We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at South Lodge for two nights (I bought the package as part of a Charity auction - but knew of South Lodge before). The hotel is superb and we were well looked after by the team there. The restaurants - The Camellia and The Pass were excellent. All in all a great weekend and if you haven't been, make sure you go,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Brian W,

Thank you for your marvellous review. We are all delighted to hear of your fantastic experience and your support for a great charity.

We do like to think of ourselves as a foodie destination with two fantastic restaurants. The Pass is home to Michelin starred Head Chef Matt Gillan and the restaurant is set in the heart of the kitchen.

Our Camellia team is headed up by MasterChef the Professionals winner Steven Edwards. Using seasonal and local ingredients (including from our restored Victorian walled garden) we offer fantastic dishes, including Steven’s wonderful Experience Menu influenced by his journey on MasterChef. I am pleased you were able to dine in both and they exceeded expectations.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    246
    97
    43
    22
See reviews for
254
789
16
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel on our wedding night and the night after. It was the most amazing experience and one that we will never forget. The service was second to none and we were made to feel so comfortable and welcome by all of the staff. We can't usually afford this kind of hotel so this was a real treat for us and we were made to feel so special. We stayed in the tortoiseshell room- a standard room looking out onto the gardens. This room was anything but standard! The bed was luxurious and so comfortable, there was a huge shower and large freestanding bath, double sink and huge wardrobe. The breakfast choice was endless and the cooked breakfast was especially good. We had lovely walks in the gardens, (you can hire bikes if you like) and we sat on the sunny terrace with drinks. There is also a gorgeous little pub just a short walk away where we enjoyed a lovely lunch in the garden, (as the restaurant was a little beyond our price range!) We had room service on one of the evenings and it was actually very reasonable and really tasty- a cheese board and eton mess!
Thank you to all the staff- we could not recommend more highly. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in tortoiseshell- a standard room with a beautiful bathroom and garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckyk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Beckyk000,

Thank you for your charming and glowing review. Firstly, many congratulations from all of us here at South Lodge on your wedding! We wish you all the happiness in the world.

I am pleased you were made to feel so comfortable and welcome by the team here. Great service really does mean a lot to us all and the team will be thrilled to read your comments.

Tortoiseshell is actually one of our junior suites located in our Sussex Wing. It is a wonderful room with fabulous views over the 93 acres of grounds as well as a fantastic bathroom and relaxing beds for which we are renowned.

I do hope we will see you again for your anniversary or if not before.

Warmest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I spent 5 days at South Lodge in March as part of a training conference. The venue was ideal for such events and the staff ensured our event (which was extremely well produced buy the training company) ran like clockwork.

I had a very well proportioned room in the new wing on the ground floor. Pleasant views out over the rear grounds, all the appliances you[d want in a hotel - either for a personal trip or for business. I even had a TV in the huge bathroom - not vital but a nice touch!

Food was good for a 60 person conference. Excellent buffet at breakfast and always something nice at lunch. For the conference, there was a never-ending selection of energy snacks and drinks.

I dodn't get to the on-site gym, instead I attempted the hotel's running route. This was perhaps my only gripe. The track was in an appalling state - not a track but simply a line on a map running through several adjoining fields.

Overall and excellent choice for a conference - as long as you are aware how cut off the delegates will be. The closest pub does excellent food, so that's always an option. Probably also very pleasant for a weekend away given the excellence of the rooms.

Recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Richard S,

Thank you for your review following your 5 day residential conference at South Lodge.

I am pleased your week ran like clockwork, your bedroom had great views as well as plenty of space, as well as the very decadent TV over the bath the most relaxing of soaks!

I will be sure to pass your comments regarding the running route onto Paul, our Head Gardener.

Perhaps we will see you again for a leisure visit?

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter wanted a night in a hotel as her tenth birthday present so we went all out and booked a stay at the South Lodge. It was the right choice. From being greeted by name on arrival to every member of staff we met wishing her a Happy Birthday, she really was treated like royalty.

The room was gorgeous, the food in the Camellia was exquisite, the grounds (particularly the rockery) are beautiful. The staff were all unfailingly helpful and met our needs before we even knew we needed them.

It was the most amazing weekend, and although it cost nearly the average weekly wage, me and Molly had the best time, so we think it was worth it and will be back next year for her 11th birthday.

Many thanks to all the team for making it so magical.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear SamJTyler,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at South Lodge. The team I are just thrilled Molly enjoyed her birthday celebrations!

It is lovely to know you were so well looked after throughout your time with us. I will be sure to share your kind words with the team as it really does mean a lot to us all.

The rockery is looking fantastic. It is a real hidden gem and being the 2nd largest rockery in the country it is certainly worth finding whilst enjoying a stroll in our 93 acres of grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Yes , when we booked a room after eating in the camellia restaurant one day we checked this room our and with a large lounge , huge bathroom and bedroom with views of the rhododendrons etc we booked it .
We had a little problem at reception before we arrived asking if we could check in before the infamous check in time of 3pm one email said no followed by another 30 mins later from a different person saying yes. Nice early lunch in the billiard room , friendly service , after being shown our lovely room , with the flowers we had ordered and champagne all in place l
A wander round the 93 acres full of rhododendrons in bloom was very enjoyable before a rest
In the room as we prepared for our dinner in the pass ( see review separately ) - the pass was exceptional in every way service , food , ambience , and not embarrassing at all eating in the kitchen area.
One tip ask if you can to sit side by side so you can both see the kitchen working .
Breakfast as I told them rather let them down - it was not in keeping with everything else in the hotel.
That said we will return , hopefully the service and food at breakfast will have improved ,or maybe we just hit on a bad day for them , funnily enough many years ago we stayed at a nearby hotel that was so bad we came here then just for breakfast which was excellent .
We have been coming here off and on for 30 years or so and overall the experience has improved
Enormously , maybe also the manager could be more visible ,we were not aware on our visit there was one , one of the ladies at reception was very helpful and friendly , sorry we did nt get her name.

Room Tip: Monarch suite for special occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear alanEastSussexUk,

Thank you for your stay following your recent visit. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Monarch suite is a smashing room. With its own separate lounge and those oh so spectacular views it is the perfect place to relax.

It sounds as if you had a wonderful experience in The Pass and thank you for posting your separate review. Our check-in time is 3pm, however we will always endeavour to accommodate our guests for their arrival. I am sorry breakfast did not live up to the rest of your experience of the hotel and I will share your comments with Daniel, our Camellia restaurant manager.

I am sorry I did not have the opportunity to see you on this visit, however it would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. With that in mind I do look forward to seeing you then.

All the very best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

As a family engagement celebration we received excellent service from all the staff ( for the valet parking to the waiting staff ) and with a glass of champagne and plate re fills as required it was value for money and a great setting - even on a rainy day.

Room Tip: Go for the sofa seats for afternoon tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear RogerSussex,

Many congratulations to your family member for their recent engagement. We are delighted you celebrated here at South Lodge and the visit was such a positive one.

Afternoon tea is a real treat. What better place to indulge than in our Drawing Room, Lounge or outside on our terraces.

You will have to return when we have a better day as there is nothing better than walking off an afternoon tea than by taking a walk around our 93 acres of grounds including our kitchen garden, rockery and charming lakes.

We all look forward to seeing you then.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
208 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment we drove in to my door being opened by a most charming young gentlemen, who registered us and upgraded us to our most luxurious suite, magnificent bathroom most comfortable bed with a pillow I requested which was heavenly. As the restaurant only had late reservations we ate locally (another review).
We cannot wait to return as it was a wonderful nights stay.
We had views from the dining room at breakfast which overlooked part of the 93 acres of grounds.
I had 'lemon curd' at breakfast which I believe was 'home made' and was delicious.

Room Tip: A suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear fivestarKent,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at South Lodge.

It means a lot of the team and I to learn of your wonderful stay from the moment you arrived at our front doors.

I am pleased your bedroom was everything you expected and more and breakfast was such a pleasure enjoying our home made produce as well as the wonderful views over the South Downs from our Camellia Restaurant.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
22.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel West Sussex/Lower Beeding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing