We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast”

The Boat House Cafe
Ranked #29 of 94 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Everything about us is local, all of our food and supplies are from West Sussex, even our beer is brewed just for us locally. We offer an extensive breakfast choice, including vegetarian and gluten free options. Our lunches can range from a beer battered fish finger sandwich to Slow Roasted Pork Belly all at a very reasonable price. On a Friday evening we will be offering a Tapas Menu with the choice of a nice rioja and on a Saturday evening we shall be offering a fine dining experience, Sundays we shall be having a BBQ if the weather permits! So pop along and say hello our coffees are amazing, our beer is cold, our wine is delicious, our food is amazing and the crew are all smiles.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a great breakfast this morning at the Boat House. Attractive location, attentive staff and top quality food. Dietary requirements catered for with no fuss.

Perfect place on a sunny day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How a Boat House Cafe should be!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say! I've not been to the Boat House in over 18 months and what a shock I got when both my husband and I walked in. It looked amazing! It's under new management and sooooooo different from the sad looking cafe I saw a while back where the food was way too fancy, expensive for its surroundings and a mixture of clientele that would arrive one day never to return! Not sure what the original owners were thinking but they have certainly weren't thinking of their customers that's for sure. The new Boat House Cafe on a marina today is exactly how a Boat House Cafe should look. It was bright, the decor was exactly how you would expect it to be for a seaside cafe. The ambience, surroundings and choice of food would suit every type of customer who walks through the door. The staff were lovely, very hospitable and were happy to help, and.......with a smile. We ordered an egg and bacon sandwich which was delicious, followed by earl grey tea, and a homemade cake. I learnt that all of their cakes were made on site and not bought in and the prices were reasonable. It was just perfect. Well done Vic and her staff who run the Boat House. It's about time we had a decent cafe in Littlehampton. A little bit out the way but worth visiting. We will definately go back as they are thinking of offering early breakfasts not just for customers (great idea if you are out walking the dog) but for local fisherman. They are looking into having quiz nights, curry and a pint nights, Friday Fish & chips and other events throughout the year. Thank you Vic for what was a pleasant visit. Your hard work has paid off so far. Keep up the good work. The marina needs people like yourself to show them exactly how it's done.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank traffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Great place to visit”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I would just like to say a big Thank you to all the Staff at The Boathouse Cafe at Littlehampton.
What a Lovely, Welcoming place to visit, and I for one found all the people working there very Cheerful, Attentive, and customer aware, Even when it started to get VERY busy, Welldone and thank you. I hope very much to be seeing you all again soon.
Paul from the Westcountry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the boat house today and enjoyed a very nice and very filling breakfast.
Everyone was attentive and friendly especially Rob who shared a joke or two with us!
Sat outside and enjoyed the sunshine and watching the coming and goings in the marina.
Would deffo recommend and will return next time we are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank lynm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luscious Lunch”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Restaurant has lovely interesting setting in Littlehampton Marina. Delicious lunches with good helpings of fresh local food (no plastic ham here!). Have never used it for an evening meal but judging from the menu it would be just as good with a nice atmosphere. When we visited recently, new owners had taken over just the week before and obviously had the highest of standards. On a nice day their outside terrace would be marvellous for al fresco eating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boat House Cafe also viewed

Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Angmering, Littlehampton
 

Been to The Boat House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing