We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience at the Nelson Hotel Pub and Restaurant”
Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Littlehampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I have visited the Nelson Pub and Hotel on several occassions and on each and every occassion as soon as we walk through the door we have been warmly welcomed by the brothers who run this establishment.

We have eaten here also on a number of occassions and the tables are always clean and laid out nicely. The varied menu has something for everyone to choose from and the presentation of the food is excellent.

I would highly recommend visiting the Nelson Hotel Pub and Restaurant, whether it is for a drink, a meal or to play pool or maybe all three you certainly won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

I have just returned from a Christmas Dinner at the Nelson Hotel in Littlehampton I can sum this up in three words
Fab u lus the service was out standing ,the food was excellent ,very large portions & the drinks were reasonable priced a good time was had by all well done the Nelson hotel .

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I visit the Nelson Hotel for their traditional Sunday Roast and various other meals from their excellent Menu on a regular basis. The service and attention is excellent and the food cannot be faulted, cooked to your requirements, nothing is too much trouble. Certainly well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Have only used the restaurant as live locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tifatalullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Booked a couple of last minute Saturday and Sunday nights for sister and I in this pub/hotel. Tried other accommodation but all booked and difficult to find a twin room. No parking on site and arriving about 4pm found parking was a problem as weather was good and paid car parks busy but managed to find one space but had to go back and move car before 8am or pay further, managed to find free on road space several streets away early Sunday morning, so okay. Surprised to find I had to pay bill upfront before being given keys to room. Twin room overlooked river/sea and boating lake but views obstructed by misted windows. Room newly refurbished with unusual black theme, bed comfy but shower room ensuite still original and though clean, badly needed updating, wc ancient and difficult to flush. Lack of accessible power points. Entertainment Saturday night in the pub ended about midnight. Had key to side door so no need to go through pub. Staff pleasant but not overly friendly. Had Sunday roast two course meal in the pub restaurant Sunday night and this was excellent, nice restaurant, good, fresh food reasonably priced (though overpriced wine) and a friendly waitress.

Room Tip: Lovely views from twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plantoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I booked to stay overnight here before my wedding. I also booked my Brother, Niece and Daughter in. The room I stayed in had the previous occupants toiletries and some clothes. Not much cleaning!!! didn't get much of an apology. The other rooms were passable. The shower didn't work properly in one.
Breakfast was greasy. Worst place I've stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

can i just say a big thank you to all your lovely staff,we stayed with you for a week and we were spoiled rotten, lovely spotless rooms,the food was amazing,and your lovely family and staff couldnt do enough for all of us,we will definetely be back down next year for another week stay,thank you all agaiin pat cliff colin sue and olivia ,the swansea gang

Room Tip: no tip needed all lovely rooms spotless and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We lunch frequently at The Nelson and never disappointed finding staff very welcoming, food freshly cooked and good value for money. Friends have stayed over night on occasions also finding all well and a good breakfast been giving. No faults at all, just the reverse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littlehampton
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington
3.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
332 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
0.1 mi away
East Beach Guest House
East Beach Guest House
#3 of 15 in Littlehampton
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arun Sands
Arun Sands
#9 of 15 in Littlehampton
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Address: 61 Pier Road, Littlehampton BN17 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Littlehampton
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Littlehampton, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing