We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely food in lovely surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked a room here with a meal at The Pass for a birthday surprise for my husband. I was delighted when we arrived to be offered a free upgrade to a suite which was a gorgeous room with a fabulous view.
The meal in The Pass was truly amazing. A tasting menu of 12 courses which were all delicious. The service at breakfast was a little slow and we had to send our toast back as it was just warm bread (untoasted toast is a definite no no for me ! ) the waitress was lovely and dealt with our moaning with good humour !
I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Lovely atmosphere and wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Debbie B,

Thank you for joining us at South Lodge and for describing our surroundings and food as lovely. It is fabulous for the team and I to read your husband enjoyed his birthday celebrations.

Dinner in The Pass sounds just fantastic. Chef Matt Gillan’s Michelin starred tasting menus are a gastronomic dream. Coupled with its unique environment in the heart of the kitchen The Pass experience is a memorable one.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    236
    90
    43
    22
See reviews for
246
758
16
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I recently stayed for 4 nights at South Lodge for a family wedding. The rooms are magnificent, very well appointed and extremely large. Our room was split level with the bedroom and sitting room one one level and the walk-in shower and bathroom on the lower level. The only drawback is that there is no air conditioning and we happened to be staying over a sustained period of warm weather so the room was very warm indeed. The hotel provided fans (and then some more fans) on request but it was quite difficult to get the room cooled down to any great extent. This made sleeping a little uncomfortable. However, that said, it was the only drawback to an otherwise fantastic stay. The staff were attentive, friendly but unobtrusive from first thing in the morning until the wee small hours. Standards were maintained even at 5am following a long night of wedding celebrations. Vasco deserves a special mention here for providing a first-class service with great humour; a real credit to the hotel. The food throughout our stay was excellent. The breakfast was plentiful and freshly prepared through to the superb wedding reception meal and supper. We also had use of the Bothy, where some family stayed and for hosting a family barbeque, and this was a real 'home from home' for our family and friends. The grounds were great to explore although it was just as good sitting out on the terrace enjoying the view with a cold drink. I was genuinely disappointed to be leaving - what a fantastic place. I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear mikey_sara,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your stay at South Lodge. We are all elated that you had a marvellous stay and described us as ‘top-notch’.

I am delighted you enjoyed your marvellous bedroom. Many of our bedrooms do feature air conditioning. Please do discuss this on booking with our excellent reservations team.

It is lovely to read that throughout your four nights with us the team were attentive and friendly and you were able to explore our extensive grounds, including our lakes, Victorian kitchen garden, the 2nd largest rockery in the UK as well as an unrivalled collection of rhododendron, azalea and Camellia plants.

The team and I really do hope to welcome you back on your next visit.

All the very best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasmechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

we had sunday afternoon tea outside, lovely views and the tea and co. were superb
we stayed just one night but enjoyed every bit of it, even the towel warmer in the bathroom was a surprise.... Great place, classic but with a well done modern touch, the combination really works!
Very friendly staff and very clean, spacious room.

Room Tip: we had a room "at the back" so we could enjoy the lovely view, there is a old and new part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Denise V,

Thank you for your charming review. The team and I really are thrilled to read your kind words and learn of your super stay.

Afternoon tea on our terraces overlooking our 93 acres of lakes and rolling parkland and South Downs sounds like a lovely treat. I am pleased your bedroom was everything you could have wished for and the team were on hand throughout your stay.

It would be a pleasure for us all here at South Lodge to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here overnight and wished it had been for longer. The stay, from personal greeting on arrival, valet parking, bags taken to room, excellent service and great dining was a refreshing change. Our room was the "Rothschild" and the facilities, decor and little touches were second to none.
We shall certainly stay again next we are down south.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for staying and South Lodge and for taking the time to post your wonderful review.
Your stay sounds marvellous from the minute you entered our grounds. I always feel the warmest of welcomes sets the tone for a guest’s stay and I am pleased this was true on your visit. It is a pity you only had one night with us but it is pleasing you were able to enjoy a fabulous dinner as well as your lovely bedroom as well as great service from the team.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to your Sussex home when you are next in the South East.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Went here for a wedding last year, and just like it's sister hotel which I love to bits (Pennyhill Park) this place will not disappoint. Exceptional staff, beautiful immaculate surroundings, incredible rooms and attention to detail in everything. I'm not easily pleased, but this place is extremely pleasing! We were lucky enough to have fillet steak on the menu - how on earth they did 140 seatings of perfectly cooked steak, in amongst a beautiful starter and dessert, I will never know, but that's what you get here. I nearly fainted at the sight of a tv in the bath! Amazing! If you're after a relaxing stay that you're willing to pay a bit more for to get spoilt, this is the one. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzies570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear suzies570,

Thank you for your splendid review and for describing us as ‘perfect’ and awarding us 10 out of 10!

It is very kind of you to rate the surroundings, bedrooms, and the food so highly. What perhaps means the most to us here is your kind words for the team who go above and beyond to deliver excellent experiences and exceed expectations.

We do hope to welcome you back before too long.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend had tea here service was amazing,everything was explained to us and teas were recommended with each course. It was a sunny day so we sat out and enjoyed it in the beautiful grounds. Lovely tea and cakes. And you get to take a piece home to

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrandmrseatoutalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mrandmrseatoutalot,

Thank you for joining us for afternoon tea and for taking the time to post your review. The team and I are thrilled you enjoyed it.

Afternoon tea is such a pleasure. Natalia, our Tea Sommelier is on hand to recommend a tea from our selection of 23, including our very own blend the South Lodge and Lady Godman Grey. To accompany the tea, Alex, Pete, Hayley and the pasty team deliver beautifully designed and tasty pastries and cakes. And what better setting that on our terrace overlooking our 93 acres of grounds and the South Downs?

All of us hope to see you again.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had one special evening to spend here and were not disappointed. We had a gorgeous room (Naomi) with a sweet little sitting area, attractive bathroom, and an empty flower vase - along with a note inviting us to pick our own flowers from the gardens! What a treat. Sweet peas, lilies and roses were soon in my hands. We were blessed with a balmy evening and sat out on the terrace (along with everyone else, the hotel was crowded AND there was a large wedding party mingling with us too). Dinner in the strongly decorated dining room was good and afterwards we chose a DVD to watch in our room and were presented with popcorn to complete the movie experience! Flowers and popcorn were nice touches. And the pillow menu was amazing - just wish I'd seen it before bed time rather than after breakfast! Next time ..
Slightly strange to have to go through the tea/coffee serving area in order to get to the terrace.
Bar lunch before we left was good although service was slow.

Room Tip: Only saw ours - Naomi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear PJaneS,

Thank you for your super review. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time and we were able to exceed your expectations.

I am pleased that it was the little extras and the attention to detail that set your stay apart and made it that extra special. I am pleased dinner in The Camellia was a joy and that you were able to enjoy pre-dinner drinks on our terraces.

The team and I very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
22.5 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel West Sussex/Lower Beeding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing