We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, a definite recommend”

Look & Sea Visitor Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Heritage Exhibition and Viewing Tower is based around the harbour and seaside history of Littlehampton and the surrounding area, the Heritage Exhibition has interactive displays, historical artefacts and fascinating pieces of information to inform and amuse both adults and children. Do you know what ships were wrecked off the Sussex coast; why a customs house was built in Littlehampton in 1864; when the town first started to receive day trippers; what birds wheel above the river and float on its waters? Come to our exhibition and find out the answers to these and many other questions. As for our viewing tower, it has some of the best views in Sussex. It is said you can see the spire of Chichester Cathedral from the Upper Tower using the binoculars provided. Why not come and find out? Or bring your camera and step out onto the Lower Tower balcony to take amazing pictures of the River Arun that you would never get at ground level.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, a definite recommend”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely little place to go, good food, good service and nice staff. Been coming here for years and have never had a problem. They do get busy so if you're going for lunch, I would say come early. As I said, just a lovely place

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookandSea, General Manager at Look & Sea Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments, all our staff are appreciative when customers take the time to write such nice reviews. We look forward to welcoming you on your regular visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    58
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good but over priced”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Food was a good average, service was fair enough, but the prices were way off the normal scale unlikely to use this restaurant again soon unless I win the lottery to pay for it!!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookandSea, General Manager at Look & Sea Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your food during your recent visit but disappointed to learn that you thought our prices excessive. Other recent reviews do not seem to agree on this point but we would be more than pleased to hear what items you felt were very expensive. We feel that we offer a very reasonably priced menu where everything is cooked fresh to order, in an outstanding location with a friendly, comfortable atmosphere. Come visit us again and we will offer you a 10% discount. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long wait for food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We came to Littlehampton on one of the first fine Sundays of the year. The eating places seemed to be filling up quickly so we thought we were lucky to find a seat on the terrace for lunch. The place was busy but not completely full. At the counter we were told that there would be a half hour wait for lunch and we resigned ourselves to that. It was 1pm then. In fact it was about an hour and a quarter before we were served. A family who came after us had eaten and gone before then. We did keep asking if our food was about to arrive, and each time were told that it had just been sent from the kitchen. The waiting staff were as nice as possible. The problem seemed to be with the management of the kitchen. The food, when it did arrive was mediocre. The special of breaded haddock, cod and scampi must have come straight out of packets, and what was called scampi was nothing more than triangular fish fingers. Burger was cold and leathery.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookandSea, Manager at Look & Sea Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We are very sorry that your recent experience at our café was not an enjoyable one. As you quite rightly state it was the first nice weekend of the year and we were totally overwhelmed as were all popular cafes/restaurants in the town. We are the first to admit we had severe operational issues that day and apologise profusely if we let you down. When you are next down our way call in and make yourself known to the duty manager and we will endeavour to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely girl at reception. Centre itself isn't thrilling for a museum. I'd put Littlehampton town Museum higher up the list than this place. However, I'm a 47 year old bloke who had some time to kill. If you're a mum and or dad with some young kids to amuse, then it will suit you better, as it's quite an interactive place with plenty for them to do and get involved with. Great views of the harbour and the town from the upper platform.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 545MikeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookandSea, Manager at Look & Sea Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We are pleased you found our exhibition interesting and hope you may visit again perhaps with your family next time who I am sure will find the interactive exhibits fascinating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice little place for lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely place to eat just beside Littlhampton harbour. Can't recall much about the meal, but I remember it being nice enough with the expected good hygiene of course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 545MikeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LookandSea, Manager at Look & Sea Visitor Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your meals at our Harbour Lights Café, thank you for your favourable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Look & Sea Visitor Centre also viewed

Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to Look & Sea Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing