We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food - Shame About The Noise!”

Harvester The Beech Hurst
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich
Level Contributor
191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Food - Shame About The Noise!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We came to this Harvester as we were staying nearby, and been to Harvester's before in Suffolk (East England) normally pretty good, so gave this one a try. Seated quickly and order taken within a few mins (good service), as we were waiting for our food a group of pre-school children came in (for a party), sat on the large table next to us and all we heard from then on was constant loud screeching from them! We expect some level of noise from parties but not this level of noise (we could not hear ourselves speak) - not good at all! Least the food was good as expected, so not a complete disaster. Next time if we come back, we will try it a different time of day, as after 5pm I suppose that's when they have these parties.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 375Christopher1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    108
    57
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very busy restaurant with lots of seating and lots of salad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We came here on Sunday afternoon with my parents.the sun was out and it was very busy lucky they have lots of seating and we only had to wait about 15 mins for table. Salad bar was great we all had different main meal from fish and chips mixed grill steak and chicken meal for four was under £40 great value for money

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa terry and James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Harvester The Beech Hurst.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always friendly, relaxed and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Of the 6 local Harvesters we rate this one the best.
The tables aren't as crammed in as others, the staff are always friend'y and even when busy they have time for light conversation and a smile.
On our last visit my husbands steak was overcooked but the waitress was there quickly ro check all was ok and was very apologetic about the steak. The plate was taken away and within 10 minutes a freshly cooked (larger) steak was served. It was perfectly cooked and was not charged for!
At a previous visit with infant grandson, the waitress even asked if we wanted the jar of baby food (chosen from the menu) warmed up. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.
OK - it isn't haute cuisine but the menu selection is good, the all-you-can-eat salad bar is well stocked and clean, and it really is good value for money.
Its location is great being on the edge of Beech Hurst gardens which is a well kept park with a children's play area, sometimes a miniature railway to ride on, and gardens to wander through.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Equibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Harvester The Beech Hurst, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one we have written to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value & customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

3rd or 4th visit here - all experiences have been thoroughly good value and scrummy food.

Had a slight issue with seating, some 'just warm' chips and a sad cob of corn tonight, but with excellent customer service from all - mostly Holly - things were handled well and we (my wife and our 4&6yr olds) thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Well done Holly (our 4yr old adored you!!!). Great salad bar too - very well stocked and clean. Will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoodToShareInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Harvester The Beech Hurst and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is quite a regular place for us, at least every other month. Service is great, friendly and fast. Salad cart is always fresh and regularly topped up. Its doesn't matter what time of the day you go here, the service is always warm and the food is great. The signature fish and chips are wonderful and as for the Tennessee Whiskey Sauce.....YUM !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Beech Hurst, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester The Beech Hurst. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester The Beech Hurst also viewed

 
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Been to Harvester The Beech Hurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing