We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience”
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our third visit--this hotel is what being pampered is all about!
Staff are friendly and helpful and so well trained. You are made to feel at home as soon as you enter.
Rooms are lovely, food is wonderful-but expect to pay top prices for drinks &c-this is not a cheap place, but absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back suffer from early morning noise-the bin men turn up at 0530, followed by the bottl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear GerryKent,

Thank you for returning to us again and for taking the time to post your lovely words.

I it a delight for the team here to welcome back a familiar face and to ensure you are pampered and wanted for nothing.

We all very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    269
    104
    44
    23
See reviews for
271
845
17
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My friend took me here for the lunch in the pass restaurant. All I can say is if you have ever watched a cookery show like masterchef and you here them talk about what the food does to them - I would definitely say do it! I've never been so emotionally taken with food in my entire life!
Best part of the five course meal we had was the pork belly with quinoa and pistachio. Would never in my entire life would put the two together but wow! Chef! You played a blinder! Best pork belly I've ever had! Lemon posset for dessert was amazing and the trout?! Lost for words. Reasonably priced £35 each for 5 course and this was just lunch. There is a 3 and 7 course and optional cheese menu. Go please!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Catherine C,

Thank you for joining us in The Pass and bestowing 5 stars!

It is lovely to read your experience meant so much to you. As you rightly say, Matt Gillan’s Michelin starred dining is a fantastic combination of flavours and textures delivered through a variety of tasting menus. Combined with the excitement of the kitchen service and the interaction with the chefs it is an experience not to miss.

Matt, Tommaso and the team look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've spent two nights in South Lodge Hotel and were upgraded to one of the "Butterfly" rooms on the second floor in the new addition. The room was lovely and the bathroom massive. Beds and pillows excellent - had a really good sleep both nights!

The hotel grounds are massive and it's nice to explore them. I've also had a nice jog around country lanes. My partner wanted to use the gym but was disappointed that, while located in a new building away from the main building (also housing the staff accommodation), there are no locker rooms, let alone any wellness facilities such as sauna, steamroom or similar. For a hotel of this category, one would expect more.

What disappointed us the most, however, was breakfast. Not only was the service only just okay (they started clearing up the buffet suddenly without any warning), the taste of the food was very low level - my partner would have sworn that the cooked "Full English" he had was pre-cooked and reheated.

We had dinner at "The Pass", the hotel's Michelin Star restaurant, and were very impressed.

To summarize: Great location to explore the South, nice rooms, great Gourmet restaurant, bad breakfast, could do better with regards to gym and wellness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Ralf H,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at South Lodge.

The team and I are delighted you had a pleasurable stay and you found your junior suite to be relaxing and you had all the space you needed to relax. Your dinner in our Michelin starred Pass restaurant sounds memorable and I am pleased you were able to walk off all that excess in our charming grounds.

I am pleased to say we do have a spa in our plans for the future. I am sorry if breakfast was just ‘okay’. I have shared your comments with the team and I am confident you will have a different experience on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your Sussex home before too long.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I arranged for a party of 6 to have Sunday lunch.
From start to finish the staff were courteous and helpful without being intrusive.
The food was delicious and slight modifications for one of my guests were done without any fuss.
We were seated at a round table in a secluded area overlooking the grounds which could not have been bettered.
Certainly 5 stars.

Room Tip: Only had lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACM700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear ACM700,

Thank you for your lovely words following lunch. Thank you too for being the 500th reviewer to award us 5 stars!

The team and I are delighted Sunday lunch was so memorable. It is lovely to read the food was delicious and the service was excellent from the Camellia team. Our Head Chef, Steven Edwards, the current MasterChef the Professionals winner, serves his take on local and seasonal dishes from the lovely restaurant overlooking our grounds and South Downs.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you are looking for luxury, first class service and a warm welcome, then you cannot go far wrong with South Lodge. From the moment we arrived we felt at home and our stay was simply amazing. The food and cellar extrodinary. I will most definately be returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower ground floor most of these have thier own private gardens... breakfast al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for describing your stay as ‘amazing’. The team and I are thrilled you enjoyed it!
We have a variety of rooms and suites, from our main house rooms, with Downton Abbey charm through to our suites in the Sussex Wing which include features such as Jacuzzi baths, balcony’s, and even a hot tub! I am pleased you enjoyed your room with its very own private garden.

It is fabulous to hear you will be returning. We hope it will be before too long.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Probably the best hotel I've ever been to. Located in an old castle with very old decor makes your stay unforgettable. Great atmosphere. Everything on the very high standard. Very tasty food. Really good selection of drinks. My room had a huge bathroom with giant shower and a TV in a bath (as you can see on the video). I loved any single corrner of the building as well as amazing gardens at the back. If you want to relax in calm atmosphere this is the right place! Highly recommended!!!
You can have a look inside here: http://youtu.be/ZLoy3nRpOlA

Room Tip: Ask for a room with TV in the bathroom ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Adam D,

Thank you for your kind words following your stay and for taking the time to post your video too.
The hotel was built in the 1880’s as a private home by Fredrick du Cane Godman, a noted botanist. As such not only do we have a beautiful and atmospheric house, we also have 93 acres of ground packed with noted species of rhododendron, azalea and camellia.

Your bedroom looks fabulous, with its own TV above the bath and lovely views over the South Downs.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I spent a night here in July for my partners birthday as treating him to dinner at The Pass. Cannot recommend this hotel enough. We had afternoon tea on the terrace, which was fantastic, the food here is second to none. The staff make this place really wonderful, they are incredibly attentive, efficient and friendly. The Pass is an amazing experience and if you get the chance well worth it. We had the most wonderful time, it surpassed my expectations entirely.

Room Tip: Leonardslee Suite is lovely. Private patio, direct outside access and a jacuzzi bath with separate w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Eviesmagic,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at South Lodge.

It is lovely to read your stay was so memorable, from dinner in The Pass through to afternoon tea on our terraces. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our food as well as the personal service from the team.

A happy birthday to your partner and thank you again for your recommendation. We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
355 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel West Sussex/Lower Beeding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing