We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good”
Review of River Thai - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
River Thai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Friendly and good”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

By wife and I visited last night. I mentioned that I was gluten free and the chap was knowledgeable and clear (and, 18 hours later I can confirm, correct!)

The food was flavourful and lovely and, as some of the other reviewers have said, was delivered by waitresses with excellent customer service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adeling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Have had much better Thai food elsewhere”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ordered a takeaway for the family and was largely disappointed. The mixed starter was nothing to write home about and consisted mainly of deep fried food. Green curries were very, very runny and inconsistent. One was almost too spicy to eat and the other was really bland. Jungle curry was poor, pad Thai was average, far too many bean sprouts and not enough noodles. Steamed Jasmine rice was good though :-). Had high expectations of this place, having been recommended by friends, but we won't be ordering again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A group of 5 of us”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Five of us went to the River Thai in June. We went on a Wednesday evening and each of us a small beer before our food arrived. The menu was good as was the food. A thoroughly enjoyable evening. The staff were excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 933DavidC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rural Thai in Mid Sussex tickles the palate!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Contrary to other Patrons, I found the River Thai to be a truly wonderful experience! the food was good, no!! excellent served by smiling attractive Thai Girls, who were really attentive - I could have been in Bangkok! I will certainly be back, and so will my friends, for a memorable evening in good company with wonderful Thai food and service. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Really good Thai food - no complaints”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Monday night so very quiet. Food very good - big portions and all arrived together. Service was attentive but they were nowhere near full.
Came out at £25 per head including a few beers & starters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Thai also viewed

Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Horsted Keynes, Haywards Heath
 
Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing