridors in times gone past.
A little disappointed with our room initially, we stayed in one of the Sussex rooms and was expecting a roll top bath en-suite, we had a smallish bath with a rain shower with taps that leaked and some water damage very evident on the window sill which needs looking at. Spoils the look of the bathroom. Towels were big and fluffy with robes and slippers provided, toiletries as I would have expected for the price.
The bedroom was smaller than we expected, four poster bed which was extremely comfortable, needed a step ladder as it was quite high 😂
Usual amenities- tv, tea making facilities, biscuits, hairdryer.
Dining was a fabulous experience, the food whist not an extensive menu was excellent and would definitely recommend dining there. Beetroot starter followed by beef and crème caramel desert - well cooked and nicely presented.
The staff in the dining room were very attentive and accommodating, polite and courteous at all times.
I booked a full body massage and whilst I initially thought £120 was a tad expensive, was worth every penny. If you have time, then book. Indoor and outdoor pool with jacuzzi and loungers available.
Outside seating area when weather permits.

Was this mini break away worth the money? Absolutely.
Would I recommend the Bailiffscourt Hotel and Spa? Absolutely

Room tip: Plenty of parking, charging points available if you need them. Wi-Fi available in the rooms. Helipad if travelling by air
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

Another stay at one of our favourite hotels. We took advantage of their special DB&B offer at £349 and decided to stay two nights so we could really unwind and relax. As ever the spa never lets you down - the outdoor pool is particularly special. We had a room over in the coach house which had the most fabulous bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower. The food at dinner was of high quality and the service excellent. Breakfast was a real treat with a good buffet and choice of hot dishes. The 10am finish is appreciated. The morning of our second day our wi-fi packed up and as it still hadn’t been fixed by the time we returned to our room at 5pm the reception team immediately offered to switch us to a room in the main hotel. This was an upgraded room but the fact that it was offered without us asking was most appreciated. The small amount of service charge payable for the dinner which goes to the staff is very standard on this type of special offer so I was surprised to overhear a customer complaining. It was a real delight to be able to stay here again and we will return.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews