We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”
Review of South Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Certificate of Excellence
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel, and I wish I could stay longer. The staff were really friendly, the room was amazing, the bathroom well what can i say apart from HUGE, and the food was fantastic.
The view from our room were outstanding, being able to see the South Downs.
There are 3 walks you can do around the grounds, which they provide you with a map.
If I get the chance again, I wouldn't have any issues with staying at this hotel.

Thank you South Lodge for a wonderful night stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and I'm sure they will be happy to show you around before you decide to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Roger W,

Thank you for your charming review and very kind words.

The team and I were delighted to read you loved your bedroom and the splendid views, the fantastic food, and to learn you were so well looked after by the team.

Although you were unable to stay any longer I do hope you will have the opportunity to return before too long.

Warmest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    265
    102
    44
    23
See reviews for
265
834
17
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Me and my Husband stayed here for a two night break, we was in a suite on the ground floor for the first night and the godman suite for the second night.

When we arrived we was greated with such helpful staff, the check in went smoothly and the rooms were outstanding, clean and certainly have the wow factor!!!

Our first night we ate in the camellia resturant and it was fantastic the food was amazing and services was great. Was a wonderful night.

Our second night we ate in The Pass the staff was very helpful, friendly and made the experience wonderful and well what can I say about the food the chefs were top class and it all tasted divine.........

A ************* for a first class hotel and a wonderful set of memories I would def recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms were great but the Godman suite was divine !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Leanne C,

Thank you for joining us for a two night break and for describing us as having the ‘Wow’ factor!

We like to think of ourselves as a foodie destination. I am delighted in this respect we exceeded your expectations. The Camellia serves a contemporary interpretation of local and seasonal dishes. Our Michelin starred Pass restaurant is set in the most unique environment within the kitchens and serves contemporary tasting menus.

The Godman suite is indeed an indulgent treat. With its very own hot tub it is a relaxing and romantic hideaway.

We hope to see you again to relive the special memories you hold. We all look forward to welcoming you then.

Kindest regards,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception here and stayed overnight. Beautiful hotel and amazing grounds and views. Food was just superb - particularly the quinoa starter which was exquisite. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only negatives -Drinks on the terrace the next day overpriced and no air conditioning on the room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Victoria E,

Thank you for your lovely review. It means a lot to us all at South Lodge for you to describe your time with us as ‘wonderful’.

The original house was built by Fredrick DuCane Godman in the 1880s. it is indeed a beautiful hotel set in the most splendid surroundings. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us was memorable and the team looked after you so well.

Many of our rooms do feature air conditioning. Please just let the reservations team know and we would be delighted to find the best room for you.

We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We checked in at 15.00 this Saturday. The bedroom facilities were amazing, loved the multi shower. The food and service were absolutely incredible. The Hotel is in a beautiful location. I would love to come back again. It was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gettin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Gettin,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words. We are delighted the wedding was a success.

It is lovely for you to describe the food and service as incredible as well as the hotel being set in a fantastic and beautiful location.

It would be a pleasure for the team here to welcome you back in the future too.

All the best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that I had selected this hotel because I wanted to visit the wine cellar and experience a sommelier-led tour for the simple reason that I was going to the hotel with a couple of friends who are wine experts and wanted to surprise them. Had it not been for the cellar I would never have chosen South Lodge as it is over 70 miles from where I live. I booked six months in advance and was pleased to hear that all that I wanted was available, ie rooms, tables at both the Cammelia restaurant and The Pass and a tour of the wine cellar which was to start our three days stay.

One week before we were due to arrive at the hotel I checked with reservation that everything was in order as I had not had written confirmation of the wine cellar tour. To my dismay I was told by the reservation manager who dealt with my booking that the sommelier was sick and therefore we could visit the cellar and use the wine dispensing machines instead. She did apologise for not getting in touch with me but as I was assured that the visit to the cellar would go ahead I held my disappointment in check.

However, we arrived at the hotel only to find out that the visit to the cellar was not an option as the machines were out of order. I was very disappointed by the way this incident was handled by the hotel’s staff both from reservation and at reception as they did not seem to try very hard to suggest a suitable alternative.

There are other issues I need to point out as well, such as the slow/ poor service of the staff both at breakfast, lunch and in the bar, e.g. at breakfast when we asked for the nth time when could we expect our coffee was we were told by the waitress "I don't know they are very busy in the kitchen". Also annoying is the lack of wifi in the rooms (even though wifi is advertised as part of the facilities we found that it was only available on the ground floor) and the questionable quality of some of the food, I think it is not unreasonable to expect dressing with a salad and when I asked for some dressing I was made to wait so long that in the end I went to get it myself. I am not sure how they can justify charging an additional 10/12% on drinks for the type of service they offer.

The only saving grace was The Pass restaurant which seems to run efficiently and offer superb food. Unfortunately this only reiterates the poor quality of service found in the rest of the hotel. I will not go there again and would certainly not recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a great view of the South Downs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JanusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear JanusLondon,

The team and I are sorry you did not enjoy your visit.

Please accept my apologies for the problems with the cellar. Sadly, due to sickness our sommelier was unavailable and a fault with our EnoRound machine meant our unique wine dispense machine was out of order. It is incredibly disappointing that these two incidents happened concurrently and I can understand your frustration in having joined us specifically to enjoy this feature of South Lodge.

I am sorry you did not feel the incident with the cellar was handled sufficiently. I believe I spoke to your partner on your arrival and I feel it is wide of the mark to suggest we did not try hard. I explained to him that both an engineer from EnoMatic (the machines manufactures) and from our IT company had been called out to fix the machine. In addition, I offered complementary fizz with your lunch and the offer of an unguided wine tasting as well as local vineyard suggestions. I left these options with your partner and although I understand you enjoyed a local vineyard visit you did not take me up on the offer of an unguided tasting.

I am sorry you experienced other issues regarding service whilst staying with us. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team here. I am sorry you were unable to connect to the WiFi. WiFi is available throughout all public rooms and bedrooms so I am unsure why you were unable to connect.

It is a pity to learn you will not be returning. You do have my contact details and I would be delighted to handle your reservation and welcome you back if you did ever have a return in mind. I am sure it would allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My friends took me here for my 30th birthday. We sat outside and enjoyed the stunning views of the gardens. We are from the Camellia menu and all I can say is WOW!! I am pregnant and have dairy allergies and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating. It was lovely to eat out and not worry about dairy being in anything, without having to check. I was offered dairy free alternatives of everything. So impressed. The food was full if flavour and more than enough to fill a hungry pregnant lady ; )
Such a stunning enjoyable day. Can't wait to return and try The Pass restaurant which I have also heard great things about.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennyDanny36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear PennyDanny36,

A very happy birthday! Thank you for joining us in The Camellia restaurant and taking the time to post your review.
We have a number of menu’s available from vegetarians to gluten free diners. I am pleased we were able to offer you such a lovely meal. The Camellia is just lovely at this time of year with the al fresco terrace and stunning views over our grounds and the distant South Downs.

You must try The Pass next time you are visiting. We all look forward to seeing you then.

With very best wishes,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham Uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed here twice and been to three Christmas parties here.

The junior suites at around £300 a night are outstanding, if you have a choice of new wing or old wing I would recommend the New wing as the showers are amazing.

Only negatives, the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool or spa yet, You also need to book the pass restaurant in advance, due to its star rating the pass gets booked up.

Room Tip: Junior suite in new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WifethreekidsandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurguy, Manager at South Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Mewife3kids,

Thank you for your kind words and your recommendations.

We are so fortunate here to have a fantastic selection of bedrooms. Our main house and stable rooms are full of Downton Abbey charm. Alternately, many guests adore our Sussex Wing and their junior suites. All individually designed, they have fantastic features such as private gardens, balconies, fantastic bathrooms and even their own hot tub!

I would certainly recommend booking lunch, dinner or afternoon tea with us to avoid any potential disappointment.

All the very best,

Mark Surguy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Beeding
10.7 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
5.2 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cisswood House
Cisswood House
#2 of 2 in Lower Beeding
346 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
20.4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Hotel

Property: South Lodge Hotel
Address: Brighton Road, Lower Beeding, Horsham RH13 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham > Lower Beeding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lower Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold Award for 'Large Hotel of the Year' at the Beautiful South Awards 2015, South Lodge is less than an hour from Central London and nestles amongst 93 acres of stunning woodland and parkland. A magnificent, former family country house - it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst indulging yourself with fine wine, gourmet food and unbeatable horizons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your South Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Hotel Lower Beeding
South Lodge Hotel West Sussex/Lower Beeding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing