We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Birch Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Very nice room, with all the amenities. Staff is really helpful and kind. Breakfast is good, with a variety of choices and the cooked breakfast is very good as well. Walking distance to down town. Quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Everything was good, breakfast excellent including a wide variety of pastries and fruit and cooked to order hot items.. Plenty of free parking. Lighting in room better than most hotels. Wifi was free and very reliable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank 101thomast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff here were trying hard ; the shortcomings reported in previous reviews were not apparent. In particular the bar man was excellent and went out of his way to arrange an ice bucket for our group.

The room was quiet , in good condition and the bed comfortable.

The breakfast was served quickly and again was good value.

So ....if you are a business traveller in this part of Sussex and want a straightforward hotel , this place is unpretentious and decent value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank ahomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is a very good 3-star hotel, the location was easy to find , quiet and perfect for our needs. It is close to some excellent National Trust properties and close enough to the south coast to make it perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank wil27756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in July 2014 whilst holding an outside celebratiion for my husband's birthday a few miles away. We were welcomed back to the hotel by a very cheeriful Izzy on reception (who had remembered us from our previous stays last year). Andy and Richie were very helpful with our requests for the birthday celebration. We also spoke with the housekeeper and she made our stay very comfortable for us. The modern bedroom was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sbgangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on the 7th August. The Reception.
Staff were very friendly.
Bar staff.
Unfriendly.
The room was immaculate as was the bathroom.
Only downside was the breakfast, dirty crockery and raw Cumberland sausage. When pointed out to the restaurant manager I only got a flippant reply of " I'll let the chef know.
For £12.95 that's just not good enough.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Phiblip1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently had to be in Mid Sussex for a weekend and the Birch was ideally suited to accommodate me. Reception staff were very good and immediately changed my room when the first one offered proved too cramped. The room I ended up in was perfectly spacious and comfortable and offered all the facilities I needed. The hotel is quite rambling and does not appear to have a lift but the staff were marvellous about carrying my luggage. The Restaurant here is excellent (when it is open) both from the presentation point of view (crisp clean table linen) and the choice and quality of food and the friendly and efficient service. Unfortunately it was off limits Friday night (due to private function) and on Sunday night (when it always closes) and the bistro alternative falls way short of the restaurant standard. However, the catering staff did their utmost to give helpful service. I shall definitely be returning here the next time I have to visit Mid Sussex.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haywards Heath
4.4 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
503 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Roebuck Hotel
The Roebuck Hotel
#1 of 2 in Forest Row
570 reviews
9.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Henfield
107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Birch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Birch Hotel

Address: Lewes Road, Haywards Heath RH17 7SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Haywards Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haywards Heath
Price Range: £84 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Birch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Birch Hotel is located in the West Sussex town of Haywards Heath , 3 miles from Burgess Hill, 18 miles from Brighton and 15 miles from Gatwick Airport. The original building was built in c.1874 And still retains some of the original features, including oak panelling in the lounge area and stained glass windows on the main staircase. The Birch Hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment over the last few years making it the perfect venue for business or leisure. The main facilities of The Birch Hotel are: 51 en-suite bedrooms, all with Free wired internet access, 6 Conference rooms ideal for interviewing up to theatre style for 60 persons, (all rooms have wireless internet access), 3 banqueting rooms suitable for the small family celebration from 10 guests up to 80 guests for a seated reception. The Birch Hotel is licensed for Civil and Partnership ceremonies. The Birch offers the Courtyard resytaurant or our new modern Bistro Bar for dining .On site free carpark with a small side garden. The Hotel is Non Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western The Birch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath Best Western
Best Western The Birch Hotel Haywards Heath, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing