We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food at the boat house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse - CLOSED

The Boathouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food at the boat house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have come here many times and the food has never let us down. They have improved their menu and made the food more healthy. The staff are friendly and have new smart uniforms, with a 1950 feel. I recommend the galley special and all of the milkshakes. Can't wait to have another flavoursum breakfast at the boat house.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vix W, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you kindly for your review, please come back and try more of our food- if you are passing we have some vouchers for a special deal which we would like to give to you. Thanks again from The Boat House family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GOOD CATCH OFF THE BEATEN ROAD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Whilst visiting friends in Climping we decided to go to lunch .The sun was in full bloom so they decided to take us to The Boat House what a lovely surprise beside the river ,outside decking for Me to find next time I will set the sat-nav.well worth it.
As previous reviewers say the Fish n Chips with homemade Mayonnaise .was superb and that was the favourite over the various "Bubble n Squeak " dishes on the new menu .
Nothing better a nice meal a glass of beer next to the river on a sunny day with friends off the beaten track.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dws1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vix W, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank-you so kindly for your review. This was so helpful and really appreciated. Please pop by if passing and pick up a voucher. Thanks again from Vix and the Boat House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well, This is one of the places that I will actually go out of my way to revisit, The New Owner has introduced New Menus since I last ate there & have even started to Stay Open later into the early Evening on occasions introduceing such themes as 'Fish n Chip Friday's' & 'Italian Nights ' I'm told.
I found the Standards of Awareness,Service & Food matched my previous visits So Consistency is very evident.

Well done Gang. & a Thumbs up from me.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vix W, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so kindly for you feedback- we would like to offer you 10%off your next bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Fish And Chips!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The bestest fish and chips I've had in a while. I go to the boat house regularly and always experience super service and fabulous food however thought it was a shame that the cafe itself didn't open in the evenings. However.... the cafe has now been taken over and the fab new owner informed me recently of night events such as Friday Fish And Chip night, Italian night, curry night...! The fish and chips were great value for money, the fish was huge and most definitely one of the BEST fish and chips I've EVER had!the surroundings and setting was as always wonderful, a must for anyone who hasn't been x

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 492786Julie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I visited the boat house on thursday 10th july and all I can say is the food was great. It was fresh and promptly served. Great value for money. The kitchen is open to a point and from what I could see the chef who was on his own at a busy period seemed to be in complete control and the hygiene was first class.
Definitely will be returning.
I emplore all to visit the boat house.

Helpful?
Thank darkmagician1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing