We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hev'n'Harvs 4th Visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haywards Heath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a GEM . Each of our visits has lasted 4 or 5 nights and each as good as the last. Clean spotless room, comfortable bed and this year a power shower for that extra zing. Breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere with a full range of fruit, cereals, yogurts leading up to a tasty FULL MONTY.
Hospitality from Dee and Keith spot on and all being well we will be back again next year to this warm oasis in the woods.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be good and we did not hear any complaints from other guests only good comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harvey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Organised a 2 night break for my parents to stay at Holly House B&B. They were very happy happy with the experience and the couple that owned the place were very welcoming. Breakfast was absolutely fine, beds, showers and rooms were spotless. My parents live in Somerset and visit us once a month and they have found somewhere they now plan to use going forward. Thanks Holly House mum and dad will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theStones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Had a lovely 2 days with Dee and Keith at Holly House.
We went last year and decided to return.
(The intention was to visit the Bluebell Railway and see the Bluebells
along the line, but we were not able to due to many coach trips reserving
all the seats and carriages being packed).
You couldn't want for a warmer welcome with tea and biscuits and a beautiful garden
If the weather was warmer one could have used their pool
Our room was very comfortable on the ground floor... not too hot like some places
You had a good choice of cereals and fruit along with a cooked breakfast in the conservatory
Dee is a really good painter and there are some of her paintings on display
If you want a few days to relax Holly House is ideal.

Ian and Wendy Jones

Room Tip: Talk to Dee first the upstairs room is being made even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendylilyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

After reading nohope's review I was wondering if there were two Holly House B&Bs in the Haywards Heath area, but no, this is the same place.

As a contract worker I've lived in several places in this area over the last year, and Holly House has been the best yet. Over the months I've had use of all the rooms bar one, so am familiar with what Holly House has to offer.

The rooms are cleaned regularly to a high standard, and I can't say dust has ever been an issue. Maybe if I stood on a chair and ran a white-gloved hand along the top of a wardrobe I'd discover otherwise, but I've no intention of going to that extreme.

There are en-suite showers in 3 of the rooms, with 2 standard rooms and the small single having shared use of a large shower room. In the 11 months I've been staying here I've only once had a problem with shower water pressure or temperature, and that was fixed as soon as I mentioned it to the owners.

I've found all the beds to be comfortable and are no bar to getting a decent night's sleep.

The breakfast room is a light and airy conservatory with perfectly acceptable cushioned garden furniture type seating, and a lovely view of the garden. The ceiling canopy keeps the direct sun off whilst having breakfast. As I usually have to be away early in the morning I stick to one of the wide range of cereals for breakfast, but the cooked breakfast (served on dishes noticeably larger than the side plates) is well worth having. I particularly recommend the bacon and scrambled eggs. I should also mention that the marmalade and jams are all home made, none of your little plastic containers here.

The only downside for me is external communications - mobile phone coverage for my network can be poor (hardly Holly House's fault!) and the wifi availability though good when it's working can sometimes be temperamental. But as it gets there in the end it's not a deal breaker.

I shall end by saying that as many B&Bs in this area are around the £50 per person per night price, that I am baffled as to why nohope thinks Holly House is above the average price. It simply isn't the case - if it was, I wouldn't be here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Since 18 years I'm guest in Holly House. I stayed here alone, with my wife, friends or parents. They all enjoyed Holly House.
After a long distance journey I like Dee's warm wellcome serving a tea and home made fruit cake, spending some time for good garden talks.
The high quality of the rooms and the breakfast is constant.
In the garden grows a huge rhododendron, the most photographed in the village.
Dee and Keith developed this garden to a place of an excellent design and a wide selection of plants.
From Holly House glorious gardens as Wakehurst Place, Sheffield Gardens, Standen or Nymanns are nearby.
My leading idea to Holly House are P(eople), P(laces) and P(lants).
Stefan

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 809tinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We went to this B+B for a one night stop while visiting friends and on arrival were met with a confusing "I wasn't expecting you!", especially seeing we had arrived at the time the elderly owners had requested on the phone just a few days before.
Once shown the room all was looking up as on first appearence the room appeared clean and had a nice view over the garden, even if the decor was a little dated.
However, things soon went down hill; The room had not been dusted well. The on-suite shower room had no catch or lock on the door, so the door kept swinging open, the toilet had been squeezed into the room meaning that plumbing pipes were showing.
When we tried to have a shower in the early evening, prior to going out, we found that there was no hot water and in the morning, dispite there being plenty of hot water, there was no presure so it was more of a dribble than a shower.
The bed was extreemly soft, which is not to my taste as it offered no support at all and led to a restless night. The curtain for the window was about 3 inches thinner than the window and was that thin that no light was blocked out of the room. Oh, and there was no curtain for the second small window but the light for this window was blocked by the shower room door that didn't shut!
Breakfast was served in the conservatory on uncomfortable plastic chairs and with a large sheet hung on the roof that was covered in dead flies.
The breakfast was good. A nice choice of cerial, fruit and yoghurts but the cooked breakfast was served on side plates to try and hide how small it was and my wifes sausage was not cooked properly. But I must say dispite the size my cooked breakfast was fine. The owner seemed more interested in hosting her other elderly guests than in us.
As soon as we had finished breakfast the guest book was put straight onto our table for us to sign right infront of the owner. By this point we had had enough, paid and were glad to leave.
The price for the room was above average for the area and the room and breakfast did not match up to this price. I will not be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nohope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollyhousebnb, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haywards Heath hotels
6.2 mi away
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Best Western The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
425 reviews
5 mi away
The Bent Arms
The Bent Arms
#5 of 9 in Haywards Heath
74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Limes Apartments
Limes Apartments
#2 of 2 in Lindfield
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Beaconsfield Road | Chelwood Gate, Haywards Heath RH17 7LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Haywards Heath
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holly House offers a warm welcome, inviting lounge, comfortable beds and memorable breakfasts served in the conservatory overlooking the garden. All of the bedrooms have tea and coffee making facilities and colour TV. Dogs are welcome by arrangement. Children under four are free and price negotiable up to age twelve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holly House Bed & Breakfast Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing