We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really needs a refurb”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bent Arms

The Bent Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bent Arms
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really needs a refurb”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for one night. As other reviewers have said the accommodation really needs a big refurbishment programme to bring it up to date. The decor was tired and old fashioned, and the ensuite tiny. However, the room was clean and warm, and breakfast was good.

Wouldn't go out of our way to stay here again, but for a single night stay it was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
20
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in the family room with our 15 month old son, we'd requested a cot and they had said that would be fine but when we arrived they didn't have one and initially said there was nothing they coud do!! Room was old fashioned,carpets filthy and old. Exposed pipes. In dire need of refurb. Only staff were in their late teens and unable to deal with problems or answer questions. Pipes and water from upstairs showers woke us at 6am and breakfast was slow, a lovely 17 year old was left to deal with 5 tables on her own. No compensation or refund. As it was the only place available we suffered one night but we won't rush back.

Room Tip: None! Perhaps rooms outside a bit better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mewmew70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Haywards Heath hotels

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The bedroom was very tired and in need of a make over. HOWEVER it was spotlessly clean and just ok for the one night.
The restaurant was a real revelation with fabulous food/service and incredible value in the evening although having high expectations, breakfast was a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelmes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

"I think room 7 is on the left. If not there's not many rooms up there so you should find it"
That pretty much sums up my stay at The Bent Arms.
The landing/hallway was cluttered with ironing boards, laundry, staff coats etc which only somewhat detracted from the carpet which was long past it's sell by.
My room was basic at best but could easily have been made more appealing with little effort. The large pine mirror balanced on the radiator rather than safely hung on the wall sums it up really!
The only positive was the cooked to order Breakast which was delicious. Shame it is only available between 8 & 9am as is check out.
Some might say this is all to be expected from a room above a pub. But at a price of £75 for a double at single occupancy I expected a lot more.
I have stayed in Haywards Heath/Lindfield on a monthly basis for the last 10 years and it is the first time that The Limes and The Birch have both been full .... I shall make sure I book a lot more in advance in future as I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sykeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The poor old Bent Arms, it just does not hit the spot, most of the time. It is in the middle of a truly beautiful olde worlde village, which oozes charm and loveliness. The same can't be said for what used to be an old coach house. On a nice sunny day, the interior is just about acceptable. On a dull day it appears, scruffy, uncared, unloved and in grave need of a good old overhall. It lacks everything an old building like this ought to have. The food, some people think is pretty good, to us it was just food. ............every day grub with nothing much to note and nothing came anywhere near tickling the taste buds. It's such a shame ,as one woman told us it was family run (tenants) and they work very hard to do well. It has, she said, been owned by the same family for a very long time.and the present tenants have been there for around five years. Maybe the owner should have a look at how tired and shabby it is and perhaps do the decent thing, give it a good old re-vamp. If not it may well not see another five years?

Room Tip: We ate here once inside, once in the garden. Fitness centre/ swimming pool/ rooms / sleep quality d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 16th Century building with charm and character. Room was very large and airy with separate private bathroom.
Sound of birdsong, very little noise from pub below. Room felt peaceful and tranquil.
Lots of storage space and hanging space for clothes.
However, the standard of hygiene was very poor. The bedlinen had clearly not been changed after previous occupant, the sheets being dirty and covered in hairs! I had to ask the barman to change the bedlinen, which he did willingly, but it was an awkward situation for both of us. The bathroom was also not very clean, with someone else's hairs in the bath and shower! The shower was weak and the shower-curtain needed washing.
The bathroom window is in need of a blind- I had to fix a towel over the top half as a makeshift curtain!
The bedroom carpet was stained and in need of replacing. The small window in the bedroom also needed fixing and wouldn't close.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a night whilst visiting family over the weekend. The room including breakfast was very reasonably priced and was clean, cosy and warm although a bit run down . The biggest issue was the bed - the mattress was very uncomfortable and the bed very hard, and only one bedside cabinet. There was a kettle and tea provided but the kettle had brownish liquid in it and just looked disgusting so we didn't use it. The bathroom had just a shower cubicle as well as a toilet and sink - the shower was very difficult to turn on as the tap was so stiff that it could only be moved with a lot of effort.

Because of the bed we didn't sleep well at all so it was some relief that the breakfast was excellent.

The room was reasonable value for money but the uncomfortable bed was a real downer and has put us off staying there ever again, which is a shame as the location is great. Just investing in a better bed/mattress, keeping the kettle clean and the shower working with ease would make all the difference to the extent that I'd be happy to pay an extra 20% for such improvements.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endurium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haywards Heath
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.0 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bent Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bent Arms

Property: The Bent Arms
Address: 98 High Street | Lindfield, Haywards Heath RH16 2HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Haywards Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bent Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bent Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bent Arms Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing