We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building and lovely food”

Bailiffscourt Hotel & Spa
Ranked #55 of 94 Restaurants in Littlehampton
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My grandparents took me out for dinner to this fantastic restaurant to celebrate my birthday, the staff were very nice and the food was wonderful. I would definitely recommend it and would love to go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_LTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Whats it all about.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stunning location for a hotel with lovely buildings. However their restaurant fixed price dinner was a huge disappointment. The food was pretentious by description and portions small. My starter was Selsey crab, so say, but the portion so small was overpowered by the accompanying bits and pieces. This, followed by a minuscule portion of lamb. I was fortunate to be a guest as I would have objected to paying £50 a head.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worthingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Truly stunning Hotel with hit and miss staff and overpriced food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Don't get me wrong, if you want a location and setting with the wow factor this is it. Truly incredible gathering of twee stone and thatch buildings with a spar and private beach to boot. We have visited several times and you take your chances. The rooms are fine although sometimes stifflingly hot with the odd peacock call at four int he morning but it is the foos and staff that vary most. For a hotel of this standard you would expet the staff to be so attentive but they vary immensely. Some are great but we have had two or three who have been on the point of rude; totally ignoring us and other guests quite obviously on purpose. The food is generally very good but every now and again you can receive a dish which is below par. But at prices like these it should be 100% everytime....as for the mark up on a bottle of wine....I don't mind paying a bit of a premium, but they do really hit you hard. In summary, stunning, stunning, stunning but very overpriced with some staffing issues. Your stay will leave you either absolutely blown away or feeling ripped off.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Superb restaurant, amazing food and excellent service - good vegetarian choice

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

we loved everything about bailiffscourt, it was excellent

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank laketravellersSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bailiffscourt Hotel & Spa also viewed

 
Hassocks, West Sussex
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 

Been to Bailiffscourt Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing