We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful experience whilst visiting family in December last year.
The reception staff on arrival were very prompt and efficient, rooms lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious with a rang of different things to choose from.
I have to say a big thank you to Lainne and her team for going the extra mile for us during our stay. She was amazing in fitting my family and I in for a family meal on the night we stayed. The restaurant was pretty full but she could not have been more helpful! Thank you ever so much, what a GEM!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMW2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    149
    94
    30
    15
See reviews for
67
122
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked this hotel fairly last minute when we called in to see family. This appeared to be the only hotel in Haywards Heath, surprisingly.

We had a pleasant and efficient check in and were given room 202. The room was very clean, well designed and had everything we needed, tea/coffee, small selection of toiletries and free wifi. The furnishings/bathroom were maybe a little dated but we were very comfortable.

We had a quick drink in the bar and this was enjoyable. The breakfast the following morning was lovely. Fruits, cereals, pastries, wonderful toast and a help yourself cooked breakfast (apart from fried eggs that were cooked to order). Tea and coffee were served promptly, you needed nothing more.

We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 202 was just at the top of the stairs. There was a wedding in the hotel the weekend we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in a family room with our two teenage children on Christmas Day and received a very warm welcome on arrival. The room was spacious and we had a great night's sleep as the beds are extremely comfortable.We all enjoyed the buffet breakfast and service was excellent, despite the hotel being very busy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

A very impressive hotel both inside and outside. Not too far away from the town centre. We had a very nice room with exceptionally comfortable bed. I particularly liked the tea/coffee facility in the room as not all hotels provide this. Breakfast was buffet style and we were spoilt for choice. Staff were all friendly and made us feel really welcome. We will return next time we are in Hayward's Heath visiting family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaK1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had a single room which was warm, comfortable, & well supplied with all hot drink making facilities & biscuits. The bathroom was modern & well equipped with a large walk in shower. My only slight grumbles were a stiff tap & I could hear easily the people outside in the corridor (but then, this is always the way in hotels!)
I had an enjoyable meal in the bar, good size portions too :-)
The staff were pleasant & courteous - I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soutenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We all had such a lovely time on Saturday 7th December. There were 30 in our party in a variety of ages! The food was superb and service was excellent.Everything ran smoothly and my Mum enjoyed her special day. I know she found the staff helpful all the way through the process, so thank you for that. I would highly recommend The Birch

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo , B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed three nights & were very pleased.
The breakfast was delicious, the location very convenient to our relatives & enjoyed sitting in the lounge visiting. The staff were most helpful & pleasant. The rooms were rather small, but very adequate. Loved the kettle in the room, so were able to make coffee. This charming hotel was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haywards Heath
4.4 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
Address: Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birch Hotel is located in the West Sussex town of Haywards Heath , 3 miles from Burgess Hill, 18 miles from Brighton and 15 miles from Gatwick Airport. The original building was built in c.1874 And still retains some of the original features, including oak panelling in the lounge area and stained glass windows on the main staircase. The Birch Hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment over the last few years making it the perfect venue for business or leisure. The main facilities of The Birch Hotel are: 51 en-suite bedrooms, all with Free wired internet access, 6 Conference rooms ideal for interviewing up to theatre style for 60 persons, (all rooms have wireless internet access), 3 banqueting rooms suitable for the small family celebration from 10 guests up to 80 guests for a seated reception. The Birch Hotel is licensed for Civil and Partnership ceremonies. The Birch offers the Courtyard resytaurant or our new modern Bistro Bar for dining .On site free carpark with a small side garden. The Hotel is Non Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing