We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Steam Packet

The Steam Packet
Ranked #15 of 94 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff were very welcoming.
Food was of a high standard and competitively priced.

We'll definitely return

Helpful?
2 Thank Delwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lindfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We made a stop in Littlehampton and were lucky enough to find this great pub situated by the river. It had a lovely warm atmosphere with very friendly staff. Being a non-smoker, I was pleasantly surprised to find it had 2 beer gardens to keep both groups happy. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate and we retreated inside when the sun turned to rain. We grabbed a table by the window on the river side and had one of the best pubs meals we've had for quite a while. The wine selection was good and at a very reasonable price. We will surely return again next time we're passing through.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The steam packet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice to see this little pub open again after being shut for such a long time. Great atmosphere and good food at a brilliant price! We will be visiting again when we are in the area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayaker661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“felt like a rabbit!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

OK so this is a pub but thinks it's a restaurant with prices to match!

The very plain tables to eat at are in the main part of the pub next to the windows but not in a separate section so you have all the noise and goings on of the drinking people whilst you eat.

we were greeted with a lady behind the bar who was bitterly complaining about the amount of hours she was working! she was pleasant enough but some may find her a bit OTT!

we picked our table and the first thing I noticed was the dirty flower vase on the table with a rose that frankly had seen better days!

The main menu is rather limited along with the wine list there is also a specials board.

The food was OK to a point nothing to rush back for and all the dishes were bulked out with plain (no dressings) salad! I felt like a rabbit would of struggled with this amount of greens!

The one thing that I really wanted and the main reason for our visit was off the menu.... the Polish Tart!

we had 2 starters 2 mains 1 dessert 3 glasses of wine 1 beer. 1 coffee ....... £70!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank carolinegreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having gone there on the strength of tripadvisor reviews we were disappointed to find the specials were not very special, being offered and Easter Sunday carvery (it was Easter Monday) which was just about adequate. The smoked fish pie was a better option. They had a website until recently but could not access it to check before we went.

Undoubtedly the pleasantest pub we found in Littlehampton, used to drink there years ago when on day trips so pleased to see it open again after fearing it would be demolished. Good range of draught beers for those that like that sort of thing but no sign of the cloudy real cider they were serving last summer when we called in for a drink.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank daveysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Steam Packet also viewed

Littlehampton, Arun District
Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Angmering, Littlehampton
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to The Steam Packet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing