We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Littlehampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Lovely food/staff etc.. The room was a bit pokey but fairly comfortable.. The low rating I have given is due to them charging us twice for our stay then taking four months to reimburse us (and that is only because we got the credit card company involved).. We emailed them regularly to give them the opportunity to pay us but no joy until now.. Lost good custom now

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've always read reviews on Tripadvisor but never felt compelled to write one until 5 of us came to stay for 2 nights at the Nelson Inn during the Goodwood Revival 2013. We took two family rooms and thanks to the fantastic staff, we had a brilliant time from the moment we arrived. The rooms were tired but clean - the 'pod' bathrooms are very small (you could almost wash your hair from the toilet) but the shower worked well with plenty of hot water. There are some 'horror' photos on tripadvisor but our rooms (4 and 5) were fine if basic (leopard print isn't to everyone's taste). What really made the Nelson special though was the food - every meal was delicious and beautifully presented - and the excellent staff who worked extremely hard and went out of their way to ensure we all enjoyed our stay and felt most welcome. The price was also very reasonable (they didn't hike the cost like many other establishments in the area during the Goodwood weekend). So if you like pub / Inn accommodation then we'd recommend the Nelson Inn - if we return to the Revival next year we'd definitely book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Advise taking ear plugs if you're a light sleeper as the Karaoke can be loud depending on who is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

There were 60 in our party plus another party down stairs so they can cater very well for big numbers.
The food was good hot and plenty of it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the toilets were not good enough for such big parties, one for ladies, one for gents and then they weren't terribly clean and in working order.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

hi guys thanks again for a fantasic week with you accomadation and hospitality fantastic your lovely family looked after us so good would reccommend you every time.food amazing see you soon pat cliff colin sue and olivia

Room Tip: we had room 3 this year fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I am one of the 5 that reviewer "Tonyw6" wrote about, and more to the point I was the one that in desperation in acquiring accommodation for Goodwood Festival Of Speed booked the hotel. Well one thing is assured.....I don't think I will be asked again to book accommodation.

I would totally concur with Tonyw6 review, public area was average and the bedrooms terrible (see the pictures). The room was cleanish and the toilet / shower pod cleanish. The sink was blocked. The mattress had seen better days, the bedding.....well, I think leopard skin bedding design went out many many years ago.
The curtains and valance were beyond belief, (see picture)

The restaurant food was quite good, or at least 4 of the 5 were quite good. 1 was a little suspect and when it was brought to the owners attention a full refund was given.
The bar area and selection of drinks, also quite good.

Eat and drink at the Nelson no problem, sleeping, definitely not, sleep in the car !!

Room Tip: Choose a good room ???...... Try down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazymazdadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

5 of us, all males in the 50 -63 age group, stayed here for the Duration of the Goodwood Festival of speed.
We checked in Friday evening after a day at the event and checked out Monday morning to travel home.
The hotel is basically a pub that has a to be fair, decent restaurant attached to it, we ate there one night and 90% of our food was good.
The problem here, and it is a problem, is the 5 bedrooms. They are very poor.
From the 'pod' type ensuites to the 70's bedding & pillows and the Friday / Saturday Karaoke till the early hours. It's all a bit too much (or too little!!!).
The proprietors are hard working people, who have a good excuse for not renovating the bedrooms, having said that, if they're not going to, then withdraw the accommodation, as it spoils your work...
Having just Come back from a business trip to China & staying in 5 stars accommodation for around £60-70 per night, it was hard to take to pay £40.00 per night here - albeit probably inflated to cash in on the Goodwood festival, which is 15 miles away....

Room Tip: Don't stay, but have a meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonyw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Can't really say the rooms were fantastic, but they were clean and tidy. And then you get the "en-suite".... Probably more space in an old red phone box. The toilet worked, it had a shower so really what more do you need ( I didn't want to swing a cat, luckily) :-) Their crowning glory seems to be the food. We ate in there for our evening meal and the portions were generous while reasonably priced. The breakfast was equally as tasty and very filling with plenty of coffee.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Val750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Littlehampton hotels
3.2 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regency Rooms
Regency Rooms
#1 of 15 in Littlehampton
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Littlehampton
YHA Littlehampton
#1 of 4 in Littlehampton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arun Sands
Arun Sands
#7 of 15 in Littlehampton
36 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Lamb at Angmering
The Lamb at Angmering
#1 of 2 in Angmering
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Beach Guest House
East Beach Guest House
#3 of 15 in Littlehampton
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Address: 61 Pier Road, Littlehampton BN17 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Littlehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Littlehampton
Price Range: £53 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Hotel Littlehampton, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing