We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but you may need ear plugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is great and my room(302) was perfect and there was no noise except when the person in room next door used bathroom, the fan was very noisy and rattled and disturbed me 3 times during my first night. I used ear plugs for my second night. Otherwise my stay couldn't have been better.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Birch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ideal for visitors to nearby hospital: comfortable, friendly and helpful; pleasant restaurant and lounge. Extensive free parking; bathrooms newly refurbished to a high standard. Easy booking via the Best Western website. Good rewards scheme.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

the hotel was in the perfect location for visiting close family. Our room was at the back of the hotel up a few flights of stairs. Very quiet, clean and had everything you could possibly need. A comfy bed, and a view from the window. The staff were very polite some a little impersonal, but then I'm from the north East and we are renowned for being friendly. The barman who served us our meal in the bar on the Sunday night and then breakfast the next morning was very good and a credit to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We attended the a tribute show last night at the Best Western Birch Hotel with friends and stayed overnight. Check in was efficient, and room 204 was very comfortable. The tribute concert was the first we have ever been to and it may have started a trend for us! The meal was delicious - mozzarella and chilli tartlet, baked sea bass and crème brulee for me, mozzarella tartlet, chicken, and profiteroles for my husband. Breakfast was very calm with sufficient choice and was a great end to our really short break!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Check in efficient, room clean, bathroom small with just shower but clean with basic toiletries, bed comfortable.Hair dryer, kettle, tea and coffee available.

Restaurant service very slow for evening meal, only 3 tables occupied and one hour from order to first course service, meat very dry as if it had been kept hot for too long, when this was mentioned the chef discounted the bill for both main courses.
Cooked breakfast by comparison was very fast, five minutes from ordering full english to delivery at the table, at this time five tables occupied. Food was OK and hot.
My colleague ordered the vegetarian sausage, beans and tomato, her breakfast arrived with vegetarian sausage and bacon!! The staff were similarly confused regarding vegetarian cuisine the previous evening, perhaps a staff update from the management would be helpful for future vegetarians!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank businesstraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here for three nights whilst on a business trip to the area. Check in was efficient and very fast and I was in my room in two minutes.The room itself was reasonable ,perhaps in need of a bit of a spruce up, with a good tv and what turned out to be a very comfortable bed.On business a good nights sleep is crucial and I certainly got that. There was sky sports on the TV and free wifi which also made a difference. Breakfast was good being served very quickly and by friendly attentive staff. There was also plenty of parking. I didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked pleasant and the menu was good value. All in all a good stay with a clean and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller1964X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haywards Heath
4.4 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
488 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
2.7 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,647 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
548 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Birch Hotel

Address: Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Price Range: £75 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Birch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birch Hotel is located in the West Sussex town of Haywards Heath , 3 miles from Burgess Hill, 18 miles from Brighton and 15 miles from Gatwick Airport. The original building was built in c.1874 And still retains some of the original features, including oak panelling in the lounge area and stained glass windows on the main staircase. The Birch Hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment over the last few years making it the perfect venue for business or leisure. The main facilities of The Birch Hotel are: 51 en-suite bedrooms, all with Free wired internet access, 6 Conference rooms ideal for interviewing up to theatre style for 60 persons, (all rooms have wireless internet access), 3 banqueting rooms suitable for the small family celebration from 10 guests up to 80 guests for a seated reception. The Birch Hotel is licensed for Civil and Partnership ceremonies. The Birch offers the Courtyard resytaurant or our new modern Bistro Bar for dining .On site free carpark with a small side garden. The Hotel is Non Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western The Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath Best Western
Best Western The Birch Hotel Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing