We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service”

The Windmill Harvester
Reserve with OpenTable
The Windmill Harvester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 95 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The Windmill Harvester in Littlehampton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Orpington, England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The food and service was excellent, we were staying in a guest house just a short walk away so very convenient. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the afternoon for a few drinks and the evening for a few more drinks and dinner !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dennis-and-Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill Harvester, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
May we thank you for taking the time to give us such nice feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    132
    100
    71
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pit stop ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

After a hot Friday we decided to pop out for a meal, The Windmill is close by, we were made very welcome and seated very quickly.The waitress was very helpful pointing out things and giving us suggestions and taking our our food order very quickly. The food when it arrived was hot and tasty. A nice treat at the end of the day.

Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill Harvester, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a typical harvester. Was ok. Food came out very quicklvy, possibly too quickly as hadn't even visited salad bar when it arrived. This maybe due to the fact we ordered spitroast chicken, which was probably always on the go. However food was hot so no complaints. The only problem we had was with the wine. We ordered 1 bottle of white but were served with another more expensive. Didn't notice this until bill arrived. Waitress did only charge lower amount when questioned, but wonder how accidental this really was. Overall visit was ok. Salad bar was full and appeared fresh, despite it being quite busy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylandDavid1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill Harvester, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent disappointing meal at this Harvester Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

ask to see the manager our mix grill was overcooked and the batter on the fish not cooked and was greasy Both meals uneatable he agreed to refund the cost of the mains and offer a free dessert and drink....... enough said!...... we didn't take up the offer as we've had enough of the whole place and wanted to leave,........... we were sat by the grill hatch and the two very young cooks on duty were more interested in sharing jokes and singing along to the radio......... we saw and heard everything....... not a good impression

I have sent a letter of complaint to head office and ask them not to respond with vouches or such like as I'm never going back to a harvester again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinegreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill Harvester, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great if on a budget”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Harvester outlets are right up my street, good basic food at prices which wont break the bank. A free replenishable salad with main courses and replenishable coffee makes a huge difference. The windmill certainly fits what I have come to expect from this chain. It is a family restaurant so expect lots of children, some more under control than others, and groups of oaps in for a cheap lunch. The service was great and friendly. I only have one gripe on this occasion - I do not expect my hand to stick to the toilet door when coming out of the Gents. Get it cleaned please.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Windmill Harvester, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
The time you have taken to leave a review following your visit to Harvester The Windmill is really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windmill Harvester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Climping, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Windmill Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing