We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and taste!”
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tranquility and taste!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

South Lodge has 89 rooms and two restaurants, yet we were made to feel that the whole place was just for us! Our room, with a view of the South Downs, was immaculate with probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in - and there is a pillow menu to cater for every taste. Dinner in the Camellia restaurant was a treat, featuring top-notch, modern British cooking with local ingredients, and the breakfast was marvellous. The tea room is cosy and old-fashioned; the bar is elegant and stylish; and there is an amazing cellar with a kind of wine juke-box where you can try glasses from 16 different bottles.

There is a sense of tranquility from the moment you arrive. There is elegance, refinement, luxury and calm, but above all there is outstanding service from very well-trained staff, who seem to be there just when you need them, and who seem pleased to help. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of rooms with different options. The hotel also has special offers/ deals thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Laurie P,

Thank you so much for your delightful review.

It is wonderful for all of us at South Lodge to read you were made to feel special.

Your bedroom sounds wonderful with its marvellous view over the South Downs as well as the hand-made mattress allowing you total relaxation.

I am delighted The Camellia restaurant was enjoyable. Our Head Chef, Steven Edwards, is the winner of MasterChef the Professionals. As you rightly say Steve’s ethos is getting the very best out of local and seasonal produce. We think he does it rather well!

It is great to read you are very much looking forward to returning. We hope to see you soon.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    267
    104
    44
    23
See reviews for
269
843
17
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Being a regular client of Exclusive Hotels, it was my first visit to South Lodge and it coincided with a Steven Edwards', Camellia restaurant Head Chef, also winner ofThe Masterchef Professionals 2013, Vivaldi charity event in aid of the Cedar Tree Charity.

Arriving at the Hotel, after loosing our way, we were greeted by the welcoming team on reception. Looking up there was a lovely portrait of a gentleman with a straw hat, somehow his face looked familiar, but this was also a calming effect after quite a stressful journey in the pouring rain. We were shown to a fabulous suite with a terrace where there were sun loungers. Sadly the weather prevented us from using them.

At the charity dinner, we were met by General Manager, David Connell who greeted us with a glass of Nyetimber sparkling wine. My guest and I were so pleased that we were seated on the table he was hosting. We had an interesting conversation with him and the other guests. The meal and wine served was tiptop which one can always expect from Exclusive Hotels and went down very well with the relaxing Vivaldi Four Seasons music which was played during the evening. We were so pleased that Chef, Steven Edwards came out to speak to us. It was good to be part of a charity event which raised a lot of money for people less fortunate than ourselves.

After a good night's sleep we has a hearty breakfast and as the rain had abated went for a walk around the splendid grounds.

This evening, we were in for a treat as we had booked The Pass for dinner. What an experience, sitting watching the chefs prepare the food we were eating, they were so calm and I am sure this is down to the charismatic Head Chef Matt Gillam. My guest and I decided on the Gourmet menu with an accompanying wine flight. We were greeted by Tommaso, the restaurant Manager who really made us feel so special. Due to certain allergies which we both have, the menu was adjusted. All the wines were perfectly paired to the food and at the end of the evening, when I asked if I could have details. Tommaso returned with a menu for both of us detailing all the wines.

At the end of the evening, as we were the only guests left, Matt Gillam and his team came over to speak with us. It was interesting hearing about their various career experiences.

We were sorry to leave South Lodge the following morning after breakfast, after spending a very relaxing weekend and feeling thoroughly spoilt.

The service and welcome by the Management and the Staff surpasses many other hotels and we look forward to returning in the not too distant future. Grateful thanks to Management and all the Staff for making the weekend so special. Our many experiences in other hotels in the Exclusive group confirms that Exclusive is the word!


Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Saturdaybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Saturdaybubbles,

Thank you for your wonderful review following you experience at South Lodge. It is kind of you to recommend South Lodge so positively.

I am pleased the Vivaldi charity dinner was enjoyable as too was The Pass. As you say, The Pass is quite an experience as the restaurant is set in the heart of the kitchen. It is delighted to learn that Matt and Tommaso looked after you so well and made you feel special.

What a pity you were unable to enjoy the sun loungers on your own balcony, however hopefully you will be able to return again when the weather is more kind.

All the very best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having previously really enjoyed a weekend golf break at their sister hotel in the Cotswolds we decided to try South Lodge in West Sussex. What a fantastic choice and what great value. The accommodation was luxurious and first class and the room had a breathtaking bathroom. All the staff from the moment of arranging the booking, to arrival and through to departure were wonderfully friendly and helpful to ensure a perfect stay. After golf on the first day, it was a joy to come back and enjoy a glass of Pimms on the patio overlooking the far countryside, followed later by a superb fine dining meal. A relaxing sleep and an exceptional breakfast set us up properly for the second round of golf the next day. All this coupled with two different courses to play at the equally friendly Mannings Heath Golf Club made for an incredible break at a fantastic price. Want to return tomorrow ! A definite must if you like great golf breaks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Geoff B,

Thank you for your splendid review.

I am pleased your golfing break was a success.

Your bedroom sounds magnificent, with its breathtaking bathroom. I am pleased too that from booking through to departure the team here ensured a wonderful experience.

Our sister property, Mannings Heath Golf Club, is just a couple of miles down the road. Featuring two 18 hole courses, the Waterfall course is rated as one the best in the country. Indeed, the 11th hole was included in Gary Player’s imaginary dream course.

Although perhaps you didn’t have the opportunity to visit again so soon after your departure, we do hope that we will see you again before too long.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arriving at South Lodge late afternoon after an effortless drive from the city we were immediately captivated by the sight of the grand neo-Jacobean facade as we turned the corner of the evergreen lined drive.

Check-in found us delighted as we had been very kindly upgraded, and opening the door on the "Montclair" overwhelmed our senses as we took in all it had to offer. Tastefully decorated the rich fabrics merged effortlessly with the carefully chosen furniture, resulting in a very spacious and perfectly appointed country house bedroom. The amenities and technology discreetly inhabited the space, providing for the needs of modern day living without detracting from its ambience. The bathroom was of epic proportions and afforded us the luxury of not only a large walk in shower, but a bath incorporating a TV.

The public areas did not disappoint and left us in no doubt that we had stepped in to an elegant country house where our every need was to be taken care of in a friendly and informally professional manner by all the staff we encountered.

We took a walk in the grounds and sat by the lake for a couple of hours in the sunshine. Dinner that evening was excellent, the quality of the food, its presentation combined with the high standard of service in a friendly and relaxed environment.

The weather next morning afforded us breakfast on the terrace, so we enjoyed a very hearty and tasty beginning to the day with glorious views across the lawns to the Sussex countryside in the distance.

We checked out but already planned and booked to return for their famous afternoon tea. Again we were fortunate enough to sit out on the terrace and enjoyed a leisurely afternoon consuming a delicious selection of sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and cakes.

As we departed and the hotel disappeared again behind the evergreen foliage of the drive, to subdue our sadness we reassured ourselves that we would return again to enjoy the beauty, luxury and elegance that is South Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobSp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear RobSp69,

Thank you for your fabulous and comprehensive review. All of us here at South Lodge are delighted your recent visits have been so memorable.

I am pleased that from the moment you turned into the drive, you immediately felt the beauty, luxury, elegance of South Lodge and indeed you felt at ‘home’. Your bedroom, Montclair, is indeed a lovely junior suite and I am delighted you spent time in our charming public areas too.
The team all go the extra mile to deliver memorable experiences to our guests so I am delighted you highlighted them as being friendly and informally professional.

It is fantastic to read you have already been back for afternoon tea. I am sure we will have the pleasure of seeing you again before too long.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my husband's promotion, the staff were fantastically complicit in keeping it a secret and helping me choose the best room.
Delightful hotel and grounds, we were in the King George junior suite which was lovely with immense views and pillows to die for (well sleep well on..)
The staff were very attentive and friendly and the restaurant fantastic with beautiful food.
Excellent breakfast too!!
Highly recommend this hotel for a treat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Salyork,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

On behalf on the team here at South Lodge many congratulations on your husband’s recent promotion. Richly deserved!

I am delighted your stay was a special one and your bedroom had wonderful views over the grounds and South Downs.

Dinner sounds marvellous with excellent food as well as great service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back before too long.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

South Lodge is a haven of opulence and tranquility that will restore calm to any soul. It's friendly and subtly attentive staff, beautifully appointed rooms and divine atmosphere make this a luxury you shoud afford. Is there a downside? Well, a large glass of Rioja was £14 but the food was first rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Ben Y,

Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay.

I am pleased you found us to be a sanctuary and a haven of calm and tranquillity. It is marvellous to read the team here at South Lodge were on hand at every stage of your stay and you enjoyed your lovely bedroom.

I do very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Attended a wedding on the Saturday at this elegant hotel. Stayed in a superb room overnight on Friday and Saturday. Attended an informal hot buffet on Friday night which was very good and plentiful. Atmosphere was relaxed and service was excellent. Breakfast was very good. Explored the substantial grounds on Saturday morning - ideal for a walk or run if that way inclined. Wedding ceremony and reception benefited from spacious accommodation and access to the patio areas especially with the fine weather. Food on all occasions was excellent - mini fish and chips was the star of the disco buffet! Sunday buffet breakfast for wedding guests was provided in a spacious private room which allowed farewells to be done in a relaxed manner. Only drawback was the cost of drinks at the bar but to be expected in such surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am delighted your stay at South Lodge was a positive one and the wedding you attended was a success.

Our 93 acres of grounds are looking splendid at the minute and are well worth an adventure! I am pleased you enjoyed the wedding breakfast too.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
354 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel West Sussex/Lower Beeding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing