We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal deal and great service.”
Review of Vardar

Vardar
Ranked #14 of 96 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal deal and great service.”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Well enjoyed by locals. We were not sure about trying this restaurant because the forecourt and entrance is a bit off putting. However, a special offer in the local paper enticed us: rib eye steak, chips and wine for £14. We were not disappointed, the steak was excellent and a good size. In fact the meal was top notch. Definately going again.
Nice room and nice people running the restaurant. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carrieangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really lovely meal!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went last night and enjoyed a lovely meal for two. The service was great and the meal delicious. It was a quiet evening so not much atmosphere but I can imagine its great when buzzing!!

Could not fault our meal last night :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mascy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old fashioned venue”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Time warp restaurant.... very traditional fare - very traditional and loyal older set of customers. Not my kind of thing at all but many like it. Service can be very brusque.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carola47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Vardar - Pricey Meal & Gone Down”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Recently went to the Vardar for the first time in a few years for a meal with colleagues when visiting littlehampton and was surprised that it has gone downhill when compared to before.

15-20 years ago the staff were wearing uniforms and the standard of food was high. Walking through the front door, their's people outside smoking from the noisy bar next door and you can here the noise from the bar next door via a dividing door that separates the bar to the resturant. couples wanting a quiet meal, may not like this or find it intimidating to some.

The interior design looks to have had a cheap make over and lacks good quality furniture with idea of a connecting door into bar sounds. They should have kept them separate with the resturant servicing middle of road, good quality food and pub food next door, not mixing it all up.

The person who served us was dressed quite scruffy. The starters were good. However,main course took ages to come out. The main course meat for everyone was poorly cooked and dry.The potatoes were the previous days reheated and the veggies lacking in choice and quality.

Rather than catering for the few, it looks like this place might be wanting volume event bookings / trade and has lost its path for tired interior design, good service and quality food to those who want a fair priced, nice meal out. The bill was high for what it was and if it were not being expensed for business, would have requested some money off. Overall a disappointing experience and sorry to see it go downhill.

In comparison, we were recommended Mussel Row on Pier road and went for a meal a few days later. It couldnt have been better and completely the opposite. The staff were all smartly dressed, interior recently refurbished with very good styling and tables. The service was excellent and most importantly, all the food cooked as requested and very well presented. I would highly recommend to anyone Mussel Row over Vardar, as its clearly up to date with the times and what customers really want.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Reviewer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Omg amazing!!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I recently had my wedding reception here and everyone enjoyed themselves!! The food was brilliant, staff were so friend and couldn't do enough for us, the hog roast was so yummy, and the salads were refreshing and different!! The place was fantastic and I will definatly be going back there. There is no place in littlehampton with such an atmosphere!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilybarnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vardar also viewed

Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Littlehampton, Arun District
Littlehampton, Arun District
 

Been to Vardar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing